Steem Basic Income Giveaway (At the Movies!)

in #contest5 years ago


My wife's family has a great tradition of seeing a movie together at the cinema on Boxing Day! It's our little part to keep the cinema chains in business in these dark days of internet streaming (don't flame me, I am an avid Netflix subscriber!).

Anyway, in past years we have watched the new Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter or Star Wars, and it is a tradition that my wife and I have kept alive whilst we are living here by ourselves away from family. This year we also took our oldest daughter along for the ride (the youngest one might join us next year... this year, she stayed at home with Grandma). Obviously, you have different types of films that you can watch when you have children with you... but I'm keeping what we watched as a secret as I want to post about it in the coming days!

It isn't often these days (partly life, partly being parents...) that we can take 3 hours out to sit down and watch a movie. So, I'm completely out of touch with what is showing at the moment... however, that isn't quite my question this week!

My Question

  1. What are your favourite movies of all time? It can be just one or a few... no genre restriction (but please don't embarrass yourself!)

My sample answer

I can't tell you how much I LOOOOVVVVVVEEEEE "Chicken Run"... I must have watched it 7 times in the first year that it came out, and now I'm preparing the kids to start to love the Aardman films of claymation. This slow indoctrination will culminate in a grand viewing of "Chicken Run", where they will learn to love the best movie of all time!

Definitely a close second is all the Pixar movies... however, the top stand out is the movie "Monsters, Inc"! There is nothing better than a great animated film, and these guys do it so well, with jokes and songs that are just so funny on so many levels!

As you can see, my movie tastes are probably relatively similar to what my kids will like, which is pretty handy as a parent! Plus, now I don't have to be embarrassed about going to one of these movies as an adult, as I can always say it was for the kids!

Rules

  1. Upvote if you want, it increases the payout and then I can hopefully sponsor more people.
  2. Resteem is NOT neccessary, but the more people see this, the more the people will be likely to be sponsored.
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 0.014 SBD and 3.783 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 4 shares.

The winners by random draw are:

@brittandjosie

@moncia90

@for91days

@blueeyes8960

plus two bonus shares (one each) for great replies!

@nickyhavey

@theironfelix



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/12/27/steem-basic-income-giveaway-at-the-movies/

Sort:  

The Lord Of The Rings love them all, Robin Hood 1973.

Lord of the Rings movies were just epic!

The winners and the new SBI giveaway (What defines you?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatdefinesyou-5bwkmoba4m

The Shawshank Redemption

Oh yes, this is a pretty awesome movie! I remember seeing it ages ago, and it is still great!

You got a 84.28% upvote worth $0.042 from @upvotewhale courtesy of @eii!

The winners and the new SBI giveaway (What defines you?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatdefinesyou-5bwkmoba4m

Great post! You've earned a 31.25% upvote from @dolphinbot
Join the DolphinBot Team for Daily Payouts in Steem! Click here: http://bit.ly/dolphinbot

My favorite movies of all time? I have lots of favorites..most of it are series. Here are some of it:

  1. Divergent Series (Divergent, Insurgence, Allegiance)
  2. Titanic
  3. Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon
  4. Harry Potter Series
  5. Lord of the Rings Trilogy
  6. Twilight Series

Posted using Partiko Android

I have to see the Divergent series... It's something that I had heard of, but never got around to watching! Twilight I haven't heard of though..

Twilight is about vampires and werewolves and humans. Its a love story. There are 5 parts..im not sure though. Divergent..is about factions..people are divided into 4 groups depending on the results of their examination..oh i dont wanna spoil you..i know you will like it.

Posted using Partiko Android

The winners and the new SBI giveaway (What defines you?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatdefinesyou-5bwkmoba4m

Difficult to name one movie only but let's try. Forest Gump has it all - the drama, the comedy, the action, the memorable quotes, the performance, the music... The broadening of one's perspective... Wonderful!

I had completely forgotten that movie, it was a great one!

The winners and the new SBI giveaway (What defines you?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatdefinesyou-5bwkmoba4m

Loading...

I like the terminator series.

Oh man, they are pretty good! I love series movie, if they can hold together the arching narrative!

The winners and the new SBI giveaway (What defines you?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatdefinesyou-5bwkmoba4m

Yessssss Thank you for that extra christmas present.

And My Alltime favorite is BEN HUR. I love moviesabout history. This one is so great I Sm going to mskethe kids Watch that one before they leave the nest ! And you know what eventhough the movie is old There is still a great lesson to learn from the story 😉

Wow, that is an old time classic! Great choice, I haven't seen it since I was living at home many years ago!

Its a tradition to Watch it once a year

The winners and the new SBI giveaway (What defines you?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatdefinesyou-5bwkmoba4m

Gran Torino and anything with Clint Eastwood in it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Isn't that a Clint Eastwood movie? So you just voted for the same movie twice?

Yes, he's really good. 🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

I've never seen a Clint Eastwood movie before... I guess it will be time to have a look!

The winners and the new SBI giveaway (What defines you?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatdefinesyou-5bwkmoba4m

I have to say that Moonrise Kingdom and Birdman are my top two. I would have to think hard to come up with two I like more.

Birdman, I have heard of but never watched! I'm afraid I don't know the other one though..

The winners and the new SBI giveaway (What defines you?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatdefinesyou-5bwkmoba4m

My movie of all times is constatine

Daarna deze howls moving castle samen met mijn oudste zoon veel gekeken.

Posted using Partiko Android

Leuk keuzes! Ik weet allebei niet, maar het is goed om filmpjes met onze kinderen te kijken!

The winners and the new SBI giveaway (What defines you?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatdefinesyou-5bwkmoba4m

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17