Things to get done today

in #compost5 years ago

So, I'm still a bit under the weather, but that's alright. Just means I'll make an easy day. No more fever, but I'm still aching all over. Wonder if I oughtta start doing yoga again...

Anyways, I've got a few small things I can work on at a nice relaxed pace. Melissa and the kids are at her mom's, so I'll be relatively undistracted as well.

First, as @goldenoakfarm pointed out, I need more carbon in my little compost pile.

IMG_20181103_100850839.jpg

Most of that is bedding from the little birds, which I'd estimate at about 1/3 to half poo and half bedding. There's that mix and approximately the same amount of oak leaves. I'll have to do some math and find out how much more to add, but I suspect it'll be quite a lot, and this pile will be much bigger than the current two by two by one foot that it is... Yay compost!

Another thing to get done is to listen to some podcasts. I haven't done much if that lately because my headphones got washed some time ago. There's learning to be done, which will focus on soil and fungi for a bit. Thanks, @rawutah for recommending the Joe Rogan interview with Paul Stamets.

Of course, leaf gathering will slowly happen over the day. We're up to only six bags so far, but we've been adding a lot to the chickens, and now we'll add some to the outside compost pile.

I hear a leaf blower somewhere in the neighborhood this morning, so maybe I'll get to do some carbonaceous banditry. :)

So while we'll not make a whole lot of physical progress today, there will be a lot of learning. I've got some time to make up here...

Oh, and arborists. I'm going to call more arborists. I've called three so far in my search for copious amounts of wood chips, and nobody seems to need a place to dump. I may have to go in and actually see some folks, cause I really need this stuff in my life.

So I guess our theme for the day will be CARBON!

Y'all have a safe and productive Saturday. Make a post and let the world k ow what kind of progress you're making today!

Stay relevant.

Nate

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @nateonsteemit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Kitchen scraps (vegetable waste, egg shells etc) would be a good addition to your compost pile, as well as paper and cardboard if you haven't got those already.

Some leaves are OK but they tend to compost more slowly, finding a good balance between everything will yield you the best result :) I hope I could be of help, I wish you luck!

Oh yeah, all that goes in too. There's a lot of stuff in there lol it smells great, so I'm guessing it's working well.

Haha! Sounds excellent, it's definitely doing the right thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16