My experience with Microsoft Customer support

in #computers6 years ago

I updated my PC today. From 8 year old AMD FX rig to my new, beautiful Ryzen with...
Fractal R6 case
AMD Ryzen 2600X
16 GB of 3200 MHz memory
2 SSD drives
Old GPU bought from a friend (GTX 970)

And now as I'm having the new setup, Windows decided I need to reactivate. However it stated that I can't reactivate because of various reasons.

The windows 7 license tag is on my old PC case. It has served me through years and I upgraded Windows 10 when it was free. However now Windows claimed that if it has been upgraded from 7 to 10, there is a digital license and it doesn't allow me to activate this time, as I'm lacking.. something. Maybe I have activated my Windows too many times with the same key, maybe something else was wrong..

Ok, I decided to call the customer support as I do not want to pay over 100€ to get a new license if I can avoid it. However it still was super terrible..

"Windows cannot be activated"
Fffffffffffffff...
"You need to buy a authentic Windows license with 159€"
...uuuuuuuuu....
"Our office is currently closed, we will contact you with an English speaking customer support center."
Oh ok it went better than I had expected
"Please read the Windows 7 product key" Indian mumbling
??Finnish mumbling??
"I'm very sorry but the product key you provided me is incorrect, thank you for choosing Microsoft, thank you bye."
...cckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk!

...

Oh hey wait, I read the product key wrong.

Now it's activated and working perfectly.

However I will need a more convenient note, as I'll get tired for carrying my old PC case up and down the stairs every time I need the key.

IMG_20170813_144136.jpg
Cat came here to get some attention. It's already dead though. Poor cat.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi Apsu. Better than Binance customer support. Binance rings and rings for about 5 minutes then says GOODBYE. Wish these big companies would spend a little of their hard earned profits on some form of customer support.

How often do you really need that activation key if it's that inconvenient? I've never had to insert one and tbh I don't even know where my code is :D

However I will need a more convenient note, as I'll get tired for carrying my old PC case up and down the stairs every time I need the key.

That's called PC fitness. You should definitely register it.

PC FitTM

PC StairFitTM

I'll take 30% because I told you to register it. And helped you with the name.

Sign here: _____________________

Your post is very informative and awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73