What is Your Weirdest Christmas Tradition? // 2 Booster Pack Giveaway

in #contest5 years ago


Hi Friends!

I love making posts that ask a question and get us all chatting about fun things in the comments! I'm a big Christmas person and I got to thinking earlier today about how my family has a few pretty strange Christmas traditions - and thought it might be fun to learn about some of yours as well!

So for those who celebrate Christmas, or any holiday this season - what is your strangest tradition?? I share mine in the video and I hope some of you guys get a kick out of it!

Tell Us Your Weirdest Holiday Tradition!



All you have to do to enter this simple contest is to leave a comment below letting us know what your weirdest tradition is! If you can't think of one - then maybe share your favorite.

I'll leave the contest open until Wednesday (let's say midnight PST) and I'll pick a comment that I liked and send that person 2 Steem Monster Booster Packs! Simple, simple.

Happy Holidays



I hope you are all having a good start to the Holiday season! I've been enjoying having my Christmas decorations up, watching some cheesy Christmas movies and playing some carols.

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

austin.png


More of my Steemy Adventures


The Steem Sister Show Has a New Page!
The Steem Monster Show with @littlescribe and @coruscate
Watch My Talk at the Steem Creators Conference
Join the Steem Onboarding Fundition Campaign!
Learn More About Mene 24k Gold Investment Jewelry

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

When we were kids, I remember my mom would put a rose in glass of water, and on midnight of December 25, all the members of our family should take a sip. 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

oooh interesting! I don't think i've ever heard of anyone doing that before! Do you know where that tradition started? Did she do it with her family growing up?

I think my weirdest Christmas tradition is actually my dads.... every year he opens a package on Christmas Day that HE GOT FOR HIMSELF. He wraps it an everything lol ! The first time he did this hes like “OMG look its a chainsaw!!!” And meanwhile the rest of the family just looks at each like wtf is he talking about? No one got him a chainsaw. It took a few years for us to catch on and he does this EVERY year. BRILLIANT!!!

hahahah that is HILARIOUS!! Not that he got himself something nice during the holidays - but that he actually wrapped it and opened it like it was from one of you. hahah!

That actually kind of reminds me something my dad used to do for our birthdays. He would buy himself something and pass down his old item as a birthday gift. My dad has gotten several new cell phones for my birthday. LOL

Oh I forgot to mention this one, this probably should have been my real weird story. I wrap everything in aluminum foil. Every gift. Not sure if its because its shiny, reminds me of food, or its just easier.... but I wrap every present that way. If it it aluminum foil..... its a gift from me!

Hahaha that is sooo funny! I’d definitely be bummed that there wasn’t a burrito under that tinfoil if I were your family. 😂

Jk... your gifts probably involve Mene - which definitely trump burritos. Don’t tell the burritos I said that though. 🌯 💔

Yeah, that's pretty weird. I don't have any real traditions, but because my mother's family became a Jehovah's Witness when she was 13, she made sure that we had birthday presents and Christmases, so the tradition is to go to her place on Christmas Day. In Australia, Christmas is in the Summer, so it can be hot and this can lead to a very different feel at Christmas time. We keep a lot of the British traditions, the tree, ham / turkey / chicken and pudding for dessert and maybe a dip in the backyard swimming pool. Lots and lots of alcohol can be consumed as well.

haha well it still sounds like a fun day - even if it's warm! Even though most of the year i wish I lived somewhere warmer, it really is a perfect place to be for the holidays. :)

Thanks for sharing!

Does it snow where you are for Christmas? I know it sounds like a weird question, and while it does snow in some parts of Australia, it doesn't snow where I live.

But I think that the USA does lend itself better to various holiday traditions.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't have weird Christmas tradition except good one especially buying presents and/or exchanging presents.

Yours is super cool to me. Like literally sing a birthday song to Jesus... Is special.

But we have weird Chinese New Year tradition. During the first day, we must not sweep the floor eventhough it is dirty because then we will sweep away all the luck. Also we will hang the word "blessings" in Chinese character upside down. People believe then the blessing will drop down in the house. Hahaha.

But Lea, I don't play steemmonster so you can save it for others here. Still trying to figure out how to play. Haha

What fun traditions! Not sweeting away the good luck is an awesome one. :)

Thanks for sharing! <3

Hi @coruscate! I am from Venezuela and my Weirdest Christmas tradition is going outside my home at midnight 31 Dec with my suitcase hoping I will be able to travel abroad during the next year hahaha :)

aww that's a fun one!! I hope that you get your wish next year! <3

Yes! I hope hahaha! <3

Not too many crazy traditions here.

One I'm glad we don't have is drinking warm eggnog out of grandpas fuzzy slipper. :)

ewww!! hahah I like warm eggnog but definitely not out of anything but a glass! :P

opening 1 present early on xmas eve.. does that count ? 😂

oooh I LOVE that tradition! I didn't grow up with that one, but I started doing that a few years ago too. <3

So we're a pretty big family with over 60 cousins right and so we would all play secret santa and pick a name on my dads birthday since its the last big birthday before xmas, on 18 Nov.

But since its all about secracy and there are so many names its hard to keep track if each one a name that wasn't there name, since you're supposed to put it back, but lets face it, we're kids and we're not going to let an opportunity to be funny pass us by.

So every now and then a few of the cousins would draw there own name and keep quiet about it and get themselves a killer prezzie (since you're not supposed to spend more than $20) and gift it to themselves.

Once year my cousin took it a bit overboard and bought himself an XBOX and wrote from Kurt Angle (WWE wrestler) to Kurt lol we all burst out laughing when they were handing out the gifts, ah good times!

Woah... over 60 cousins?? That's huge! Cool that you all play secret santa! Crazy that your cousin bought himself an xbox one year ... hahah.

I suppose Festivus is too well known now for me to claim it. Hmm... probably some Japanese tradition I can talk about. Let me think. Will return to this if I remember later ;)

oooh yes! Do let me know if you think of any fun Japanese traditions!

Nothing really crazy, except the overfeeding.

There's the customary rice and chicken

Then some people eat cassava flakes with vegetables for strength or Otis lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39