My Redfish Rockets Need Your Support Just As Much As My Delegation!

in #community5 years ago

2 weeks ago, I delegated SP to some promising newcomers. Since community support is equally important, I'd really appreciate if you would pay them a visit.

meet and support my redfish rockets.png
Source

Redfish Rockets

2 weeks ago, I delegated part of my Steem Power to a couple of newcomers of who I thought they could add value to the Steem blockchain.

After all, as long as the Resource Credits system is in place, it is almost impossible for a newcomer to grow his account.

By delegating some of my Steem Power, I'm trying to give some of them a chance to survive and become part of this amazing community.

dividerlines.png

SteemIt Is One Big Hurdle

Let's be honest here: getting started on SteemIt isn't easy. The first couple of weeks/months, it feels like you've arrived on a different planet. You don't speak the language, you don't know anyone and you don't know how things are done.

We've all been there.

Personally, it took me several months to find my way around here, and during those months, I quitted at least once a week. It felt like it was impossible to even get the basic idea of what I got myself into.
I only survived because I was too stubborn to simply give up.

You can't deny that this entire ecosystem is one big hurdle. There's so much you need to learn that it takes a strong will to make it through those first weeks.

getupandtry.gif
Source

This post serves multiple purposes: it's not only an evaluation of how they have done during these last two weeks, but also a way to introduce them to you. They can all use a little extra motivation, and since we're always bragging about how amazing this community is, I'm counting on you to show them you support them.

dividerlines.png

Top Performers

Let's start with the good news. I'm following up on my delegatees quite regularly, and some of them are doing really good. It's obvious they aren't intimidated by the steep learning curve, and they're giving all they have to overcome all difficulties a SteemIt newcomer has to face.


proud.gif
Source

Click the images to visit the posts

@helen-derwent is one of those people. I'd like to invite you to drop by her blog. She's posting motivational/inspirational post almost daily, and believe me, she knows what she's talking about. There's a lot of wisdom to be found in her posts.

helenderwent.jpg



@mr-science is also doing a very good job. His content goes beyond my comprehension, but if you are into science, I can highly recommend checking out his posts about mathematics, astrology and more science-related topics.

mr-science.jpg


@nurseanne84 was already doing great, that's the reason she was selected to become my first Redfish Rocket. I can't really put a label on the posts on her blog, but they are all very personal. Again, please support here by paying her a visit.

nurseanne84.jpg


@pepijin has a very interesting approach. He spends most of his time trying to figure out how the platform works. He doesn't post that often, but he is definitely in for the long run. He's smart, and already figured out things I had never heard of. It would help him a lot if you could drop by his blog every once in a while, because he has a lot of questions, and I don't know all the answers, lol.

pepijin.jpg


On his blog, @neonihilist puts some very interesting articles in the spotlight. But he also writes his own content. I especially liked his article about how in the near future human kind will use "our advanced technology to slowly but inevitably replace our biological chunks with advance robotic parts for the sake of longevity." He's definitely not the average guy with the average content, but his blog is definitely worth a visit.

neonihilist.jpg


If you are into photography, go check out the blog of @vision20twenty. He's still learning how to present his pictures to an audience, but he has some very nice pics on his blog and I'm sure that a little encouragement and constructive feedback, will help him to learn fast.

vision20twenty.jpg


dividerlines.png

Off And On

I don't want to push people - everybody has to grow at his own pace - but still, I regularly have the urge to go out and motivate people to step up their game. Mostly because I would really regret it if they wouldn't stick around. Every time they disappear from the radar for a couple of days, I start to worry.
Fortunately, they always pop up again at one time or the other.

@josietrueblood is one of those people. She was off to such a good start, but I assume that she's not like many of us and does have a busy real-life life, lol.


I've also grown very fond of @krazzytrukker, and I truly hope he keeps on going, in spite of the fact that he has a valid reason to lose his motivation. Being new on the platform, he has already been hit by multiple downvotes from the infamous 'Camillesteemer' (not going to put an @ before her name - I prefer to let sleeping dogs lie.)

Fortunately, this account, that randomly flags users, has been disarmed, so the downvotes have no effect.

For those of you that are not familiar with the account you can find some more info here.

Anyway, @krazzytrukker, I really hope you'll be sticking around. I know you have a busy life, but keep us up-to-date about Sammi Jo's adventures! 😉


dividerlines.png

Need A Little Push

Some of my delegatees are difficult to evaluate. They don't post very often and they have the tendency to disappear for a couple of days. I decided to keep a close eye on their accounts for a little while longer, because I truly believe they have potential, they just need to step up their game a little.

Maybe some encouragement from the community will motivate them to become a little more active.

@sosadraws, for example, creates amazing art. if you are an art-lover, you should really pay her a visit.


I've already learned @eliasgerald is a great guy who seems to be eager to learn. But with only 3 posts in 14 days, and several days between his commenting, his activity level is below average. I'd like to see you around a little more often, @eliasgerald.


One of @steemaddiction's first posts was attacked by a (different) group of random downvoters, still, she refused to let this stop her and she pushed through. I admire that. It's been a couple of days since her last comment, so I'm not sure she's still around. I do hope her absence is only temporary, because she has written some very interesting posts.


The same goes for @translogicalguy. It has been 7 days since his last post, which I think is a real shame, because the ones he posted really spoke to me. I do hope he can find the motivation to share more of his insights in life with our community.


I'm also not sure about @znkd yet. With only 3 posts in 17 days, and his last engagement being 5 days old, I can't really tell if he will stick around or not.

What I do know is that every single one of them could use a little support from the community!

After all... isn't that what the community did for us when we just started?

So get out those cheering pom-poms and take a minute to show them you care.


Source

dividerlines.png

Last Shoutout

Unfortunately, some of my delegatees haven't been active for more than a week. I left messages on their walls, asking them to contact me, but didn't receive a reply.

I'm not perfect, and it happens quite often that I miss a reply, so I want to give them one last chance.

This post is my last shoutout. If I haven't heard from them by the time this post has reached payout, I'll be retracting the delegation.

So, @hotflash, @pieceofeightcoin and @tusiko, I recommedn you get back to me as soon as possible.

There are loads of newcomers who are struggling because of their lack of SP. It wouldn't be fair to them to leave my SP unused in your accounts!



signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter


All images are sourced in the post. The ones that are not sourced are created with The Logo Creator Software

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png




Qurator is a service that helps users who create quality orginal content to get noticed and rewarded for their efforts. You can find all information about how to apply by clicking the banner above.
When sending in your application, I'd really appreciate if you would write 'referred by simplymike' in the memo field.


JOIN THE DISCORD


Sort:  

hay @simplymike I have visited each of the blogs you have listed above and shown a little love. You are a great role model and are doing a lot for steem. Resteemed for extra visibility and shared on twitter

Thanks for the support, @paulag. I've seen your comments on their posts. Thanks for everything you do

I really feel honored and very much encouraged by your words. I am very grateful that there are people like you out there.

Steemit is completely different from all the platforms I've tried before - and it's quite hard to understand all those complicated mechanisms.

And yes, you are right: Steemians speak a different language that you have to learn when you start out.

Once again: Thank you so, so much!

Well you're still here, you're engaging and producing so you're certainly not doing yourself any harm.

If you haven't already, check out @paulag's Power Up League and @@@abh12345's Engagement League. It's a great way to keep motivated in those moments when you wonder if this place is really worth the effort. Seeing what you've achieved gives you a nice little lift.

Posted using Partiko Android

There's still so much to learn. I will check out the two links you gave me. Thank you for your encouragement.

You're more than welcome.
SteemIt has indeed a very steep learning curve. One of the reasons so many people give up before they even got started. I really struggled for months trying to grasp the entire mechanism. And once I finally got the basics down, there was the hard fork last september. Suddenly, Resource Credits were introduced, the curation system changed...
Fortunately, i had been able to build network of people who are better when it comes to understanding all the technical things, so I could ask them to explain it to me like they would do to a 6year old, lol.

My first three months, I had been flying solo. If I wouldn't have been picked up by a couple of people who had just started a brand new community and asked me to join, I
Probably would have left before I discovered how unique the entire SteemIt community is.

There are so many things wrong with tbe SteemIt site, the system and the company in charge, but IMO, the 'pay it forward' mentality that lives among the members makes up for all the flaws.
I used to be in internet marketing, so I have been working on numerous social media platforms before, but I've never come across anything that even comes close.

If you would have told me 2 years ago that I would engage with people from all around the world on a daily basis, and would consider complete strangers whom I never met to be good friends, I would have never believed you. But it happened. It was definitely worth all the frustration and confusion I exprrienced during my first weeks/months.

I can really say joining Steemit has changed my life. I learned so.much about a lot of different things, but especially about myself... which I think is priceless.

Don't worry to.much about the complex mechanisms too much. One step at a time you'll learn how things work. And there are always people around who are willing to help out when it feels like you're lost in a jungle during nighttime :0)

I must admit that I might have left Steemit quite soon, if you had not picked me for the delegation. For me, it seems harder to get in contact with people here than on other social media platforms. But I was told that this will change once I join Discord. So that will be my next step - I will have my teenage daughter show me how it works tomorrow. ;)

Resource Credits really are the "anti-engagement" model. Just trying to leave comments and get to know users is near impossible.

It's like test driving a new car when you can only drive it halfway around the block

I really don't understand why those people at the top don't get they are kïlli g the platform with this system.

I see it more like getting a brand new, fancy car without wheels, lol

Whatever the analogy, it makes it unnecessarily challenging at a time when newcomers want to find their feet and decide whether to stick with Steem, or possibly even invest in it.

Posted using Partiko Android

'They' expect people to invest from the beginning, but why on earth would you invest in a platform you don't know yet... It is beyond me....

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Howdy there simplymike! love the work you're doing here, you're a great mentor and role model!

Lol, you obviously don't know me in real life :0)

But thanks, I'm trying my best :0)

howdy again simplymike! I think I'm a good judge of character, even from a distance! lol.

They are lucky they found you/you found them.
I will go check some out :)

Thanks for the support, @kaerpediem

Dear@ simplymike,
Sorry for irregular in steemit platform, there have a lot of cause behind it, in my previous post i just try to introduce my self and try to tell about my community, how much they are conservative my family is also same, normally i used to teach little child in our community school, and i have to spend a long time for teaching, have to do a lot of family work, All time i just thinking about my next content, but it's really so hard for me posted daily, but i used to login my account and i checked out my feed and commenting them if it was touched me, i'm promising you that i will try my best posting regularly in steemit.

Thanks a lot for supporting.

There's no need to push yourself. It's better to get out 1 good post a week, than get out a crappy post every day.
After all, real life is the most important thing to deal with.

I'm a teacher myself, so I definitely know how much work it takes. The only reason I can spend so much time on SteemIt is because I don't have a job.

I wasn't planning on taking away the delegation, I was just afraid you had left. From the posts you have made, I learned that you are unique and brave, and it would be a great loss for SteemIt if you would give up. It would be a great loss for me too, because I have the feeling I can learn a lot from you.

Hi @simplymike!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.760 which ranks you at #1453 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1450).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #130.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I am truly happy that you have found my post interesting and yes, it is really a serendipity that you have come to know me through tons and tons of other much intriguing writers. I really appreciate what you are doing and I hope that more people will share the same good gifts that you have provided us.
More power to you @simplymike.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. I just hope it will be enough to get some people like you to stay. I haven't forgotten what it is like to be new and get little to no support because you haven't built a network yet.
Sometimes it may seem like all the effort you put in is wasted, because your posts seem to disappear without being noticed. The low price of Steem doesn't make it any easier, since payouts are terribly low.
I just hope I can make people like you stick around long enough to discover how amazing the community is here. Personally, it took me several months in which I struggled and got frustrated every day before I realized that this place isn't about the money at all. It's about the people, the community. Unfortunately, the people in charge have made it so difficult for newcomers that only a few are stubborn enough to stay around long enough to find this out for themselves.

During my first months, I gave up on SteemIt so many times, because it seemed all so useless and a waste of time. But trust me when I say it isn't. Once you make it through those first few months, it get easier, and the reward for sticking around will be awesome. It won't be a monetary reward, probably - I'm still waiting for that to happen, lol - but this place and the people here have changed my life. I've learned so much about all kinds of stuff, but especially about myself. Complete strangers who are living on the other side of the globe have become valuable friends... And I get t know more interesting people every day again. I consider this to be way more valuable than money could ever be.

So, focus on getting to know as many people as you can. Go out there and engage. Build your network, find your 'tribe'. And get in touch whenever you feel like giving up, because it would be a shame to miss out on all that this place has to offer

Congratulations @simplymike! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 350 posts. Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30