Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Stairs or lift???)

in #contest5 years ago (edited)


Thanks to everyone who entered the previous "Your Place in the Room" question from last week (well, about 10 days again as I'm getting a bit behind on keeping up with the contests...). It appears that we have a great amount of corner dwellers in my Steem audience. I wonder if Steemfest is all about people standing in corners of the room?

This week, it is a pretty simple question... I've been on tour... which means that I arrive at a hotel that can sometimes be a bit overwhelmed by the arrival a decent sized orchestra and choir.... especially in smaller towns, where there is just a single elevator that just isn't going to cope with about 60 people and luggage wanting to upstairs.

My Question

  1. Are you a stairs person or a lift person?

  2. If you are a stairs person... how many floors will you go before you decide it is time for the mechanical option?

My sample answer


Unsplash

Mostly, I will prefer stairs unless it is a dark, urine smelling dungeon... where it is more likely that I'll just get mugged. In the hotel situation that I mentioned above, I definitely don't bother with the lift. It is just an excercise in frustration... especially when some people just "accidentally" don't notice the 50 metre line of people who are waiting...

However, I do have my limits... about 5 floors with my violin/messenger bag and luggage. Any more than that... and I give up and wait in line.... or better still, store my bags and walk off and get something to eat!

In the ordinary course of events, I am now limited a bit by a toddler... which means that the use of stairs really depends on how much time I have. I make my kids walk as much as possible... but that really does mean that you can't really be in a big hurry... or that would also be an excercise in frustration! I'm not mean though... perhaps 2 or 3 floors is enough for them... although, I have made my oldest walk up some pretty high cathedral towers (in my defence, she loved it!.

Rules

  1. Upvote is not required, but appreciated!
  2. Resteem is NOT necessary!
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!
  6. PLEASE PLEASE Don’t upvote your OWN comment. I can’t stop you doing it, but it seems to mess up the distribution of the Bounty for everyone else. If you upvote your own comment, I will consider it an invalid entry when doing the draw.

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 0.007 SBD and 3.48 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 4 shares.

The winners by random draw are:

@emergehealthier

@zen-art

@hykwf678233

@mango-juice



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Sort:  

@bengy has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

  1. I’m a stairs person because I already don’t get enough exercise.
  2. As many as required (except for that one time I went to the Empire State Building!).

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh and just for good measure... !giphy stairs

Posted using Partiko iOS

Okay, I guess that would be a huge and worthwhile exception! Don't think anyone would fault you for that!

I'm running pretty late with the next round, but the winners and the new question (Most annoying sound) can be found here :

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-most-annoying-sound

How's this one, prefer stairs but use mechanical elevating devices because the knees don't work. 😁

Blame the tools...

I'm running pretty late with the next round, but the winners and the new question (Most annoying sound) can be found here :

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-most-annoying-sound

Normally, I opt for stairs. But having recently become my elderly mother's caregiver, I find myself traveling by elevator far more often than I would like. We visit a medical-office building at least once a week, and while it is always clean and organized--the building, but also the elevators--there are always more people than I am comfortable with--the elevators, but also the building. Still, she is too frail to be tramping up and down six flights of stairs.

I worked on the second floor of a two-story building for years and can count on the fingers of one hand how many times I used the elevator. (Not literally. I was not in the habit of noting to myself: "Okay, just walked up the stairs--must remember that." And the fact of the matter is, when I broke my knee, I used the elevator for the first two weeks after it happened. Should I say "nevermind" now?)

Still, I'm more of a stairman than an assman, um, lift man. (Don't know what's got into me!) For about six months, I was in the habit of walking the upper hallway, descending the stairs at one end, taking the downstairs hallway to the staircase at the opposite end of the building, and ascending them to return to the second floor. Repeat as necessary.

Ouch, stairs are pretty dangerous for the elderly... There is something nice and quiet and comforting about the stairs... You can just take your time and get a bit lost in thought! The awkward silence of the lift is a bit tii much for me...

I'm running pretty late with the next round, but the winners and the new question (Most annoying sound) can be found here :

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-most-annoying-sound

Definitely on stairs more at this time, I live in Venezuela if the electricity goes out I get trapped and that scares me.

Very little I visit tall buildings here there are not many

Yep... If there was intermittent power, then I would definitely take the stairs all the time! Getting trapped in a lift makes for a good story... But it should be no fun at all!

I'm running pretty late with the next round, but the winners and the new question (Most annoying sound) can be found here :

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-most-annoying-sound

@bengy, If i have to go to minimum 3 floor then i use Lift, if its 2 then stairs only.

Good choice! In both directions?

Both directions?

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm running pretty late with the next round, but the winners and the new question (Most annoying sound) can be found here :

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-most-annoying-sound

I am a stairs person, mostly because I was sick for awhile and couldn't do much physical activities, so now that I can, I want to make good use of it.

I've not really been to lots of places with tall buildings but 4th floor is my highest so far with the stairs.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nothing makes you appreciate the simple things like losing the ability to do them easily! Glad you are able to enjoy the stairs again!

I'm running pretty late with the next round, but the winners and the new question (Most annoying sound) can be found here :

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-most-annoying-sound

Stairs person. Guess I'd choose lift if I have to go above 5 floors.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, a similar limit to me!

I'm running pretty late with the next round, but the winners and the new question (Most annoying sound) can be found here :

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-most-annoying-sound

Mostly, I will prefer stairs unless it is a dark, urine smelling dungeon...

For me, it's like the opposite of that. Where the stairs are like that, the lift is in general not very different. You'll never see me using a lift, unless it's a clean, shiny one, with an obvious support system in place. I got stuck in the lift of a hotel when I was a kid, and although it didn't take them very long to get me out, it was enough to scare the hell out of me. I used to have nightmares about it.
So stairs it is...

So you have a fear of getting mugged in a lift! Well, I do know what you mean... The lift at our local train station is rarely used... And when you step in (when I have a pram or lots of luggage), it really stinks... And it is slow...

I'm running pretty late with the next round, but the winners and the new question (Most annoying sound) can be found here :

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-most-annoying-sound

I'm more of a stairs person I'll just climb 4 to 5 floors if the lift isn't arriving or there are people waiting for it, I'm healthy and fit at the moment can't say the same in 10 years though

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I hate just waiting around for a lift... And agreed, may as well enjoy the ability to climb stairs while we still can!

I'm running pretty late with the next round, but the winners and the new question (Most annoying sound) can be found here :

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-most-annoying-sound

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77