My October Contest. Easy to Win SBD!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

darts102919_640.jpg
Source

Last time I held one of my contests was in September, so I guess it's a monthly one, so far.

It's one of the easiest contests to participate to, and depending on how many other Steemians join the contest and answer the question, it can be such a quick and easy win.

The contest is very simple. I ask a question about Steem, and I expect an answer in the comments below. Any valid comment can be a winner, if the other rules are met (you can see the other conditions below).

In this contest, I want to turn my question into a poll about witnesses, with the following possible answers:
a) I don't know what witnesses are, but I want to learn more
b) I don't know what witnesses are and I'm not interested to know more, I want to use Steemit (or other DApp) without any headaches
c) I have an idea what witnesses are, but I think my vote doesn't matter
d) I voted for a few witnesses, and keep building from here
e) I voted for a few witnesses, but don't know which witnesses to choose from next
f) I set up a proxy for voting witnesses because I trust the proxy account's choices
g) I set up a proxy for voting witnesses because it is a convenient way to delegate this duty away to someone else
h) I voted most of my 30 witness available slots, and I rarely update them
i) I voted most of my 30 witness available slots and update them regularly

All you have to add to your comment is the letter of your case, for example, if you voted for one or a few witnesses, and are building from there, you should comment with letter d). If you want to explain your choice, feel free to do it, but it's not a requirement for the contest.

So, what are the full rules of the contest?

1. Answer the poll question above.

2. Follow @gadrian account.

3. Resteem this post.


Contest Prize: 1 SBD

Every comment (not spam and not bot) will get an upvote as well.


The contest will be on for a few days, to allow more people to comment. At most, it will be over when the payout period for this post is over, but don't count on it, if you want in, join early.

Sort:  

e) My understanding is that the witnesses keep the Steemit blockchain running. They can affect the way Steemit works, but in a limited fashion as the 'mold' is already set by Steemit Inc.

Yes, it's true, witnesses keep the Steem blockchain running. They also fine tune some important settings, like the price feed, fee for creating a new account (or the amount of new accounts that can be claimed without paying the fee), and a few others. Top 20 witnesses also decide if a hardfork occurs or not.

i) I did this by recommends of some members. I did not vote only the top20, because I tried to support lower witnesses too.

Nice! Thanks for your input Norbert!

e) For me it is like voting in the election... if you don't vote you have no right to complain about what is happening! :) So I won;t to make sure those I select get the job done for the Blockchain!

Great attitude! You can't ask if you haven't done your part of the job. But obviously, first you have to know you actually have a job to do, to vote for witnesses. And many have no idea what they are, not to mention vote for them.

I agree... I will have to see if @jongolson is including this in the Steem Savvy training! :)

Yup, that would be a good idea! Simple, as he likes things, but it should be there.

Hey Adrian, thanks a lot for the prize. I enjoy it. Have a nice Sunday.

You're welcome Norbert! It is my pleasure.

And have a nice Sunday too! :)

a, who's a witness?
This is a person adding value to a blockchain platform, also a witness increases the capacity of the blockchain.

Thanks @sleekgene! True, that's another way to put it, although I prefer to say witnesses keep the blockchain running. But they also add value by running or develop useful projects.

Hi @gadrian!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.457 which ranks you at #16510 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 42 places in the last three days (old rank 16468).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #320.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87