Competition time: how to fail utterly at packaging and marketing

in #competition6 years ago (edited)

My local hardware store is rather a quirky one, it is owned by a local family and they all work in the shop: the mother and her three sons. One of the sons sells bulk-packages of toilet paper from his car boot as a sideline and everyone buys from him as it is good quality and well priced. He gets it directly from a local factory.

The first time I bought from him, I couldn't stop laughing at the packaging when I got home. Is this a joke, who on earth do they supply?

poowee.jpg

Seriously, who designed their packaging? To top it off, the blue toilet-paper banner reads 1 PLY Virgin. Okay, I know that is a paper designation, but 1 ply virgin FOR THE EXPERIENCED HAND?????

I think it's time for a new competition: your tag is #packagingfail

Post the most appalling things you can find until the post pays out in 7 days and I will award prizes based on whatever tickles my fancy.
Your own pictures only, nothing stolen off the internet, and I will be checking

Sort:  

IMG20180510165543.jpg
Urinal Lego anyone?

LOL! Where on earth did you see that?

Some friends brought it back from China :-)
Here it is constructed....
IMG20180511065352.jpg

Hahahahaha! That's a good contender

It's not a package, but I still have to share this photo I took of a waxing salon I saw in Utah:

20150307_155430.jpg

Oh dear. That counts as a marketing fail in my eyes. Feel free to enter it

You know that is really hard to beat. Will be interesting to see what kind of replies you get. Very funny! 🐓🐓

lol for the experienced hand?!?! lol

🙀😹😹 "poowee" = poo + wee
but the sound of poowee is also an expression for when something is smelly hahahaha
poowee toilet tissue lol

Completely ridiculous. It's as if they came up with the idea when they were drunk one Sunday afternoon

Thats funny. I'll try to find something, don't know how I'll go with this one.

Good luck

That's really funny. I do like scavenger hunts too, count me in.

I look forward to it!

Oh goodness...If nothing else this will be a really amusing scavenger hunt!

I hope so!

Don't have a photo, alas... but seen while on vacation in Denmark, in an English-language tourist magazine; an ad for an adult entertainment night spot, big banner across the top of the ad reading: "FRESH C*NTS DAILY!"

Weird and cringe-worthy, at the same time... are you sure that's really what you meant to say, especially in a general audience publication?

=^..^=

That is probably more of a language thing. The word "cunt" originated in those Nordic languages and over there, it is merely a descriptive term that lacks the insulting connotations that English speakers ascribe to it. Although it really should have been checked...

The language bloopers are sometimes the best. Big fan of "engrish.com."

=^..^=

Absolutely. We get some amazing package instructions here

This is what is called "Very Fertile Imagination!" And with fertilizer always at hand! ;D

Shit-for-brains, perhaps?

The goal of every marketing campaign is to drive the sales. You patronized them and not only got the item, you also get 'entertained' by the advert.
Ain't that a double purchase?

Maybe, but I bought it from a third-party seller on recommendation without seeing the packaging. If that was on a supermarket shelf, do you think people would buy it for the packaging?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87