Steem Monsters Cartography Contest, My Finalist Entry!

in #contest6 years ago

Hello SteemMonsters!

So here is my finalist entry for the @steemmonsters game map. I designed this to function not only as a map you can look at but also as a game menu. I designed this not as a finished product but as a map that new things can always be added to. Such as new quests, areas, towns, cities, etc... so when there are contests for new stories or quests that people create there will always be room on the map to add those.

Basically you will start out on the main map which you can see below.

So the main map has 7 continents, one for each card element and also Mt. Mox which will be the continent for player versus player battles. When you click on a continent the menu would take you to a map of that continent. When you click on Mt. Mox you will be taken to the player vs player screen. I did not design that screen but I could...

Each continent is also broken up into regions, each region will have various things on it. Whatever ideas people have could be added there. Below are maps of each continent.

As you can see most of the regions are blank, I put in some things and names based on ideas people have already had. The names can be changed or added as people come up with new ideas or I guess maybe some kind of name contest...

Each region will have it's own map also, this is where things will be located people can click on to do single player quests and stuff. I will show an example of a region map at the bottom of the post.

This is the water continent, it still has land just mostly marsh. I made the main city a floating city...

For the gold continent I went with Egyptian style sand dunes and gold castle...

This is the death/black continent, for this continent I created a sample region map. So the way these maps would work is the regions would also be links which take you to a map of each region. Below is a map of the cave region I created.

So in this region I created 4 caves which players can enter, basically each cave would be a separate battle menu. Each cave could have a different name, quest, story line, etc... So in the final version each cave would have a name next to it. So lets pretend I click on one of the caves to battle some monsters and it would take me to the screen below.

So now I entered this cave and I see monsters I have to battle in order to reach the end boss. The possibilities are pretty much infinite here because you can create multiple levels for these caves where you have to battle many monsters before you reach an end boss. So at the end of this cave you can just place another door that takes you to level 2 and so on...

So that is it, that is my idea for the map which combines it into a menu system. You could have a contest each week to name a new region and add a town or city into the region. Create quests and lore and the text could open up in a popup if people want to read the back story. You can even have art contests for people to create icons for castles, cities, ships, whatever... to place on the map and create images for sublevels where the monsters will go. This way you are constantly adding new quests, lore, monsters, etc...

Hope you like my idea :) Let me know what else you would like me to create...

I can create gif
border line1steemit logoyoutube logoSpreadshirt logoShutterstock logoPeerhub logoTwitter logoFB logoSPN logoborder line2
steemit logo
steem nova banner

Sort:  

Looking good!

flat-top-mountain-or-tree-stump.png
I like the one tree stump in the middle of the map.
19092608.jpg

haha, thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29