Constrained Writing Contest #29 + Winners of Constrained Writing Contest #28

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

constrained writing contest.jpg


Most writing contests give you a writing prompt or at least a couple of words to work your idea around, which is why I decided to host a slightly different contest.


A constrained writing contest

Instead of being given an idea or a writing prompt, you are allowed to choose the topic completely by yourself. But, varying from week to week, you will face different challenges that limit your writing.

You will be required to omit certain words, use a specific word in every second sentence, use a given sentence unchanged, write a story with a certain amount of words... or a combination of all.


Winners of constrained writing contest #28

We had a grand total of 4 entries this week, and I liked all of them very much as they all presented a rather different take on this week's constraint.

The winners of this week’s Constrained Writing Contest are:

Judge’s notes: Out of all the stories, yours resonated with me most. Might be because you included another person. It added another dimension to the story as the boyfriend had to both understand and be supportive of his girlfriend, even when "she" called him names and was very, very rude. A very real situation, perhaps too real, even. Spooky.

Judge’s notes: Speaking of spooky, this story downright sent chills down my spine. Very much liked the fact one personality liked coffee, and the other didn't. It's a somewhat subtle detail, but a very very powerful one. The change from one personality to another was also very distinct, which I liked, and I believe you spun the story perfectly. It was hard to decide between you and @byn, but for some reason I could imagine myself in both the role of the boyfriend and the role of the girlfriend. It was a bit more relatable, maybe. On the other hand, that's also why I so much loved your story, because you pushed it to the extreme. Amazing story.

Judge’s notes: This story introduced yet something new. A personality that is stuck in the past. And is cruel. The story was also pretty creepy because of the open question you left in there (about what happened to his family). Very well done!

Honorable Mentions In Alphabetical Order:

If I, by any chance, missed your entry, please do not hesitate to let me know, and I will do my best to redeem myself. I have missed an entry in the past, so I now pay extra attention, but ... It can happen still.
Sorry and thanks!

Proof of payment:



With that out of the way, onto constrained writing contest #29!


Rules:

This week I am the sole judge of the contest again. I would like to reintroduce a constraint we had a long time ago (I think it was contest #5 or #6?), because there weren't many entries then and I believe it is a very good constraint.

Here it is:

  • Start and finish your story with the same sentence/word.
  • The story must be at least 250 words in length.

And as for the usual mumbo jumbo, here's the rest of the rules just about every contest has:

  • Upvote this post
  • Post a link to your entry in the comments below
  • Include tag #constrainedwriting among your other tags
  • Should you wish to help raise awareness of the contest, please consider resteeming this post (it is by no means compulsory)

Prizes

I will pay out this post's payout in full, both SBD and STEEM!


  • 1st place: 45% of post's payout
  • 2nd place: 27% of post's payout
  • 3rd place 18 % of post's payout
  • Judge takes 5 % for his/her efforts
  • I will take 5 % for hosting, writing and editing the contest

*Note: In case I receive any donations for the contest, the payout percentages apply to the donation itself as well.


Judges

This week I am the sole judge of the Constrained Writing Contest, and am responsible for picking the winners on my own discretion. I promise to try my best and be as objective as possible.

What's that I hear? You wish to be a judge too? Well look no further!
To apply for a judge and make up your own rules, simply send @svashta a hearty hello on Discord (Svashta#5207).

*Disclaimer: I will only allow fellow writers as judges to keep the competition high quality.


Deadline

  • Entries are accepted until this post's payout
  • Your entry post must be newer than this post

Good luck!


Svashta_gif.gif

Sort:  

Already looking forward to the read! ;D

Thank you very much for your entry!

Who is Molly Bloom?

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@tristancarax/day-26-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-paper

I had fun with this once I sat down to write it.

Thank you! :) and congrats to @byn and @tristancarax!! :D

I thought @byn's was amazing too :) she'd by my #1 if I were judging also! Good luck to the entrants for this week's contest! :D

This is my first time giving this a go, and I have only just made the deadline, but here is my entry - Two Seats

I really felt like writing a story this evening, and when I saw your contest, it just got my mind whirring, thank you both so much for hosting and judging this!

Awesome to see you join in! I definitely like that you were in the mood for writing and went for it! And, of course, that you decided to join in on the Constrained Writing Contest.

Also, huge thanks for alerting me to a typo in this week's post - this week I am the sole judge for the contest, though truth be told, there's huge support at all times from @foragingquietude. She's just an awesome individual!

@svashta Very cool. Thanks for the judge's feedback section. I do find it helpful; it sheds light on things I didn’t think of thinking about.

I try and comment on the stories in the comments and here also, yeah. Feedback is always welcome, especially the feedback that isn't just "it's good" or just "it's bad". As long as it's constructive.

Oooh! I think I'll jump in on this one... (thinking of ideas...)

Awesome! :D Very happy to see you join (again)! :D

Will give it a read soon.
Thank you evry much for your entry!

Hi, @svashta, I was so sorry I missed last week's contest, found out too late about it. This week's constraints were easier than the multiple voices last week! Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/story/@marie-jay/magical-duel-of-the-century-short-story.

It is somewhat easier this week, but I like the idea of beginning and ending the same way. :3

So very happy to see you enter, and don't bother with last week's. Many more to come ;)

Thank you very much for your entry!

Thank you! It was very real, because it was based very strongly on real life... but I did tone it down so as not to be too much for a short story. I'm glad you liked it. It was incredibly challenging for me to find a way to write a short story and capture even a bit of the essence of what goes on. I appreciate your comments! Thank you for the contest and the kind words!

If you'd ever like a word or two regarding any such matter, I'm here. Easiest to talk private on Discord, so feel free to add me and say hi whenever ^^ I can't say I have experience on that field, but I've been through some shit myself as well, and sometimes you don't need someone to "say they understand", but just someone to listen to you.

Hope everything's fine, and will stay fine. ^^

Everything is fine and has been for a long while. I managed to raise and homeschool 5 kids and very few people ever even knew that I had issues, so it is cool.

It was just quite the adventure in the midst of the worst of it, getting diagnosed, etc.

Awesome! :D There's a wide smile on my face reading this! :D Way to go, @byn for kicking that up its butt! ;D

Hopefully I can find the time to give this one a try.

I very much hope so! But if not, no problem at all! If there's other stuff that needs be done, there's other stuff that needs be done.

Here I go! Gonna sit down and write because it is too hot to do anything that requires movement. :)

Hmm. Maybe I should too... Need me some standalone stories :3

Wait a minute, this contest doesn't have prompt or whatever, you just write and include the tag right?

No prompt, but a constraint. :P
You can write about whatever your heart desires, so long as you start and finish your story with the same word/sentence. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73