Steem Basic Income Giveaway (You are just like...)

in #contest5 years ago


Thanks for sharing some odd and embarrassing stories about what your parents tell others about you! There were some truly hilarious ones... well, funnier when it happens to someone else!

Anyway, this week... I find myself preparing for Mother's Day! Well, two mother's day... there is my own mother... and then I have to co-ordinate my children to actually do something for the day! So, it's like doing twice the amount! Anyway, I'm not sure I'll get everything done in time... I lost a day or two due to lack of sleep....

Anyway, that has led me to thinking about how people often say... you take after your mother... or you take after your father.... and then the reasons why...

My Question

  1. Do you take after your mother or father? Why?

My sample answer


Unsplash

Well... I have to say that without a doubt, that I take after my father much more than I did after my mother. My father was a mathematician, and both of us were much more interested in the abstract rather than the practical. We were both gadget nerds as well... and with terrible (good...) fashion taste! To this day, I'm still more interested in learning and thinking rather than doing... the invasion of reality into my ideal abstract space is always an unwelcome surprise....

My brother does take after my mother much more... both of them can make idle chatter with strangers about anything... My father and I preferred silence. My mum and brother are also much more fond of using cliches in speech, which I have great fun mocking! The other half of the family are also much more practically minded, with both of them working in the medical field... I like to refer to them (lovingly...) as the slow half of the family!

Anyway, in the future... I'm curious to see how my daughter's turn out... at the moment, I think the older one takes after me much more than the little one. However, time will tell....

Rules

  1. Upvote is not required, but appreciated!
  2. Resteem is NOT necessary!
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!
  6. PLEASE PLEASE Don’t upvote your OWN comment. I can’t stop you doing it, but it seems to mess up the distribution of the Bounty for everyone else. If you upvote your own comment, I will consider it an invalid entry when doing the draw.

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 0.925 SBD and 0 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 3 shares.

The winners by random draw are:

@stevescoins

@gungho

@edencourage

... and one special SBI prize for an abosultely hilarious reply from @stevescoins.

The Good
Tied between two very short stories

The first time they took me to church, I fidgeted for about 10 minutes before whining at the top of my little voice...Mommy, this show is BORING!
We lived in Lalaland (Los Angeles)...during the big earthquake that convinced my folks to move out of Cali, my mom rushed in to check on me in my crib; as the crib bounced and rolled across the room, my mom was shocked that I was standing up in it and laughing as hard as I could

The Bad and the Ugly
As a wee tot, I got into the toilet bowl sanitizer..you know, the blue stuff. I then went on and painted my junk blue with it. My parents thought this was cute, so they took a pic of me with a s**t-eating grin and a blue dangle on the dingle. They then proceeded to show this pic and tell this story to every friend I made until I was at least 10. Then they wondered why I never brought any girlfriends over to the house to meet them ;>



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Sort:  

I would hope I take more after my mother, because my father was not a nice person, and I basically feared him. I have taken after my mother in her generosity toward others and her patience with things she can't control. But I have some of my dad's temper that I have worked very hard at controlling, knowing full well the effects of unchecked temper.

Hmmm... so many people have mentioned their father and linked with temper/anger. Patience is such a great quality, especially when things are completely out of your control... combined with a touch of thought, it can also be harnessed to strike when your effort is most effective!

@bengy That's a good point about patience. Too bad there were many people with fathers with anger issues. My brother and I have both leaned the opposite way in a concentrated effort to be better parents.

The winners and the next SBI contest (Medicine and Pregancy...) is here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaymedicationandpregnancy-r3g6uek7kq

@bengy has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Loading...

When it comes to talent, I can say that I have taken the talent of my father which is singing. I am fond of singing and I can still remember when I was a child that my father was into singing at the videoke, together with his friends. It is like our lullaby every night. As we grew up, it became our identity. The only one who doesn't sing is our mother. Another thing that I get from my father is having a bad temper, or perhaps just a little better than him. Maybe because I already have seen him how he gets mad and somehow it inspires me to take necessary coping to keep hold of my anger tendencies.

What I have got from my mother is dedication and passion for certain things. I really love to say this because even though we have different hobbies, I can say that being immersed with the activity for a long makes us in common. I also took also from her the interest in reading, from books, newspaper, and social media. There is just a lot of thing that keeps me interested while reading.

So technically, I am the combination of my mother and my father when it comes to personality. I can't really say that I have taken most of my traits just from only one side. By the way, if it is the looks, I will really say that I have the image of my father and no one will doubt about it.

It's great to be able to sing together! What a lovely thing to be able to do...

Sounds like you have taken a nice combination from both parents!... well, maybe apart from the temper! or as some would term it, passion!

The winners and the next SBI contest (Medicine and Pregancy...) is here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaymedicationandpregnancy-r3g6uek7kq

I would say I took after my Dad, my Mom mentioned it several times before she passed away. I don't talk much especially environment, I listen a lot and observe. People are sometimes surprised when I make meaningful contribution in a meeting because they think I wasn't listening. Lol. I guess I learnt a lot of those things from my Dad as I was growing and because it worked for him I tended to do the same thing.

You are like my children... they stand back and don't say much... they watch and observe... actually, I am similar as well! I get the same thing... when I actually talk, it appears people are surprised into listening!

The winners and the next SBI contest (Medicine and Pregancy...) is here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaymedicationandpregnancy-r3g6uek7kq

You know, I used to say I took after my father a lot. But, lately I have changed so much as a person that I don't really feel that I have too much in common with either of my parents. There has been a very large rift in our relationship as a consequence of this, as my values and passions sort of run contradictory to many of their own. It's sad, but I like who I am as a person and feel that I shouldn't hold myself back from personal development for the sake of fitting in with my family.

However, my father and I do still both enjoy sports and video games, so we have those fun moments together. I'm excited to get back home and be able to play some shooter games with him.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, that's a pity... hopefully, it is a growing phase that doesn't cause too much damage to your relationship. However, it is great that you can still spend time together with your father in things that you both still enjoy!

The winners and the next SBI contest (Medicine and Pregancy...) is here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaymedicationandpregnancy-r3g6uek7kq

@bengy, In my opinion there should be no Why? in this question because Father and Mother are creators and they grow us while taking care of everything and this effort is untouched from any kind of selfishness. No matter if children betray them or leave them, still parents bless them in any situation. And in my opinion, taking care of both of them is not a responsibility, it's a blessing. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the reply, I'm not sure that you quite understood the question! However, I will still count it as a valid answer!

The question was more about who your resemble.... if you are abilities, desires or traits that other people (or yourself) think belong more to your father or mother!

Ha ha.... I think i got carried away. 😁😁

Fortunately, I do not take after my father much... A mustache wouldn't really suit me, lol.

No, I'm often confronted with how much I take after my mother. When I laygh, I hear her laugh. But it's mostly the things I liked less about her, that I find within my self. Havind a temper for no reason, being impatient, being very hard on myself... Quite regularly, I'm reacting to something and meanwhile I think: 'Darn it, I'm just like my mother'.

Fortunately, she also had a lot of good characteristics... and those I inhereted too :0)

LOL... I lost my coffee on that!

Interesting that you have taken so much after her... were you also closer to her whilst growing up?

Yep, only saw my dad every other weekend, so it's no surprise I take after her more than my dad

The winners and the next SBI contest (Medicine and Pregancy...) is here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaymedicationandpregnancy-r3g6uek7kq

Do you take after your mother or father? Why?

I would say there are elements of both of them that I do take after, however not one more than the other.

Like my dad follows his heart crazy ideas and built his own company. This is something I do currently as well. He also likes to drink wine in excess sometimes, LOL so I. My mother on the other hand, she is an artist likes to be creative. I find myself following her leads as well and living a creative life.

Now I'm typing... it got me thinking that both my mother and father are quite similar in a lot of ways and that is perhaps why I am as well like both of them... hmm.

Haha... yes, you would think that they would have certain things in common! I like to think that my wife and I have some things in common... however, other things and approaches which are quite different though...

Funny that you take in your father's entrepreneurial spirit as well as his vice!

The winners and the next SBI contest (Medicine and Pregancy...) is here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaymedicationandpregnancy-r3g6uek7kq

I am my mother's follower. My mother made an example to me with her every move. I love her so much. It has inspired not only people but all people.

That is very inspiring! How do you resemble her?

The winners and the next SBI contest (Medicine and Pregancy...) is here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaymedicationandpregnancy-r3g6uek7kq

I think I take after my mom slightly more because I grew up with her. My parents divorced when I was young so I spent a lot more time with my mom and picked up on her mannerisms and habits. I also look more like her I'm told.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmmm... I guess growing up mostly with one parent would pre-dispose you to take on more of their traits!

The winners and the next SBI contest (Medicine and Pregancy...) is here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaymedicationandpregnancy-r3g6uek7kq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34