Freewrite Poetry - Recommend a Favorite Poem - Win SBI - Week 2 - Closed

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

YourFavorite (1).png

A Favorite Freewrite Poem

Recommend Freewrite Poetry is our newest weekly event at the Freewrite House.

So many of you are gifted poets and sometimes, we don’t find all the wonderful poems. As always, all of us together are going to be so much better. We see more poems and all of us have different tastes and opinions. We like to hear them!

Win, Win, Win!!!

You Tell Us about your favorite Freewrite Poem for a Chance to Win Memberships in Steem Basic Income.

This week’s sponsors are

@jk6276

@eaglespirit

Thank you so much!!! Each will sponsor one person chosen at random to one share of SBI.

Prizes

  • 1 SBI share sponsored by @jk6276
  • 1 SBI share sponsored by @eaglespirit
  • 2 x 100% upvote from the Freewrite House (at the time of posting ~ 0.14)

We want to make it super easy for you. Your task is to tell us in the comment section about one - or more- freewrite poems of others you have read in the last week you really liked. Not your own!!

Remember the comment must be at least 50 words long - no upper limit!



In an ideal world, you also give that person a nice upvote - but we are not going to check on that.

So, to be entered into the drawing, tell us about a Freewrite poem you really liked and why.



The Rules

This is what you have to do for your chance to win:

  • Find a Freewrite Poem
  • Leave us a comment as specified above
  • The comment must have at least 50 words
  • We will let you know if your comment is accepted and give you a number.

Here are a couple of free word count tools:
http://wordcounttool.net/
https://www.countofwords.com

At 8 PM Pacific time the day after the publishing of this post, we will close the contest and draw the winner through a random number generator. This will give you almost 36 hours to post your comment.

The winner will be announced and sponsored the same day.



Finding a Freewrite Poem

If you are not familiar with the daily freewrite prompt and the many wonderful writers who produce the most amazing 5-minute (or sometimes much longer) Freewrites, go to @mariannewest and look for the prompt. The graphics look like this

Imgur

In the comments, you find lots of links to all kind of Freewrites and Freewrite poems. We are asking the poets to use the #freewritepoetry or #freewritepoetrydigest but not all do. Search high and low for those wonderful poems.

What is Steem Basic Income

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content.

Basically, when you have a share, you get a regular upvote from Steem Basic Income. The more shares you have, the bigger the upvote.

The Latest Freewrite Favorites

Open contests at the Freewrite House:
WE-Write



Join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

Sort:  

I saw @wonderwop had recommendeded the same one. Definitely a great poem.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@whatisnew/day-266-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-copy

@whatisnew beautifully creates this poem to talk about the mockingbird. I marvel at the way she rhymes the sentences. It would take me hours to come out with such a piece. Now I know mockingbird can mimic the sound of car alarm to scare off the robbers. This bird not just sings well, but protects well. Great piece.

Thanks so much for your kind words @iamjadeline! You have brightened my day! : )

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@whatisnew/day-266-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-copy

This week, my featured poem is from @whatisnew. My kitty cat 🐈 wrote about the official bird for the great State of Texas 🇨🇱, the mockingbird. There just happens to be a mockingbird that sings to me everyday, as I make my way to my car. He's camped outside my front door, so if I get to close to his nest, he comes dive-bombing at me until I go away. Great poem kitty cat 🐈.

Thanks Bruni! Mockingbirds are smart and they remember people too, especially those who get too close to their nests. Your are fortunate to have one that greets you every day. : )

For Friday poetry pick, I would like to nominate @tezmel for Broken Shero. https://steemit.com/poetry/@tezmel/broken-shero
There are many who claim to be poets and just as many ways in which to write poetry. The way in which @tezmel writes hooks me at a deep level and agrees with the way in which I prefer to arrange words and play with meanings—for example she takes rainbows and stars with their positive connotations and tears them in two! And scatters them! Shows clouds as suffocating rather than lifting! She lets the reader know she’s poised and proud and strong enough to carry on, but also her underlying feelings of disappointment, hurt and rage are clear and the impossibly unfair sentiment I share, if only I was as good as a man, packs a solid punch.

This poem by our friend @bennettitalia captured my attention with the strong visuals like

Vanquishing his antagonists
With grapevines
Twined through pure white sails
And tall masts
Carefully
Like lovers' fingers
Wet
Slick
Purple
Sweet tasting bloodstains

He uses concise, strong language to pull us effortlessly into his self-described "stream of consciousness" poem relying on the tactile senses, visuals and draws us into the deep emotions driven by this vision.

I chose this poem because it pulls us through the musings of a child, then dips into the emotive experience of adults and leaving us with a taste of beauty at the poems end.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@bennettitalia/wine-dark-a-stream-of-consciousness-poetry-morsel-for-freewrite-263-grapevine

I would like to recommend "Food to the Table" written by @wordymouth. This poem is a reminder of the fruits of our labors and how rewarding it is to have your own vegetable garden. It was the exact same way I felt when I had my garden many years ago and he made me miss it more than I already do. An enjoyable poem!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wordymouth/food-to-the-table

I am not sure if I am in the 36 hour window but no harm in recommending a Free Write Poem anyways 😊

Swirling in our proudly owned chaos
Escape is coveting another’s joy
Step back and you will see there is also loss
For life teases, threatens and plays coy

@iamjadeline looks at both sides
Thoughts and feelings of two kinds
Human and Wildflowers, desires unwind
If only they could read each other’s mind

They can’t read each other’s minds but you can right here at Chasm Between Wildflowers and Human

I'll give a 100% upvote to all the nominees, too! It isn't much, but it all adds, up, right? (P.S. I hope you don't mind, I logged in and changed @eagelspirit, which isn't a real account, to @eaglespirit, the very friendly fellow freewriter that I believe you mean)

Thank you so much. I know her and don't know why I got her name wrong. I must have done it once and then copied from that place... Arghh. And please, correct anytime you see stuff. I am tired half of the time when I post and even when I am fully alert, there are days where I am slightly dyslexic​.

Totally. No problem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34