A Bit Curious Contest #1 100 SBD in Prizes - 7-5-18

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

10 SBD Sent to the winners:
@swagadam
@milinnysgg
@enforcer48
@artgirl
@mesba
@dwightjaden
@ronykumar
@wittyjov24
@rvag5
@mariajuliany


Contest Information


I will attempt to do contests weekly, if time permits I will do them as many times per week as possible.

I will add up the total unique users who made a comment and use random.org to choose the winners based off of how many people are participating at the close of the contest. Winners will be sent their SBD 24 hours after the post of the contest.

Contest Subject: Why do you use Steemit?
Contest Prize: 100 SBD

1st: 10 SBD
2nd: 10 SBD
3rd: 10 SBD
4th: 10 SBD
5th: 10 SBD
6th: 10 SBD
7th: 10 SBD
8th: 10 SBD
9th: 10 SBD
10th: 10 SBD

The rules are simple:
#1 Comment on the post about the contests subject.

Sort:  

Wow, this post is so quality, it belongs to TRENDING!!!
$427 pending payout for 20 SBD rewards!!!


Flagged this shit for disagreement on rewards.

Where's the point of promoting this to trending?!?!?! You will only lose money.

It's called paying to gather information. No visibility = no information gathered due to no posts.

You probably don't understand how steem works. Reward pool is LIMITED.
If you get more for this post, other authors (with better content) get less.

So that makes me curious, why do you use promotion bots on your posts too?

I don't boost my post to top of trending. I don't have anything against bots, but I don't like low quality posts on top of trending.

Dude what's the deal? He literally sent 100 SBD to some people who possibly and/or probably sorely need it. That's a ton more than I've seen many others do around here. We should be encouraging and applauding behavior like this, this dude comes to steemit and your first instinct is to flag him? You really think he's going to make more than ONE HUNDRED sbd profit on this post? Are you nuts?

How does attacking people like him help? Will it change the behavior of the more self-centered whales? Will downvoting him help people in countries like Venezuela? Will insulting him make him want to stay and learn more about the platform?

Hell, is he even trying to shill something? Is he spamming some shitty ICO or dropping a referral link at all? I don't know his motives just like you don't know his motives, but fuck, dude, I've seen you flag other posts that were garbage, sure, but it just strikes me as odd that you would flag this one like this.

Think before you flag dude.

How does attacking people like him help?

You don't understand how Steem works. I flag for "Disagreement on rewards".

It's nothing personal.

If someone boost post like this to $425, thousand of other authors will get less. There is option to decline rewards if author is not doing this for money.

With the lengthy responses and conversations, and actual engagement and new people coming to the contests section, I fail to see how this would be considered "low quality".

Or is it, in your eyes, low quality due to the fact it's a contest? I don't care about rewards at the moment, I've purchased almost 5x more in SBD and SP than this post is worth.

Mathematically speaking I don't see why anyone would downvote your posts. You're clearly giving out more than you're taking in, you invested and bought in stake and sbd, you're trying to learn about the platform while giving back, I really don't see what the issue is here.

I can see why others who don't give back could be flagged for similar-sized posts, but not this. This kind of shit should be encouraged, not discouraged.

you invested and bought in stake and sbd

I also invested in SP and I'm free do do anything with my stake.

Maybe he just wants only his posts to be seen on top. I think you're doing great like bunnypuncher.

Posted using Partiko Android

Time up!
Results?

Smart move bro

Totally agree with you here @fbslo nothing against the author at all. I just personally don't think posts like this should be boosted to the top of trending, I do wonder what @berniesanders would think of a post like this being boosted so high???

Well, I was brought here by the late @lauralemons. She thought that I could make people laugh, which was something I was always making her do.
I started out doing it for money, but as time has passed (I've been here over a year now) I stay because of the amazing people it has given me. I met @sammosk here and it has been a whirlwind of an adventure!
I use Steemit because I enjoy the challenge of trying to create something new every day. I see life in little clips of content to be shared with the world.
I use Steemit because I can't imagine a day of my life without it, now!

If I may, were you able to make anything monetarily in the last year you've used steemit?

I'm sure the community here is great, and trying to create new or niche content can be challenging. I've never been on to use social media much, so this in itself is a new adventure for me.

Thanks for running this competition, it helps us all justify why we are here. I use Steemit because unlike other social media websites and blogs, your reputation and what you do matters. On most SMS websites a one liner or a basic photo can get you thousands of likes, here it's all about effort. Generally speaking people who have been posting higher quality content for longer get more real interaction and Steem.
I have and you can also invest money in Steem, so it's not just about time and effort. Plagerism and forwards are frowned upon and quality original content of almost any kind is appreciated. I Steem mostly for entertainment and to hone my written communication skills, I also hope to get a small mobetary return from this hobby.

I'm not sure if contests are considered original content. I mainly used this initial contest as a means of gathering information about why users use steemit, while also rewarding some users for participating.

Nothing is wrong with the occasional contest, especially if it encourages and fosters engagement. Check out @steem-bounty by @knircky they facilitate running contests or asking questions while rewarding answers

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll give them a look!

@crypticat you are absolutely right. I upvoted you and I will continue with your prosts

I made a video for why I use steemit right here. Hope it makes the cut.

https://steemit.com/onelovedtube/@gamsam/oxxwx42y

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

I am a crypto trader and my primary interest in steem is to have a passive income. i started exploring steem about a year ago but did not register an account until december and took me a few more months to actually start engaging. my interest is still passive income but i started enjoying engaging with other likeminded people.

During your adventures on here, what kind of topics do you feel that you've had most success with? Commenting and blogging for a passive income seems amazing, but for many I'm gathering it is a tough journey to just jump right into on here.

its a big topic to cover in a comment but i will try to keep it short and share my experiences. i originally wanted to be a crypto trader and have it as my primary income. i still plan to do that but i need to get a few things in place before that can happen. one important thing to mention here is that i am not looking for a quick money i know its a grind and i plan to invest my time into it and wait it out for a few years. my whole plan is to retire in 10 years with enough in my plate and the figure i wanted to invest now was $20k which seemed like a good plan and it still does.

on steem the most beneficial was blogging but it was time consuming and i had limited grip on enough topics to blog multiple times a day with quality content. i had some success with a few posts related to crypto but i had to use bid bots to make it more beneficial. it was good while the steem price was stable, once the price started declining bid bots were not profitable anymore or i should say it was not worth the effort. if i placed a bid for 2 SBD and i got voted 6 in post rewards, it was a pretty good deal on that day. but in 7 days if the steem price came down i ended up getting 4.5 in post rewards and that was not enough and a good decision turned out to be bad one. happened few times before i decided not to use bid bots.

now i am mostly engaging in comments on other posts, which is pretty useful since its quick and easy and i can easily do alot of comments through the day on various posts. i noticed that my followers are increasing rapidly as i approach 1000 followers. my plan is to have 5000 followers until end of the year this should give me a nice little audience.

i bought some steem and converted into SP and am doing self voting which is not that good but as i mentioned my interest is monetary. i do upvote some good comments and posts by others but most of my upvotes go back to me as i have been spending alot of time in commenting. i had 390 SP a few weeks ago and now i have 412 SP which is what i earned. i think in a bearish market that looks pretty good. i have alot of calculations in excel sheets and i have some other stuff in pipeline that will help as well. those include a trading bot which i use already on binance and bittrex with pingpong approach and i have a steem manager app which will do a few things on steem for me as well.

To wrap it up, i think its pretty interesting that steem is used by different people for different reasons. i am still confident steem will allow me to execute my plans and it will have a major role in my passive income becoming my primary one.

I appreciate the well written and thorough post. I personally am still learning about SP, SBD, etc. though from what I've gathered, the more SP you have the more your votes are worth. Which is why I've been putting some crypto I've been earning throughout the day into SP at this point in time. The SBD I have been accumulating also throughout the day will go to contests like this, or donating some here and there to various users.

I'm curious though, I've seen some basic posts with just images make more than some high quality blog posts I've read, is this a normal trend or just bad luck?

As for the bots, I've researched on them a few times, so I have a decent understanding of them so far. I do see how the price falls and rises can impact your % return so it is something to be cautious about and I'll take note of it as I didn't actually account for that. Though at the same time, my goal with this contest was reach, so the return doesn't matter to me at the moment.

yes SP is directly related to vote value but its not the only factor. one thing to note is how frequently you upvote. With every upvote you lose voting power and as your voting power decrease so does your upvote value. With your SP your 100% upvote should give $0.05 at current steem rate but since your voting power is down to 38% your upvote is $0.02 you need to make sure you dont upvote more than 10 times a day if you want to give full upvote value, or you can decide to give less than 100% and keep an eye on voting power. it charges back in time so its not a big issue. you can use this tool to monitor it https://www.steemnow.com/@bit.curious

you can connect with me on discord as well to discuss some of these things i have decent understanding of steem system.

I appreciate the information and link.

That makes more sense now, I was wondering why it fluctuated from $0.02 to $0.01, I didn't know you basically are metered and that determines the amount of the vote. I will have to be more vigilant with my upvotes, as I was just upvoting everyone who posted on this blog so they at least got something for their time.

Thanks again!

no worries if you want to ask about anything else post on my comments or look me up on discord if you use that. you can still upvote all the people who commented on your blog you just have to spread it across the span of 7 days since they will not be getting rewards for their comments until 7 days.

each upvote takes about 2.4 hours of voting strength so you can do one full 100% upvote every 2.4 hours or you can do 5 upvotes of 20% every 2.4 hours. you still give about 2 cents with 20% voting power and you can increase or decrease based on the value of their comments.

I currently don't use discord but plan to get around to it in the near future. I'll take note that everything takes 7 days to "mature" and rewards are credited.

So basically once I'm at 100% I can upvote for 100% every 2.4 hours, that's not so bad. I'll just have to keep my idle hands at bay and not upvote most every comment on my posts, rather spread them out across the 7 days.

Hi, I use Steemit because I hope I can make a living from it one day. I crave the freedom to travel/work from home.

I hope that you succeed in your journey! I think for most the dream is to be able to live / work from him, along with being able to travel.

Sadly life is too fast paced and existing is too expensive to be able to have much time to relax.

Why? For the drama of course!

Steemit may not have the most active users in the world for a social platform, but it's got some awesome drama between users, or of users, rolling around daily.

I read an article about that earlier, there seems to be a decent amount of drama among different groups on here. If memory serves me right it talked about how everything that is said on here is permanent since it is on the blockchain, and that many fail to realize this before they spout out racism, threats, etc. and disregard the repercussions it may have on them in the future.

Yup. Even stuff said off-chain can be brought against you on this platform.

It can be unforgiving at times.

I stared slow with my own contests on steemit, but when I became a Steward of Gondors' recipient (with @fulltimegeek) I was having contests EVERY week; from seed giveaways for planting in gardens to SBD and steem giveaways.

I had people take images of their messy pantry contest and post on steemit. Whoever had the messiest, the cleanest and the ost unique item in their pantry won. That's just one example.

I LOVE doing contests (doing one right now for celebrating my one year steemit anniversary on Friday the 13th next week).

I am a give back and pay-it-forward kind of person and will always have contests.

Thanks for the response!

I haven't thought of giving away actual items, I figured most wouldn't want to give out their personal details for winning something on Steemit. How has participation in such contests worked out for you?

I am very much a give back and pay-it-forward type of individual myself, so I do plan on continuing contests. At the moment I'm unsure of what their subject matter will be, but as of right now they're more for my learning than anything.

Currently my country is going through an economic crisis that covers all areas of life of each Venezuelan, for this reason every day we seek strategies to achieve additional tickets that allow us to survive and achieve the daily sustenance of our families; I have Christian principles in my life and in the midst of all this that envelops us and you see it consumed I asked God for an answer in the middle of all this storm, for an answer I received Steemit, an excellent platform that not only provides economic gains for quality content , but also, it allows us to strengthen bonds of friendship with multitudes of people worldwide, having a significant impact on my life, helping me to learn many things on different topics, since each one contributes a grain of sand for the growth and enrichment of the platform.

Another Venezuelan here on this contest. :D My sincerest apologies about the current economic crisis there, I know all about it. My girlfriend is Venezuelan, she moved out of the country a few years ago, though some of her family still remains there.

I do hope that you have been able to earn something monetarily here that has helped in your times of need. I know mere cents here can equate a lot of Bolivars there.

You are blessed with a Venezuelan woman, Congratulations, And yes, not much but I have helped in opportunities thanks to God ... but the most important thing is even the friendships and being able to do something that I like, "Social Work" giving others of our human quality and moral and economic support.

I am very blessed to have her in my life, it has been almost 3 years now. :)

I agree with the importance of friendships and being able to offer some moral and / or economic support. That's one of the best things about this platform, users have the ability to help others with either sending them a donation, upvoting, etc.

Greetings, and very good initiative, why are we in steemit? first of all we who are in the world of the crypto fascinates us the platform, in addition to getting money to be up to date with this platform wonder, but the truth is that this chain is powered by the markets of the crypto, and by his position that of ourselves that we give life, a curious fact of this great chain is that I used to live on facebook and other social networks, but since I knew this I can not quit, and I use social networks as little as before, always in the hands of the cryptocurrency, I just hope that this platform starts to have new updates and keep growing, because it is a great help mainly for us Venezuelans, greetings to the whole community but very special to my brothers in Venezuela , I know that what we are living here is not easy, but with much optimism and perseverance we will go forward, in the union this strength, thanks for your great contribution to this community @ bit.curious

Thanks for your warm welcome.

I agree, this platform is very well designed and maintained, and for some a good source of revenue / profit sharing. I don't post much or engage much on social media, so one thing I hope to gain from this platform is the ability to better engage with people and conversation. I hope that one day Venezuela gets better, but for the time being that future seems very distant.

I'm glad that this platform is able to help many in your country.

As you are doing, I see you a bright future here in steemit, just as it happens, it is also received!

I appreciate your positive words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79