Team Malaysia | Some of my FAVOURITE Steemit Meetups

in #community5 years ago (edited)


As most of you guys already know, my blog oozes with meetups with other Steemians on it. That is because #teammalaysia loves to organize meetups with one another and we're a pretty active bunch when it comes to expanding the good news about Steemit in our country. We also love to meet when there is a holiday festival around the corner or just a casual food meetup just to catch up with one another. It is because of this, a lot of the older members of #teammalaysia are still on this platform blogging because other than just blogging, we've all formed an awesome bond with one another. Making things worthwhile to be on Steemit.

Not only that, we even make sure every opportunity to meet up is used to the max not only when a fellow #teammalaysia member wants to, but when there are International Steemians who come to our shores for holiday. WE LOVE hosting other Steemians from other countries and we're looking forward to host more. So do drop me a DM on discord if you are coming to swing by this lovely country for a few days.

I've been meaning to compile a list of my favourite meetups for quite awhile now, but have hold it off till when I'm less busy. So here goes, These are SOME of my favourite Steemit Meetups thus far.


My Favourite Steemit Meetups




Team Malaysia's First Official Meetup


I can remember I was so excited to finally be able to meet everyone for the first time. The people whom you've chat with on discord, reply them and read their posts everyday. These people are finally going to be even more 'real' in the flesh. I can remember when the committees were gearing up for this major event, lead by @karinzdailygrind, she asked if I could be the emcee for the day. I was panicky for awhile because I'm an introvert and have NEVER EVER thought of me as an emcee. But I did it anyways.

When I arrived, I loved every bit of it. This event helped me get 'out of my shell' as an introvert and it was less of a energy drain talking to all the Steemians. It was also very exciting going to someone and say 'OHHHHH, so you're [@insert Steemian name here]!!'

That's right! It was so good to put the names to the faces. People who've been passionately blogging bout their travel, photographs, music producers, vloggers and many more all in sync with one language, The Steemit Language.

They say, "Strangers are only friends you've not yet meet"

 



Meeting with @alvinauh


Then there are meetups where we organize to catch up with other Steemians from other parts of Malaysia. Mostly East side. This meet up was a really chill and delicious one I can remember. It was also my second time meeting with @alvinauh who is a veteran blogger on Steemit and an avid fan of the crypto world.

This was when I found a new dessert place that was 'to die for' and later on, this dessert place was slot into many of our upcoming meetups as well. I remember we had 3 meals that day. Dinner, Dessert, supper. It was crazy.




BBQ at @orangila's house


Sometimes it didn't have to be any special occasion but just the need to meet these faces once again. I had a lot of fun BBQ-ing and preparing the food for BBQ when I was invited by @orangila to his house. A lot of the other Steemians came along as well. The ones you would always see during meetups. The ones that run #teammalaysia. Eventhough this wasn't a Steemit event, it shows how close we are as friends to be able to just meet up even if it's not about Steemit. But you know, we still talk about Steemit a lot at the end of the day because we practically eat, sleep and breathe Steemit.





Food Tasting


Ever since @danielwong decided to adopt Steem/SBD as payment for his burger outlet, we have all been his fans of his burgers. We have always been supporting him in his F&B endeavors and this was one of it. I was invited for food tasting for a new burger recipe.

My favourite part of this whole meetup was I got to meet with @howtostartablog. One of the earlier Steemians and one of my first friend on here. It was my first time meeting him as well because he lives in another state far from where I live.


I also got to meet some newer Steemians like @aaronmcheong and his girlfriend.




Spreading the Steemit Gospel


I ALWAYS enjoyed myself when there was a Steemit event where our #teammalaysia lead, @bitrocker2020 would share and promote about Steemit to blockchain enthusiasts. During that time, a lot of people are still unaware that there is this awesome blogging platform called Steemit that rewards you for your content. So it was surely an eye opener for them. I liked being an advocate/ambassador for Steemit because this is such an awesome platform to be in when you are truly involved in the communities that makes Steemit.




Bittersweet memories


About a few months after the first official Team Malaysia gathering and that food tasting meetup, one of the Big Hug Burger outlets have decided to close down and though it was a sad thing, it did leave some bittersweet memories for me. Here's us posing for our finaly goodbyes.




@heartscally Gathering


This was an event I organized for the infamous @heartscally who has gone to Thailand to work and was finally coming back to Malaysia for a month. I knew I had to grab a hold of her and to my surprise... a few more turned up. I remembered she told me she thought that there were only 4 of us meeting up but instead, the whole village came along. Filling up 3 big tables in the restaurant for the first time. It was like a mini steemfest.


Of course, it was without a doubt we have to meet at our favourite Durian stall before dinner and even then, it was packed with #teammalaysia members.




Celebrating @littledrummerboy's birthday


A few months later, I found out @heartscally would be coming back to Malaysia for a second time round and so happen it was @littledrummerboy's birthday. So why not let's all just meetup and eat some cake.




@littlenewthings's Birthday


More birthdays and all the more reason to meet up. This time it was @littlenewthings's birthday and we made it a surprise for her. We celebrated it a week earlier over a good meal of Japanese Buffet. @littlenewthings has been the driving force of the #teammalaysia community and without her, we won't be where we are today.




@kymio's Raya Open House


Now Malaysia consists of various races and ethnicity so we basically celebrate A LOT of festivities all year long. One of them was this year's Hari Raya which was celebrated by Muslims all over the world. I was invited by @kymio to his house to dine and catch up. The food was amazing when it's homemade. The Beef Rendang, Ketupat and Curry... Hmmmm!~




Meeting up with @ladiesofasia


I was stoked when @livinguktaiwan from @ladiesofasia was coming down to Malaysia and because of that, @jrvacation from Singapore came all the way down just to have their mini @ladiesofasia meetup.


All of us waiting to be seated at a famous traditional claypot chicken rice restaurant.




Meetup with @scrooger (Qurator)


@scrooger was the first witness from abroad come to our Malaysian shores and this was one of my favourite meetups. Well they all are actually. I remember feeding him and @imdazu so much they probably gained 5 KGs after this trip. After this, @scrooger enjoyed the trip so much he actually was planning to come to Malaysia to stay! Let's hope that happens!




Farewell for @yasminep


@yasminep was about to head back to London for good so we needed to grab a meal one last time. I can still remember what we all talked about on that rooftop bar that night... it goes something like... hibiscus flowers, flower dresses, gym, etc etc... I'm sure @yasminep and all who've witnessed that night understands what I'm talking about. I hope we'll meet again!




@nomadicsoul and @macchiata


Last but not least, my all-time favourite meetup with @macchiata and @nomadicsoul. We brought them to try out Malaysia's King of Fruit, Durian. Apparently one of them said 'it smells like feet'. I'm not going to say who :P



Looking forward~


Moving forward, I hope that Steemit continues to thrive in its STEEM rates and of course spreading to the whole world. Right now, it hasn't been that much active for a lot of people because everything in crypto is on the low.

Anyways, I hope that I can continue to compile these awesome meetups in time to come. I have a lot more photos to show for each meetups and I've also written a full writeup for each of them in my blog. If you would like to read them, you probably have to scroll down and look for the post starting with 'Team Malaysia'. These are mostly post about these meet ups. And before I head to bed, if you're coming over to Malaysia for a holiday and would love to meet with Steemians in Malaysia, do drop me a DM in discord!

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2018/11/01/team-malaysia-some-of-my-favourite-steemit-meetups/

Sort:  

Aawww! This is a great memory meetup post!!! You forgot to add in our CNY gathering leh...
And you still wanna talk about the hibiscus... Floral dress ah? You sure... Hahahaha!
Super love all the meetups!
And so glad and blessed to have met you all!
❤️❤️❤️😘😘😘😍😍😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahah I didn't put CNY gathering because I was late when it ended. So didn't put lo. Though it's nice too.

Eh... Ya hor... Now I remember didn't meet you during the CNY gathering... Lol... Blur liao...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha yealooo, u left already when I arrived. I had another BBQ at a friend's house

Just so you know I am upset I am not in any of the p....

Oops as I was typing that I realise I am in the first pic... hahaha
So many meet ups, so many friends,.... do you not love Steemit :D

Hahahah, you were in the FIRST and I remember your first question to me was about copyrighted stuff on videos.

You remember hahaha

I just realized... If I ever go there I have to lose like 20 pounds first, otherwise I will end up looking like a ball! 😅 So much foooood!!!

Hahha, you'd probably roll and float back to your home. :D

Whoa that's really a lot of meetups! Hope to meet you someday in person @zord189 . Will try to participate more and come for a few meet ups in the near future. Trying to break out of my introversion, but it can sometimes feel daunting to meet new people.

I totally understand you. Believe it or not, I'm an introvert too. :) That is my dominant trait. I hope to meet you someday soon too.

seeing some steemitmama friends ,
butttttt i love the little drummer the most LOL
greetz britt

Hehe! Hey there! Oh yea, we hang out a lot together quite often. :) He's so adorable huh?

I would love to join you guys for a meet-up sometime soon, if only to makan it's a win for me. I also want to get to know the other Malaysian steemians on discord when I find the time to navigate that other new terrain. The whole foreigner marrying a Malaysian next week thing is taking up any reserve energy I have. But, hopefully things will mellow after deepavali and the wedding and I can be more active around here. I assume KL is the nexus of #teammalaysia?

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh you're getting married? CONGRATZ! Would love to meet you in real life too and definitely you're welcome to any of our meetups. Well, KL is the Nexus and Sabah now is also a Nexus. The expansion of Steemit in Sabah is very very active now!

Thanks so very much. I attempted to register at the @teammalaysia discord, I was a bit confused on the replying with my user name for verification. Hope Its semua betul 🤓🤔💪 I have so much Malaysia stuff I share and want to share but nobody really sees it here as of yet. I'm lucky to be here next to the nexus.thx again

Posted using Partiko Android

OHHH!!! Amaizing!! so good!!
greetings from Venezuela!!

Thanks! Greeting from Malaysia :D

Ohh!!! So Far!!! jejejejje

It's amazing how far you've progressed in Steemit! Now, I don't think u have any issue emceeing and hosting after the gazillion meetups we have throughout the year right? 😀

Judging from your fan base and the amount of babes clamouring over you in TTS, I think you are in good hands 🤗

Haha omg ur back?! Haven't seen u in agesss

This post has been upvoted for free by @nanobot with 0.1%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @nanobot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07