Weekly Update For 100 Days of Poetry Challenge (Week 10 Begins)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

100 Days of Poetry Challenge
-----Weekly Update [Day 64]-----

New Assignments - Week 10 Begins.
Leave your comments for last week below.


29bluethumb.jpg


strip5.jpg


Introduction

Welcome to our weekly update for the 100 Days of Poetry Challenge! Week 10 began officially at the start of Day 64 on May 9th at 6 PM UTC. In this post you will get new poets assigned to leave impressions for during the next week!


29-thumb 5.jpg


Comments and Weekly Finds

Please comment the results of your first weekly assignment on this post. If you already left that comment on the first assignment post or the previous update on Day 61 please copy it in its entirety and post it here. It should contain these things:

  1. The names of the two poets to whom you were assigned to leave impressions.
  2. Links to the poems you chose to leave them feedback on.
  3. A link to your "Weekly Find," which is one poem by anyone in the challenge in the past week you found notable.

Following these directions will allow us to track your interactions better, as well as discover more great pieces! Be creative in laying out the comment. I don't want to make a template because people will tend to copy-paste it and it will become quite mechanical. I hope you enjoyed this added interactivity! Feel free to comment on how you found the experience, as well.

Remember also if you'd like to get a poem of yours critiqued live during our Critique Thursday session you should DM Guy (Thunder_God#4441) on Discord the links to feedback you left in the past week and a poem of yours you want detailed feedback on by the Wednesday before. (It must be 250 words or less due to time constraints.) Even if you can't attend class you can get a piece reviewed because there will be an audio recording of the class for you to listen to at your leisure.


29-thumb 4.jpg


Assignments for Week 10


The next assignments are listed below. Note for those that use a smartphone to access Steemit: you may only be able to see one column in the table. Please log in using a computer to view both of your assignments, or comment below asking if you absolutely cannot. Everyone should be assigned to different people this go-round, so please enjoy conversing with some people you otherwise might not.

The only rules for the feedback is it ought to be relatively detailed (several sentences in length at minimum) and please be kind and respectful. Otherwise, it is completely up to your own creativity how you will structure the feedback, so enjoy it! Review the original assignment post if you need a refresher in greater detail.

Week 10 Assignments

Poet name IAssignment IAssignment II
@acousticsteveo@mamadini@sansoncarrasco
@adebayopaul@spellmaker@hazem91
@ayahkasih@sammynathaniels@ty2nicerva
@blessedben@figuringoutsrn@josediccus
@corderosiete@mrbreeziewrites@dmilliz
@dmilliz@adebayopaul@spellmaker
@ehisoria@ayahkasih@sammynathaniels
@figuringoutsrn@josediccus@rexdickson
@firststeps@stephenparato@trucklife-family
@hartfloe@zeleiracordero@nicholas83
@hazem91@rexdickson@ayahkasih
@josediccus@firststeps@ehisoria
@mamadini@sansoncarrasco@riahdex
@marlyncabrera@tygertyger@acousticsteveo
@mineopoly@skodie@sayee
@mrbreeziewrites@dmilliz@adebayopaul
@nicholas83@zeleiracordero@hartfloe
@rexdickson@firststeps@stephenparato
@riahdex@hartfloe@zeleiracordero
@sammynathaniels@ty2nicerva@whack.science
@sansoncarrasco@riahdex@hartfloe
@sayee@blessedben@figuringoutsrn
@skodie@sayee@blessedben
@spellmaker@hazem91@ehisoria
@stephenparato@trucklife-family@theverve
@theverve@mineopoly@skodie
@trucklife-family@theverve@mineopoly
@ty2nicerva@whack.science@zulacut
@tygertyger@acousticsteveo@mamadini
@whack.science@zulacut@corderosiete
@zeleiracordero@nicholas83@marlyncabrera
@zulacut@corderosiete@mrbreeziewrites

strip4.jpg


Class Schedule Reminder

In order to make the classes more productive, we have decided to reduce the number of weekly sessions from 5 to 3. This has gone into effect for the first time this week! The days are Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday. On Mondays we look at various published poets from different time periods. On Wednesdays we have informal poetry sharing sessions, sometimes with a lecture or specific topic of discussion related to poetry. Thursdays remain our Critique Sessions led by @geekorner. The time for all of the classes is the same as before: 5-7 PM UTC in the Steem Schools Live Class section of the discord. I encourage anyone who has the chance to check them out, as most people who come listen and/or speak report that they glean a lot from our sessions!


strip3.jpg


Recap

Please comment the results of your first assignments and weekly find on this post, even if you already left the comment somewhere else. Read the directions at the top about all the info you need to include. Please note your new assignments for Week 10 which you will have one week to complete. (You will leave the results of that assignment on next week's update on Day 71.) Send links to your feedback to Guy (Thunder_God#4441) on Discord if you would like your poem (250 words or less) critiqued in our live sessions. Come join our classes on Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday at 5-7 PM GMT in the Steem Schools Discord. Lastly, have a wonderful week!


29-thumb 3.jpg


Wholeness,

@d-pend


29-thumb 2.jpg


Huge thanks to our donors!

  1. @d-pend (500 SBD and 200 STEEM)
  2. @violetmed (80 SBD)
  3. @hopehuggs (50 SBD)
  4. @girlbeforemirror (20 SBD)
  5. @yahialababidi (15.017 STEEM)
  6. @carmalain7 (11.11 SBD)
  7. @madushanka (10 SBD)
  8. @taliakerch (10 SBD)
  9. @firststeps (8 STEEM)
  10. @moeknows (5.44 SBD)
  11. @nikolina (5 SBD)
  12. @hazem91 (5 SBD)
  13. @whack.science (5 SBD)
  14. @rensoul17 (5 SBD)
  15. @josediccus (5 STEEM)
  16. @naquoya (3 SBD)
  17. @corderosiete (3 SBD)
  18. @nicholas83 (2 SBD)
  19. @acousticsteveo (2 SBD)
  20. @trucklife.family (2 SBD)
  21. @hartfloe (1.337 SBD)
  22. @johnrenald (1 SBD)
  23. @flysky (1 SBD)
  24. @zeleiracordero (1 SBD)
  25. @mineopoly (1 STEEM)
  26. @zulacut (0.6 SBD)
  27. @realnairda (0.5 SBD)
  28. @emekasegun (0.2 SBD)
  29. @setiagunawan (0.1 SBD)
  30. @nasrol (0.1 SBD)
  31. @rexdickson (0.1 SBD)

To donate, send STEEM or SBD to @d-pend or @steemitpoetry. Donations go towards the prize pool of this challenge, and any above that will be powered up to @steemitpoetry, an account to support the creation of poetry on the STEEM blockchain. Thank you very much to all who have contributed thus far!


strip2.jpg


neg-dbl-29star.jpg


neg-dbl-29star 2.jpg


Writing & images
By @d-pend
5/9/18


double-29-star 2.jpg


double-29-star.jpg


29-thumb 2.jpg


Sort:  
Loading...

@d-pend, I covered my weekly obligations per the new rules (comments that were/are more substancial on my poets of the week and a weekly highlight). I apologize that this is so late (as is my daily poem also but I am just now home and have the internet to post -- this is how weekends go from here on out for me). I amdead-tired and am getting up in a few hours to start all over again, so please pardon any typos. :) :P

My highlighted poem of the week is from Stephen Martin : https://steemit.com/steemschool/@acousticsteveo/100-days-of-poetry-day-54-now-that-i-know

‘Now That I Know’ is a gem of repetition that rhythmically pulls the reader through a series of one sentence stanza groupings. There is a quality of transcendence from the experiential first stanza to the judgments of the second into that which is revealed through the process that leads to the last two lines. The ending thought is where the form is broken into a two line thesis with a line-break of declaration — that which is revealed through the revelation of the piece.

“Now that I know
That I know.”

I very much admire the flow of this piece and the meaning in which I derived from it. Now, I prefer not to deconstruct this into what I’ve extrapolated from this piece, my personal relationship with the poem is my own and I revel in the power of fine art to accomplish this. However, As with most art I find fascinating, there are many ways to read this piece. I can certainly see one finding a religious tone here, or a romantic overture also would not be hard to squeeze from the line stack — for me there is always certain prudence in bringing all things inward, as if this were a letter to one’s soul (free of religion though, or at least separate of doctrine).

Whatever story you find in this poem, I highly recommend reading it out loud so that you may feel the words, find the rhythm, your rhythm for them and relish in the beauty of this wonderful work.

Here are the links to the pieces from Tyger and Steve:

https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@acousticsteveo/100-days-of-poetry-day-55-deprogramming#@mamadini/re-acousticsteveo-100-days-of-poetry-day-55-deprogramming-20180501t225210659z

https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@tygertyger/totem-day-56-of-the-steemitschool-100-day-writing-challenge-by-d-pend#@mamadini/re-tygertyger-totem-day-56-of-the-steemitschool-100-day-writing-challenge-by-d-pend-20180501t223725657z

Loading...
Loading...

Marley.jpg
Image credit commemoration piece of Marley the dog by myself

Poetry Report- Week #1

My two people were @marlyncabrera & @nicholas83

I chose Cup of Tea from @marlyncabrera’s blog and Bread for Brutes from @nicholas83 ’s blog

My find of the week was Don't touch by @girlbeforemirror

Regards, appreciated @ d-pend and fellow poets.
Responding to the task of commenting poetic texts chosen from poets assigned: my poets of the week were @hartfloe and @riahdex.
From @hartfloe, I chose the poem Losing - day 57 and @riahdex: EN MY COUNTRY - day 55.
My finding of the week is the poem of the appreciated poet @girlbeforemirror: Do not touch - day 51. Heartbreaking autobiographical poem that reveals a soul in movement, overwhelmed by acute body pains, to the point of intertwining with the title.
The exercise of literary criticism based on a well-supported comment, I think an excellent idea moving between us as a tool of support and growth. I congratulate the initiative of @d-pend, in this respect, because it has certainly served to read more, interact and expand our community.

HEYOOO MY LOVELY POETS! Here is my Update:

I commented and upvoted on my assignments. I enjoyed reading their other poems!
https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@ty2nicerva/100-day-poetry-challenge-day-58-who-do-they-think-we-are
and
https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@spellmaker/day-57-of-100-touch-the-star

This is the poem that I choose this week:
https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@spellmaker/day-57-of-100-touch-the-star
It is because the topic is perfect for me. It just got that extra flow that got me feeling much more about it. But, I didn't wake up ;) hihi

Thanks for making this happen! I really enjoyed reading others poems and finding a good one. The poem I choose from this week is also that I commented because it is a poem I really liked. But, I intend not to do that.. This time it was just because the poem got me in Cosmos. And that is all I want :D

Much love to all. @d-pend thanks again for everything, if you need any help or anything, feel free to ask me anytime.

PS I am sorry for being lousy critiquer (the one who critiques) but writing poetry is a BIG challenge for me, and critiquing it is really a hard job. I know most people will not understand me completely, but bear in mind that I have written 68 poetries in my life. And I've read not more than 100 poems. So, I'm kinda noob still, but I am learning and I am giving what I can :( In time, I will be better, that's all I can offer...

Your poems are more influential than you think @whack.science. We are almost all noobies here but it is amazing we lasted this far.

Thanks a lot for the encouragement! Much love!

The two poets assigned to me were @mineopoly and @firststeps
I loved interacting with them and thanks to @d-pend for this contest once again.

I choose Silhouettes - Day 53 as the weekly find. @firststeps is a great poet-philosopher and while reading her poem, one does not have to think about what to write. The poem deals with personal fears, risk taking and fear of failure.

links to a few poems I left feedback

Letter to Mother Nature

Point of view - Day 54

Feather - Day 56

Thanks for the love @sayee. I really like the description of poet philospher.

welcome dear one

Hello @ d-pend, these were the poems that I made the comment last week. Analysis of the poems assigned to week 1: @ayahkasih CORTEX NETWORK CERTEBRAL LIVE! Day 56 (https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@ayahkasih/steemit-school-poetry-100-day-challenge-day-56-cerebral-cortex-network-live)
@adebayopaul CONDEMNED Day 56 (https://steemit.com/poetry/@adebayopaul/condemed-day-56)

My find of the week was: If you Miss me (day 54) by @nicholas83

Hi everyone!

My two assigned poets were @ehisoria and @hazem91

During the past week, I left feedback comments on these poems:

"Don't Try To Change It" and "Results" by @hazem91

Also

"The Voice Inside" and "Original" by @ehisoria

My weekly find is "FIST OF THE OPPRESSORS" by @sammynathaniels

Thanks @d-pend for the opportunity. This is really coming good..I learnt a lot over the past few weeks

Cheers everyone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76