Week 6/4/2019 - Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

in #contest5 years ago

presents (4).png

A Favorite Freewrite

Every Tuesday, you have a chance to win a membership to Steem Basic Income, SBI, at the Freewrite House.

Try to win one, my friends. An everlasting vote on your posts is nothing to sneeze at.

We want to make it super easy for you. Your task is to tell us in the comment section about one - or more- freewrites of others you have read in the last couple of days you really liked. Yup, not your own!!

The comment must be at least 50 words long - no upper limit 🤪

See the rules below for details.



In an ideal world, you also give that person a nice upvote - but we are not going to check on that.

To be entered into the drawing, go to the Daily Prompt post by @mariannewest. We are doing our best to resteem them to the Freewrite house profile.
Read as many Freewrites as you can. Then tell us about a freewrite you really liked and why.
Choose from the last couple of days if possible so others can go, visit, and, inspired by your description, leave a vote.



Win, Win, Win!!!

You Tell Us for a Chance to Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income

2 Steem Basic Income from the Freewrite House - if you like to be a sponsor - speak up!

2 x 100% upvote from the Freewrite House



The Rules

This is what you have to do for your chance to win a membership:

  • Leave us a comment as specified above
  • Remember, the comment must have at least 50 words

Here are a couple of free word count tools:
http://wordcounttool.net/
https://www.countofwords.com

At 8 PM Pacific time the Thursday after the publishing of this post, we will close the contest and draw the winner through a random drawing tool.

The winner will be announced and sponsored soon after.



Steem Basic Income

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content.



Finding a Freewrite

If you are not familiar with the daily freewrite prompt and the many wonderful writers who produce the most amazing 5-minute (or sometimes much longer) Freewrites, go to @mariannewest and look for the prompt. The graphics look like this


Imgur

In the comments, you find lots of links to all kind of freewrites.



You Can Be Part of the Freewrite House!!

Find out how here Post is past payout, please do not vote on it.



Ol53yrO.png

Make sure to participate in all the fun events at the Freewrite House

Regular Features

  • Freewrite House Adoptee of the Week
  • Steemzuela Ventest - Stories of Venezuela
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite and Win SBI - Tuesday
  • We-Write and win SBI -coming back in the middle of June
  • Freewrite Favorites
  • The Freewritehouse Literary Talent Award - English, German & Spanish - monthly with reminders.
  • Beta Reader Group -ongoing
  • Author Reading
  • Make a House video

Ol53yrO.png

Join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

Join us on Twitter to spread the word about Steem https://twitter.com/FreewriteHouse

Sort:  

I wish I could recommend a freewrite written in German but except for mine, I can not find another one. Kind of disappointing. 😞

So glass bottle is the prompt used for my 1st recommendation.
Some bottles not just lay around in the open. They have a message or even more for the one who finds it. No message in but on a bottle this time.
I ask you kindly to read this post and help the writer, @carolkean, to finally write her story.
https://partiko.app/carolkean/great-western-day-590-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-glass-bottle?referrer=wakeupkitty

The prompt used for my 2nd recommendation is ear phones.
The writer shows us a picture of a great homemade bread with raisins. No, the earphones are not hidden inside and you can not make a call with it either. One thing is clear: it takes time to write and way less if the clock is ticking and there are things to do.
If you know why it is called ear phones or head phones @owasco still waits for an answer!
https://partiko.app/owasco/phone-or,-no-phone?referrer=wakeupkitty

Here it is my 3rd recommendation. The prompt is rule and I only used it in my German freewrite.
After a ride, it is time to relax on the beach. It sounds more like big stress as relaxing time if you ask me.
We all know rules are seldom kept by those who make them or they are stupid or... make you feel stupid. I hope the guy who will be, unexpectedly, involved in the game won't mind.
Read what @freedomtowrite wrote and you know what I am talking about.
https://partiko.app/freedomtowrite/5-minute-freewrite---rule?referrer=wakeupkitty

You nominated my sad little essay - thank you!!! And you would summon a Muse to help me write (finish) the story behind the bottle. ### Thank you!!!

Yes I nominated you!
I should start writing too.
☘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@iamjadeline/carnation-daily-freewrite-prompt-by-mariannewest

I ran across this #freewrite by @iamjadeline on the prompt Carnation while I was delivering our daily prompt this morning. When she started out I thought she was going to write about evaporated milk, and a dessert called "ABC". But being this is a #freewrite she turned it around to bringing carnations to her grandmother's gravesite as a matter of respect. We bring flowers because we miss our parents. I'm just happy they are watching over us everyday! 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

I have three this week:

@ireenchew has a very cool story for the ear phones prompt, about the scene we all know of people in their own world and unaware of what is going on around them.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@ireenchew/5-minute-freewrite-prompt-ear-phones-201964t18027817z

@tristancarax has written a story with a twist and some carnation tea for that prompt. Going to the Nurse's office is never a good thing, but this story has a surprise.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@tristancarax/playground-payback-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday

@wakeupkitty tells about Prince Bernhard of her country who wore a white carnation, and I had to go see the wiki. There he was in the photo with his carnation in place.

@wakeupkitty met him and did not like him, and the wiki info tells me she was on the right track in her belief. This is a very interesting read, and you will probably get side-tracked like me.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wakeupkitty/a-dead-flower-np1bsbsp

Thanks for recommending me 💕☘😘

Posted using Partiko Android

What a beautiful freewrite by @deeanndmathews. She composed music on the piano inspired by a photo that a friend gave to her and wrote about it also. You can listen to her piano piece while reading her story about Tom Soaring who used ear phones and a playlist to go along with the beauty he saw while on a commuter train, refusing to let distractions get in the way. Breathtaking talent all wrapped up in one.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@deeanndmathews/day-592-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-ear-phones

Oh dear, three in a row - well, here goes!
It's fun to see how @kaelci and @blueeyes8960 take the same prompts and hit the ground running, and where the prompts, in turn, take them! A lot of dark turns in this punchy tale - a wise narrator, surrounded by awful people. I love the shift in POV to the man, who judges the narrator, and seems to deserve his lot in life (and yet I feel for him, at the end!).

https://steemit.com/fiction/@kaelci/justanotherdayaweekendfreewrite-7bp9yzb01g

Another poignant tale - I had to look up Toros coleados, and it is not for the faint of heart, those whose hearts cry when animals are cruelly abused-- harmed for sport, even killed, and regarded as disposable. There's a silver lining in this cloud and a sense of family that transcends the evil around us. Thank you for this @isgledysduarte!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@isgledysduarte/freewrite-rodeo

@blueeyes8960 is a polished, professional writer who seems to spin stories effortlessly. This one is full of surprises. Poignant and packed with insight, this is a must-read!

https://steemit.com/weekendfreewrite/@blueeyes8960/unsung-hero-a-3-prompt-weekend-freewrite

My pick is https://steemit.com/freewrite/@carolkean/mom-s-cousin-lenna-the-tart-part-3-or-4-day-591-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-rule.
@carolkean made a 3 part story out of the prompt words and the last was was on the prompt rule. Throughout the three parts she threads it all together with the mention of Mom’s cousin, Lenna. Lenna is different and suffered a breakdown after finding the Skelton of her beloved cat.
Lenna is without email, credit card and pretty well untraceable. It’s a perfect place to go to escape a SOB of a husband.

Aww, thank you so much, @redheadpei!!!
I'm thinking about treating these freewrites as backstory and working it into a novella or novel. Not quite a Thelma and Louise thing, but a woman on the roam. It occurs to me that Thelma and Louise had killed a man and were on the run from the law. I never raise the stakes high enough in my stories. I don't write thrillers. Hence, my frequent plea for a co-author, my prayer for a Muse to come to my rescue. I've bought and read enough How to Write books - I know the formulas, the "How to Put Fire in Your Fiction" tricks (Donald Maas), but it always feels contrived to me. So I'm reading some Dave Berry (yes, the retired humor columnist from the Miami Herald) thinking this is the kind of voice I want to channel. I just need to get Dave to co-author my books!

@botefarm with "The Naked Man" has so many epic lines in this poem!
https://steemit.com/poetry/@botefarm/the-naked-man-a-freewrite-poetry

Oh no, someone stop me! The clock, the deadline, is the only way to slow down this week's mad rush of nominations. But I have to say how much I love not just the story, but the author's aside:
A real deal freewrite, five minutes plus a bit to tidy it up. I swear, even considered and polished piece of mine that gets more than ten votes and a dollar doesn't give me the thrill that writing these babies does. AND I got a new voice exercise to work on my 'k's' with. Bonuses like that only come when I'm really in the flow, no judgment, letting them out.

I suspect "Carnation Caramel Cream Chess Pie" came straight from real life. I love the periwinkle blue vase (an antique, no less!) and the audacity of mixing pink and red. I totally believe he pulled it off. And I love it that you call this one of his superpowers. Now I'm dying for more David who bakes cakes!) and Evelyn (who is going to allowe herself a slice). Will she stop at just one? How else will David tempt her? That pink boutonnière - anything could happen!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/a-church-lady-s-special-day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71