Steemitbloggers Contest | Treasure Hunt (Results)

in #community5 years ago (edited)


source

A hunting we will go


This week's contest was carefully crafted by one of our seasoned Steemitbloggers member, @thekittygirl. She has created a full treasure hunt contest where you actually have to solve puzzles and find out your final task to complete the whole treasure hunt. She even created the puzzles herself and probably had to test run the treasure hunt herself. Truth be told, I'm honored to have her host and judge this week's contest because I know she has her other routines from other communities as well. Thank you so much @thekittygirl and I'm sure everyone enjoyed doing this. Let the hunt begin...



Treasure Hunt


Overview

  • Solve a crossword puzzle below. The theme is: winter
  • Unscramble the letters in the red boxes to reveal the name of a member of the SteemitBloggers commnity.
  • Go to that Steemian's blog and look for a certain post and read it. Make a note of the different things talked about.
  • Author your own Steemit post about one of the things that is mentioned in the SteemitBlogger's post. You may do a 300-word (minimum) freewrite, write a poem, draw a picture (stick figures allowed!), or take a photograph of the subject.
  • Do not reveal any of the answers when you do your post, other than including one of the things in your poem, freewrite, drawing, or photo!

Step 1. The Crossword

Everyone had to first solve a crossword puzzle about the theme: winter. Since the #steemitbloggers community spans the globe and has members in many different climates (including the tropics!), it was difficult to pick words & clues that I thought everyone could solve. Here are the answers:

SBcrossword2a.jpg
courtesy of @thekittygirl

Step 2. The Unscramble


Taking the letters from the green-outlined boxes, unscramble them to get the name of a #steemitbloggers member. Unscrambling "HKMOHGI" reveals: @khimgoh

Step 3. The Prompts


Scrolling down through @khimgoh's Steemit blog to find the post about her first video, we find Dtube Snap #1: My First Dtube Video - My Office and any of the things which were mentioned in the post were fair game as a prompt for a post containing a photo, stick-drawing, poem, or freewrite.

The overview and steps are taken from @thekittygirl's posts on this treasure hunt.


The Entries & Results!

The actual prize pool for this week's contest was supposed to be 6 STEEM but @thekittygirl have decided to put in another 8 STEEM because she was amazed by how good all the entries were that they all deserved to be rewarded. It is no doubt the steemitbloggers members have top notch writing skills. So without further ado, here are the winners.

Winner (4 STEEM)

Skyline blues - POEM by @zen-art



Photo by @zen-art

I decided to go with a poem that serves as a sort of critique of humans who lose their focus and spend their lives being too busy to even notice their children, loved ones or friends. Some people work too hard and sacrifice too much with never being satisfied with what they have got or being happy and grateful for the time they have. There is nothing wrong with being ambitious, just don't lose yourself along the way...

1st Runner-up (3 STEEM)

A Freewrite On Being Productive by @manoldonchev


Ants_s.jpg
Photo by @manoldonchev

'Remember, don't be busy, Be Productive!'

I have been busy all along, thinking I have been productive. But then I saw another angle...

2nd Runner-up (2 STEEM)

Treasure Hunt Story (freewrite fiction) by @iamjadeline


589b24382096a705e895cd78.png
Source from stickpng.com

It was the time of the year, where we were asked to join treasure hunt activity as part of our modules. Our manager was a superior awesome beautiful lady and we were hardworking workers who had worked hard the whole year.

"Let's have a break and do treasure hunting."

"All bills are on me," she added...


Honorable Mentions (1 STEEM Each)

Rastakhan's Rumble top five by @fromage


Chercheeze small.jpg
photo by @fromage

Every day as I come into the office I have a few extra minutes to mess around on the internet. Most days I just obliviate the time with Reddit or Twitter, but for the last couple of weeks, I've had something more exciting to check out; card reviews for the new Hearthstone expansion...

The 501's by @kaerpediem



Video Source made at giphy.com

The last job I had was with a Radio Station. Because radio is on 24/7 I was on my toes all day and all night. The radio would always be on in the background even at home so if it goes off air for whatever reason, I could either alert the Presenter on air or just the technicians if it was pre-recorded for the day...

Treasure Hunt by @tryskele


SB_new.png

My poetry is not the best it's different. I usually can think of something but lose it as I go to write it, so no poetry. I could do stick figures but people might get the wrong impression of what I am trying to convey. Even though it does sound fun, it would be very time consuming. We're going to go with what we know the 'freewrite'. It's my thoughts flowing in my head and into my hands as I sit here and type. Nothing is preconceived so yeah, it's freewrite. LOL...

Treasure Hunting All Over the World by @mattifer



Photo by @mattifer

Recently, Matthew (on the right), his mother (in the middle) and I (on the left) were spending the day in the Austrian Alps. The worlds largest Ice Cave was there, and as it was my birthday I thought we should go see it. Matthew had to work later in the day, but I figured we had plenty of time...

Treasure Hunt by @traciyork


Photo by @traciyork
Now without giving away the thing that I'm going to use that was mentioned in the post (say that three times fast...lol!), here is my photographic interpretation of said thing...

Judge Comments

You can read the judge's comments (@thekittygirl) over at her results post where she shared a little on her judging process and what she thought about each entry here :

Steemit Bloggers Treasure Hunt - Results


Do also drop by her post and give it and upvote and a comment to thank her for all her hardwork getting this contest to run so smoothly. :)



Congratulations


Thank you for sending in your awesome entries once again for @steemitbloggers weekly contest. We love your constant support and participation from all of you for this weekly contest. @jaynie and I are always super stoked to read all the entries.Thank you @thekittygirl for judging and running this contest once again and for the generous sponsorship for the Steemitbloggers rewardpool. For those who did not win, don't be disheartened if you weren't selected. All in good fun and healthy competition. The next contest will be announce in our contest channel in discord.

Want to join our awesome family?

If you want to be part of this awesome community, @steemitbloggers is always interested to meet people with amazing personalities and great content creators. If you want to know how to join us? Head on over to @jaynie, our Steemitbloggers founder profile and be on the lookout for an invitation link post.

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2018/12/03/steemitbloggers-contest-treasure-hunt-results/

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS to all!!!
I wasn't able to participate this past week as I was under the weather. BUT it's great to see so many @steemitbloggers' members involved!

I hope you're doing alright. how's the physiotherapy going? The next contest is a little simpler. You can go check that out :D

I AGREE! Haha, go join the next contest!

Okie dokie! :-)

Thank you, too, @zord189! Are you sponsoring the game yourself?

Hey, yes I sponsor the weekly most of the time myself. There are several times the rewardpool is increased by a member who wants to support and contribute to the contest. Recently, Curie is sponsoring us with monthly steem for our contest too. I try my best to find any sponsors out there who wants to contribute a little to the rewardpool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79