Basic VPS hardening tips from PrivexsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #computer5 years ago


I've been a long time @privex customer for their awesome VPS service. Awesome uptime and very reasonably positioned price. When I said awesome uptime, I mean zero downtime and in fact the only downtime I had was due to Privex schedule upgrade maintenance.

I was looking back at the old mails and found an interesting security tips by Privex upon the VPS distribution to me few months ago which I has been ignored. Some really basic but essential tricks to implement on one VPS for security hardening:

  • Install fail2ban apt install fail2ban to block SSH brute force attacks
  • Move your SSH port above 10000, this prevents SSH brute force attacks causing network problems
  • Change your password using passwd
  • Update your system with apt update and apt upgrade -y


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://fr3eze.vornix.blog/basic-vps-hardening-tips-from-privex/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04