Team Malaysia | Getting Horizontal with @scrooger, Meetup (Full Write-Up)

in #community6 years ago (edited)



Getting Horizontal with @scrooger


I know some of you have been waiting for the full write-up of the awesome meetup with @scrooger, witness and founder of the @qurator initiative. A lot of you wanted to join but because couldn't make it so I'll do my best in writing a full write-up of what we did, what we saw and what we ate during this meetup.

Before that, a special shoutout to @aaronleang and @joannewong for organizing this '3-Combo Meal Meetup' in one night. YES! we had three full meals in one evening and it was bliss.

When @scrooger announced on Teh Tarik Sundays a few weeks back about coming to Malaysia, we were stoked! Not only did we get to invite him to come on the talk show, but we'll be going to see him in real life. And you all know that I'm always excited to meet Steemians in real life. It bridges that gap of just 'chatting' in discord or through comments and replies. I've prepped @scrooger a little because I was thinking, hey, he probably should now that Malaysia is a food haven for foodies. So I DMed him about some of the 'MUST HAVE' Malaysian food when he gets here. The Nasi Lemak, Bah Kut Teh, Durian and many more.

I was super excited when the day was coming for the '3-Combo Meal Meetup', and it was a Friday. What better way to end the work week with meeting up with amazing peeps. Before this, I could only join the Dinner session because my work finishes at 6pm. When I got to office... I checked my available leaves and I decided...oh heck, I'll just take half day today. NOT THAT IM A BAD EMPLOYEE but I kinda finished my work and it was a chill time for the office so why not right? :)


Durian Fiesta @ Say Heng (Pre-Dinner)



Thumbs up for the best fruit!

Now they say, you either 'love it' or 'hate it'. It's a 50/50 chance of either one. This fruit will either give you a strong pungent smell or a nice sweet smell. That is when you know that you may or may not like eating durian. I had my fingers crossed because it was going to be @scrooger's first time having his taste into what we would call, 'The King of Fruits' in Malaysia. And because it is mostly found in the Khatulistiwa region, exporting these babies would not be as good as eating farm fresh. Also, if @scrooger doesn't like it, we're not cool to be friends anymore.... (just kidding or not...:P)


We were all nervous for him and @imdazu (his girlfriend) as we popped open the first Durian. So before digging in, I decided to take a wefie before all hell breaks loose. @ackhoo joined us as well and it is also one of my first time actually meeting up with her. I've met her before at the #teammalaysia's Chinese New Year Event but that was when she was leaving already so we didn't talk much. I was glad she could make it.

As for the Durian, there is a way to enjoy these spiky fruits for first timers, whether u like it or not, that's another thing. We would usually ask the Durian uncle to go from the lower grades to the highest more expensive grades. The taste and smell will be more intense as you go up the grades. We wouldn't want @scrooger to be tasting the BEST grade and then leaving no taste buds for the lower ones. That being said, many of us may still have our own preferences of Durian grade. For me, I prefer the 'XO' grade and NO it does not mean xoxo... but the 'XO' grade gives a bittersweet with a slight creamy flesh of the fruit. A tinge of alcoholic taste from the slight fermentation of the flesh is my kind of thing.


Poppin Durian in the sun!~

This was before @scrooger and @imdazu dig in for the first time. fingers still crossed. But I predicted that they would like it cause the smell didn't chase them away. We had a total of 7 types of durian grades.

Durian Grades

  1. Wang Zhong Wang

  2. Super

  3. Musang King

  4. Phoenix

  5. Musang King mix with green thorn

I forgotten the names of the other two grades, but they all gave a different texture, taste and smell to it.



@scrooger and @imdazu digging into the angry coconut

Suddenly, the atmosphere was pretty quiet for awhile and I noticed them both picking up more and more durian and at that instance I KNEW!!! They were Durian-Lovers! I released my breath of relief which I was holding since I got there.


@imdazu being photo-captureception


Photo courtesy of @ackhoo


Bah Kut Teh @ Yu Kee, SS15 (Dinner)



 

We proceeded on to our main dinner for the night. @karinzdailygrind, @bitrocker2020, @digitalmind and @ireenchew also joined us for dinner. Everytime a International Steemian arrives at our shore, we would always bring them for the Durian and definitely this traditional Malaysian dish called, Bah Kut Teh.

Bah Kut Teh is a traditional herbal pork soup dish cooked in claypot over high temperature. The herbal soup is mixed with the best parts of the pig, the ribs. That is where all the essence are held.
Thank God we got there early because this place is always packed when it comes to dinner time at around 8-ish. We arrived at 7.15pm and managed to get a table just outside the restaurant.


@bitrocker2020 & @scrooger, the two witnesses

It is always a joy to see Steemians meeting one another for the first time especially when they get to talking about 'witness talk' which I wouldn't understand but still nods my head. Haha, it is always interesting to see perspective of different individuals through this sort of meetup and how they build their initiatives. There's always something valuable to learn.


Our Bah Kut Teh Dishes


Wet Bah Kut Teh


Dry Bah Kut Teh

The Bah Kut Teh is cooked with pork everything.... its innards, the liver, the stomach, tongue etc etc... Now you may think its gross, but my advice to you is just don't ask what's in it and chew away because the fragrance of the herbal soup is to die for!~ Mix that herbal soup with your fragrant rice and some thick soya sauce, you would die twice for. Okay...that was kinda lame but you get the point.

@scrooger and @imdazu said that enjoyed it and loved the innards because staying the Korea, they always go for the Korean BBQ and these are the best parts.


Christmas came early!


Happy zord and his @qurator mousepad

As I was finishing my dinner, @scrooger took out his santa bag and brought out some gifts for ALL of us! Thank you @scrooger for the gift! It is being used well in my office because I've always needed a mousepad. It was really nice of him to go all the way to even 'customized' these mousepads with our Steemit handle on them. I've talked to a little twitter bird and she said that it was costly because it wasn't printed in bulks and @scrooger had to find other sources to print these gifts. When he managed to get it printed, he was a happy man! (don't ask me who told me this story :P)

But I was really grateful and I thought it was very thoughtful of @scrooger to go all the way to get us these gifts. Everyone either got a mousepad or a slingbag that has the @qurator logo on it.


Before leaving for our next stop!


Nasi Lemak Bumbung (Supper)


This is our last food stop for the evening... though... we actually had more than 3 stops but I don't want you guys to think we're food monsters so hey... let's just cut that teeny tiny food stop out. We only had ice cream...

ANYWAYS... we wanted to finish off @scrooger and @imdazu with the all time best Malaysian dish, the Nasi Lemak.

Nasi Lemak directly translates to Fatty Rice. It is mix with anchovies, fried peanuts, sambal, cucumber and of course rice cooked with santan(coconut milk).
This Nasi Lemak dish is originated here in Malaysia and its ingredients each come from the various races of Malaysia which makes it our signature Malaysian dish. Malaysians can eat Nasi Lemak 24/7 for breakfast, lunch, dinner or supper and after supper. It's considered one of our daily food and is so versatile and every Malaysians loves it.


To obtain this delicious dish for @scrooger and the gf, we've decided to bring him to the famous Nasi Lemak Bumbung at Seapark. Bumbung means roof and as you can see, the place we are having our nasi lemak is between roofs. This whole alley stretches all down the road and is ALWAYS pack with people having their staple nasi lemak. Accompanied with the nasi lemak is another drink that every Malaysians love, Teh Tarik. Hence where I got the name for my talkshow, Teh Tarik Sundays.


Nasi Lemak

@scrooger and the gf ordered one plate and decided to order another because it was SOOO GOODD. In the past, Nasi Lemak only consists of the rice, peanuts, anchovies, cucumber and sambal. Nowadays, Malaysians have em with egg and chicken wings.


@imdazu, @scrooger and @ackhoo


@imdazu, @khimgoh, @scrooger and @littlenewthings


@imdazu, me and @scrooger

@littlenewthings, @kevinwong, @khimgoh and @denion managed to join us for this supper and we all spent the night talking away. I really enjoyed meeting up with the man himself, @scrooger and his lovely partner, @imdazu and I'm hoping that they would come down again and for a longer period this time. An amazing guy who thinks about the community and always putting them first. Definitely one of my favourite meetups so far.

And to end this, I'm actually going to find me some food after looking at all the delicious food and fruits in the photos. Haha, that's zord for you, always eating and nom nom nom-ing. I hope @scrooger, you are now a tad bit 'horizontal' after being well fed. :)


Thank you

 

 

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

DQmSqueeD2Az1he74iEMgj9jEAFHoQCfwkp99qDWB1q2Vxy_1680x8400.jpg

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2018/08/06/team-malaysia-getting-horizontal-with-scrooger-meetup-full-write-up/

Sort:  

Dude! What a lovely post! had fun reading it from start to end. =)

Thank you so much for everything everyone did, I had a great time and can't wait to return. The food, the people, and the vibes are amazing. Wasn't too keen on the weather but everything else was perfect.

That Durian had me sweating before I started eating it but as soon as I got the hang of it I had a blast. Know I can't eat too much of it at the same time, but in small portions I can get used to it for sure.

Thanks again mate, we really had fun and our Tummies were over the moon after that Nasi Lemak.

Thanks man, weather is always either super hot or super rainy. That's all the season we have here. No worries, hope to see you again next time.

Congrats on a successful meetup! So cool to see how the Steem community extends across various cultures.

Looks like everyone had a great time. I would love to eat some nasi lembak, but I would have to pass on the durian :)

Thanks man! Ohh have you tried Durian before? :)

I tried it two times. My Indonesian friends loved it. It is not for me. I really enjoyed mangos​ and pineapples from South East Asia.

Ah I see, yea it is not for everyone. :) Mangoes and pineapples are my favourite too! Basically everything haha

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

This post made me hungry! I told @ackhoo she have to feed me with all the goodies once I get there!

Ohhh, you're in good hands! :D Come come!

Hehe, u also got meetup bro

Haha. See you next month bro

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice! A full day meetup. I'm sure it was lots of fun. And SO MUCH FOOD! lol. You guys weren't messing around. It all looked delicious. I've never had Durian though so I'm not sure if I'd like it or not. But seeing it in your posts has me curious about it. Maybe someday I'll get to try it. Those custom mouse pads are too cool. That was nice of him to do that.

Yeaa.... we love to eat and travel and eat again. :D Had to show scrooger at least some of the Malaysian food bfore he goes back to Korea.

looks like you guys had a blast! Would love to get my hands on one of those spikey fruits!

hhaha we did we did. Its only available in the Asia countries. But u might like it :D

Very cool post, dude!! Someday we will meet. I am half Malaysian anyways! :)

Oh ya, u told me bfore that u were half Malaysian! Thanks man! We really should meet one day

Good stuff!! They really had a great time with awesome food!!!

Hehe join us next time k

Yesssssss!!! With all these food.... Haha

Great write up and photos, @zord! You are such a good host! Everyone looks well fed and like they are having a fantastic time! Now I have mousepad envy!

Thanks :D Hehe, it was a great time!

WOW--- EVERY single person in this post I have chatted with, commented on... and know! How cool to have been able to meet them all in person!

An absolutely beautifully written post!

Hehe, Thank you!!! It is indeed always awesome to meet Steemians in person accompanied with delicious food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00