Day 50 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest - Prize 114.80 SBD

in #contest6 years ago

steem size (12).png

Day 50

Wow! Day 50!! One more selfie and we are done!

I truly hope that all of you will keep writing with us using the daily prompt you find at my profile @mariannewest

Check out this Freewrite Selfie Journey! @ntowl gave me permission to use the selfies and read a couple of her freewrites to go along with it.

Screen Shot 2018-07-02 at 7.49.44 AM.png

If you like to send me some voice recordings of your freewrite and permission to use your pics - please do! We would love to showcase you here at the Freewrite House.

Even better if you want to put it all together and send the file for us to publish - just saying! LOL.

party white.png

We are grateful to our contest sponsors. The prize is now 114.80 SBD!!!!!

OurSponsorsAre
@freewritehouse@dynamicgreentk@simgirl
@tristancarax@mariannewest@cryptohazard
@wonderwop@marcoriccardi@improv
@wandrnrose7@madpotters@snook
@marie-jay@honeydue@iamjadeline
@pixiehunter@brisby@elizacheng
@digitalmind@byn@whatisnew
@ntowl@khimgoh@eaglespirit
@preparedwombat@kaerpediem

party white.png

NO Eliminated Players

One more Selfie, you all. YOU can do it!!

party white.png

Some Fun Selfies from Yesterday

So many of your selfies were great!!! This is a random pic and yours will also be here someday 🤩

See if you recognize each other's faces.

coolblue.jpg

See if you can list all the names 😊

party white.png

face.jpg

image.png

20180701_200422.jpg

IMG_20180701_225417.jpg

oAzhxXS.jpg

20180701_220839.jpg

If you haven't checked the Daily Prompt yet...

Prompt: chips

party white.png

Remember you have 24 hours to drop your selfie with you freewrite link into the comment section.

Looking forward to seeing all your beautiful faces - or masks - every day 🤪

Your selfie + freewrite must be posted by 8 AM Pacific Time on 7/3/2018

I know that many of you are in timezones where that might be a different date already. Use a time converter to make sure that you enter on time.

If you are late - you are eliminated. No exceptions.

This contest is for Registered Players Only. Registration is Closed.

But there are many fun activities at the Freewrite House - check them out!

party white.png

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

This has been an interesting ride. So glad we all stuck it out. Goes to show we can push ourselves to keep going even if we hit a bump.
https://steemit.com/selfiecontest/@pixiehunter/selfie-freewrite-contest-day-50-chips
chips.jpg

So true sis ❤️❤️

So glad I stuck it out too
We made it ... cheers @pixiehunter 🎉😃🎉

That we did :) We are stronger than we thought :)

Omg omg omg it's day 50 😘😘😘😘.
It was a fun ride my friends , I feel like I made some good , real connections here.. hehe I love you all very much.

Today's Freewrite

IMG_20180702_233003.jpg

People go crazy for chips , may it be french fries or even potato chips. Well I was like that once ,I could eat anything. My stomach was so giant and I feel like there was a giant living inside of me , hehehehe 😋. But then everything started to go wrong . I could no longer eat anything..no potato , no nothing. Just veggies , that too like certain ones not broccoli or cabbages.. and offcourse can eat chicken sometimes. But money is hard so no chicken haha.

But then again , I really thank God for even letting me become like this you know. Cause if I was like before , with the money I have now , I wouldn't be able to survive , but because I can't eat alot . I can survive. Thank God. God knows everything and he does everything for a reason. I know !! Or else how would I have found steemit and how would I have found you guys... You guys are so much fun. I'm gonna miss this. Again I love you guys ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Great freewrite and selfie!! So glad to have met you all and had so much fun!

Thank you sis 😇 💗 I'm gonna miss you ❤️❤️

bye sweet girl! will miss your funny drawings and happy sis comments. love, eagle

Hehe hi eagle sis 😘 😘 😘 I'm gonna miss you so much , always be you sis 😇 💗 you have made me laugh alot. I love you ❤️❤️

@ashley4u you are so very sweet, and please stay in touch. i really just had a tear come to my eyes with your sweet and kind words. many blessings and hugs to you. i hope you mom is better too. please stay in touch and let's not lose contact. :(

Offcourse sis 😘😘 I would really love that.. oh no I hadn't followed u yet.. I didn't know.. love you sis 😍😍

@ashley4u oh no i might not have followed you too! i'm doing it now!! ;)

I am sorry to hear that you are sick! Hope that the veggie diet will give your body a rest and you get well again. And yes, keep writing with us!! The prompt is here for you every day... And keep the selfies coming. we love them!!

Thank you sis 😇 💗 for these amazing contests 😘😘 love you sis 😍😍

I'm so happy to have mer you here. You're so much fun. I'm going to miss this!

There's always a big picture huh? It was a good adventure this FreeWrite Selfie Party.
Hey, all the best with your exams and if you pulled through the 50 days with everything that was going on, you are going to do just fine 😊❤️

And for My "last" Eagle spirit name list ... I just had to do it!! :p

  1. The lady who emptied the whiskey bottle (even tho it's blue).
  2. The girl who thinks a waterfall is ornate.
  3. Happy chic who can tell time.
  4. That freedom lady that has a lot of fun.
  5. You know, the guy with holy shoes, but he doesn't look so tired anymore.
  6. The Sim - who might need us to help her clean up the bird poopie after that selfie.
  7. Amazing Rose lady, not Grace. Rose. (who's skin we all secretly want.)

That's all folks!

Love,

Your Eagle Spirit
Over and Out

Haha. This is cool description :)

@iamjadeline aww thanks so much, it wasn't flowing too much ... i tried. :)

Hugs you are too sweet. Love you, lady ❤

I love your descriptions of everybody!!

@scribblingramma aww thank you so much, it's just me being silly. i had to stick with the theme. :) mostly bc i just make stuff up all the time. thank you for stopping by and reading.

Hehehe yes number 7 hehehe @wandrnrose7 hehehehehehe

Ikr sis ❤️ , hehe

@ashley4u you crack me up. be well. i'm not sure if you are in school or working or both?

Wow I can't agree more 😍😍😍

Haha I love it!

@freedomtowrite yay thank you freedom girl! hope you are well and you must be super busy!! :)

I don't know to be happy or sad!! A little bit of both. Thank you everyone for this adventure. I had so much fun. You lot are AhMahZing!!!!
I shouldn't have to wear a mask amongst friends... so it's off 😊
Til we meet again.....
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@kaerpediem/freewritehouse-party-day-50-the-chips-are-staked-high
test test.gif

Thank you @pixiehunter ❤️
And we made it!! Yay 🎉😃🎉

I love the last day reveal!!! so cool!!

It was time...
Besides I couldn't get one with me and Erik Estrada haha
Thank you so much @freewritehouse... your Party rocked!! 🎉😃🎉

woohooooo I read your post so saw it there. Woot!

Cheers!!! 🎉😃🎉

Woohoo! I've been dying to see. You're beautiful! <3

hahaha..... well that's my mug!
It was wandrnful partying with you 🎉😃🎉
Thank you @wandrnrose7

Wow ,you are so beautiful sis ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ haha wow now this was how the last day was supposed to be...filled with surprise 😜😜😍😍😘😘

Thank you sweet @ashley4u... 🎉😃🎉

Take off the mask to eat the chips right? Teehee. You are so gorgeous. :)

Now that the party's over right? Now can eat and drink haha
We made it!! Now on to the next party 🎉😃🎉
Thank you @iamjadeline

Nice to see your beautiful face!

Thank you @kimberlylane... 🎉😃🎉

Wonderful! You are beautiful!

Thank you @eroticabian...
It was fun partying with you 🎉😃🎉

OMG!!!!!!! Yay!!! Mask off!!! Beauty!!!

Ola!! Haha... You too cute...
We came, we partied, we conquered!! 🎉😃🎉

Beautiful 😘

Thank you Hero @wonderwop 🎉😃🎉

The mask was great, but the person beneath it is even better! Thanks for letting us see your lovely face!!

The mask needs a break... the feathers have been falling off haha
But here it will remain on the blockchain
Thank you @scribblingramma ❤️😊

Yay! This made me smile!

🎉😃🎉

Cursory reference to chips just to make this freewrite relevant: I just bought some jalapeño chips for my partner while going out and getting a breakfast sandwich. Yep.

IMG_6130.jpg
Sideways as usual!

BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY: I’d just like to say THANK YOU to all of you. @mariannewest convinced me to join this despite having been reluctant, and I thought I would last like, less than five days before giving up on it. Of course, I’m pretty stubborn about following through when I commit to something, even if it’s a commitment that nobody was forcing me to stay in. I had only ever written one freewrite before this. I suppose I determined that I didn’t really have anything to lose by giving it a shot, and maybe I’d make a few more friends.

What came out of these 50 days far exceeded my expectations. First of all, prior to this, I had never really written fiction, save for that one freewrite, and some (appropriately) incoherent childhood attempts. I was under the impression that I just couldn’t do it and that I didn’t have much of a creative brain. I had written a couple of poems in my life, but they seemed like one off efforts in times of distress that basically weren’t replicable. I knew that I was a good writer in the sense that I was good enough to get into and survive the history department at a top tier grad school, and good enough that people would pay me small amounts of money to write articles for their online publications, but conducting and summarizing research was a totally different skill set than creating something out of nothing.

It totally shocked me to learn that YES, I can get out of my comfort zone and create something out of nothing (or, well, something from one word). Not only that, I could do it In 5 minutes (or 10-15, if you count editing and putting in photos and stuff). Not only that, it was actually pretty good by my standards. I would read them and show them to my friends because I was actually proud of them. One of my freewrites was even curie’d, and that felt pretty good. Sometimes I think I might have grand ambitions of like, writing a novel one day, or something. Maybe. We’ll see.

I also made a few new friends whose writing consistently inspires me, and whose comments motivate me to keep going.

In short, despite having had (quite frankly) very low expectations for how this 50 days would go, at least in terms of what I would create from it, and despite having kind of hit a wall at around day 35, and even despite being sick for the last 10 days—so much so that I couldn’t even look at a screen other than to do those freewrites for a couple of days of it—there have been few, if any, experiences that have contributed so much to my creative development.

Sorry to be all cheesy and stuff. Y’all are great. I’ll miss your selfies. I will not miss posting my own selfies.

I feel the same way, that this fifty-day writing experiment gave much more than I could have imagined as far as lighting a creative fire--like it pushed me through some door I avoided opening before.
And, your freewrites were amazing! I nominated your incel post for the Tuesday contest. Not sure what happened, but in my opinion it was stellar. I've even mentioned your piece in conversations with my kids and friends a couple of times ;) It sort of stuck in my psyche and that's what good story telling is all about.

Haha, thanks so much! I really appreciate that! I've been a big fan of your writing too. I didn't want to name names in that but you're definitely among those who have been inspirational for me. That incel story was definitely unplanned all around. I didn't even realize until somewhere around the end of paragraph 1 that it was going to be satire. At first I thought it was going to be something about depression. It's something that could have only come about from being a freewrite!

@kimberlylane
may I use the first sentence in the future as a testimonial?

May I keep this to quote when I start looking to try to get some delegations?

Yes of course!

there have been few, if any, experiences that have contributed so much to my creative development.

Although I felt this way when I discovered freewrites in general here, I have to say that my experience with this particular contest definitely pushed me even further! It's been great getting to know other writers as well.

I also agree that I won't miss posting my selfies! That was a bigger challenge than the writing!

Your commitment here is remarkable, not to mention your freewrite and writing. They are fantastically awesome!!! Stay on with daily freewrite ei? 😉👌

Feel just like you with how some stories came out of nowhere and I'd be surprised at the end of it. There were many times, I stared at a prompt wondering what the hell was I going to do with it, and then at the end I'd be "Oh, ok....hmmmm".
By the way, if you didn't say, I would have thought you'd been doing this for a very long time because you are really good at it.
And we made it, selfie (upside down, side ways, right way up).... cheers! 🎉😃🎉

Congratulations 👏 you selfie #freewriters. I got your back 🙏 It was a pleasure playing this game! Love you all. 😍

@pixiehunter
@kimberlylane
@elizacheng
@freedomtowrite
@svashta
@simgirl
@wandrnrose7

💕😍💖🤩👍👍🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

Loading...

This is soooooo ooo ooo creatively nice.

Oh niceeee!!
A little trivia, the first time I saw the tag FreeWrite was on your post.
It was a poem, and I liked it a lot. Just my frazzled mind can't remember what it was about now, but my heart remembers how I felt haha
So that tag stuck in my head and like LOA the tag started popping up here, there and everywhere
And then we went to a party together
Glad to have partied with you 🎉😃🎉

Awwa that is so nice! I am glad so many people have participated in the freewrite. There is a wonderful community feel of it! I am glad to have partied with you too! I need to get a mask like yours! I love it.

Don't hide your pretty face behind a mask.... but if you are looking to have one on your wall, do get a darker colour... I regretted getting one so light, because the after some time on the wall, the colour did get darker... haha. Trapping all the dust and I live in humid climate... 😊

Well, I guess this is it. Here's the day we learn who sticks around even when the chips are down. Of course @wonderwop is the hero of the team, because talk about chips being down for some people and he swooped in to save them. That was really awesome.

I love how people have pulled together and formed a cohesive team throughout this competition. I joined at first because I thought I'd have a long empty summer ahead of me and I wanted a writing challenge. Instead, I've been busier than I ever expected. It's still my goal to get ebooks published (and I managed to publish one short one AND submitted another to a publisher as well!) but I was kind of feeling uninspired at the time this challenge started. School was almost out and I was ready for ALL OF THE WRITING, but I was lacking the burning passion of it. I was hoping that this challenge would at least get me in the habit of writing.

It not only did that, but it sparked some very good stories and brought some characters to life that I probably wouldn't have come up with otherwise. I'm looking forward to taking those ideas, stories and characters and writing a few full length stories or books from them. I am so thankful for the supportive comments from you guys and for the chance to push myself harder than I would have otherwise. This has been wonderful!

I'm glad that those of us with chips still in the game have made it this far. I'm not sure I even feel like I have chips left, but I'm not a bit fan of chips anyway, how about some cookies instead? I make killer peanut butter sleepy time cookies! I even posted a link to my favorite recipe in my freewrite this past month. You want a hint? Take the best peanut butter cookie recipe, then in the last 5 minutes of baking, add chocolate chips and marshmallows to the top and finish baking. It is AMAZEBALLS.

I actually just took my selfie with my cookies instead of chips, because I actually don't have any chips in this place at all.

50-cookies-selfie.jpg

I want some cookies!!! LOL

Thanks for the recipe tip!

I took on this challenge to get into the habit of writing too and didn't know I had it in me, some of these stories. I surprised myself. And then my husband who is in production, gives me an opportunity to write a short script for a short stage play for his client...
I wonder if he has been secretly reading my freewrites (actually, some stories I am so proud of, I will entice (force) the family to listen to them... haha)

It was a good party, and congratulations on making it to the end 🎉😃🎉

Talent unleashed... 😉

Talent unleashed... 😉

Geez! You guys got all the chips at your house!

Must've been on sale or someone was having a big craving :)

Omg @improv ,I'm really gonna miss how goofy your selfies are..hehehe 😈💗

That is a lot of chips you have there... Really partying with all the chips!

@elizacheng We got a lot as gifts from our English guests, and then they bred.

They bred... LOL...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27