5 STEEM giveaway - which witness(es) do you vote for and why ?

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

First up , winners from the last contest :
@rodneysreviews
and
@lillywilton

Your steem will be in your wallets shortly...

About this contest , last time I ran a contest about what you expect from a witness :
https://steemit.com/contest/@itstime/5-steem-giveaway-what-do-you-expect-a-witness-to-do-for-steem

Rules for this contest

  1. Must resteem this post.
  2. Tell me which witness you vote for an why , also tell me who from 20+ rank of witness should I vote for ...

Witness : rankings
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Suggested format:
I vote for

@ausbitbank - he supports the local team australia with centerlink account upvotes , helps maintain a community.
@curie- I have never personally looked into their work but I have only heard good things about them , they manually curate new content creators.
@nextgencrypto - this is @berniesanders witness , he says things that need to be said but noone is willing to say it , most of the times (not always).
@themarkymark - actively fights spam and engages with community.
@therealwolf - runs a bid bot ( promotion service) which is suitable for investors with great customer support , lately has been engaging with community a lot.
@timcliff - very engaging with community , composed guy with patience and answers question from almost everyone , recently ran steemblast campaign.

Who from 20+ rank should I / you vote for:

@utopian-io ( current rank 21) seems like an obvious choice to me since they run so many dev supporting projects.

Sort:  

Well I'm still too new to have researched every witness, but here are the ones I have voted for so far

- Because well, its curie and even a newb like me can see the great work they do

- Didn't take long after joining before I was constantly seeing this name on the platform. The more I read from and about, the more I knew I had to support someone like this.

- Another name you run across very early and frequently as a new user. His dedication and passion to the platform are very obvious and comes through in every post I have read from him. Definitely worth of support

My last vote and one I believe is truly worthy of support is @yehey. Unfortunately he's not in the top 100 to screen shot, but I whole heartedly endorse and support this guy. He runs a little project by himself (@Council) where each day he goes and scouts out new, starting authors, reads their posts and compiles a list of the best new authors he found. He self funds the project with a few thousand SP for voting bot and has multiple witness projects on the go. He states in some of his posts that since becoming a witness he is actually running at a loss to fund his servers and everything else and dips into his own funds to keep things going. Now that is dedication and the kind we need more of around here and in witnesses

Thanks for your entry. .please resteem as well to enter the contest.

@ancientknowled3 Thank you for the mention, that alone is priceless.
Cheers.

Hey @itstime,

I have voted for three Steemians to date.
In order of receiving my vote:

  1. @yabapmatt
  2. @themarkymark
  3. @aggroed

@yabapmatt (20+ rank witness that you should vote for):
Oddly enough, I just listed the reasons why I voted for @yabapmatt about an hour ago (for another contest!). The main reason is:

  • his dedication to being a witness via post updates, technical know-how and genuine desire to make a positive impact here on the Steem blockchain

@themarkymark (20+ rank witness that you've already voted for):
He gained my vote from his amazing proactive approach to seriously helping stop people from getting scammed and taken advantage of. He's sincere in his posts and get things done! WE all need him and I'm pretty sure he's here to stay.

@aggroed(<21 rank witness):
This guy is really good at his job - and I'm not sure it's even his job! lol He has delegated a lot of SP to the Minnow Support Project, which I believe truly creates the "whales of tomorrow". It's dedication to the Steem platform and technically it comes out of his own pocket. @aggroed is also the other half of the Steem Monsters game, which I believe will help boost STEEM as a crypto and help take this platform to the next level. He also hosted a few "witness forums" which were pretty cool to listen to 😃

Lastly... after reading @therealwolf's response in the comments section to you, it tells me a lot about him and his approach. He sounds steadfastly dedicated to the Steem platform and it really shows in his posts as well. I love how straight-forward his message is (e.g. in the most recent blacklisting of that one user that I shan't mention here) and like @themarkymark, he gets right to the point and does something about it. He's like an anti-virus or malware protection app - passively doing what we all need, but most of us don't know about.

Cheers,
OFI-sig.JPG

all great choices...thanks for your response..

Loading...
Loading...

Hey @itstime, thanks for this functional challenge: always a good thing to know who you're voting for an why. The witnesses, especially the top 20, are our politicians, sort of, so it's actually rather important if you care about the future of steemit. A lot of my choices are the result of being part of @helpie and trusting the veterans there :-) But also, after 4 months of being active here I've had the pleasure of meeting some of them in Discord :-)

In general the question is "does this witness have the best for steemit in mind and are they actively engaged with the communities that make up the steemit eco-system?" What "the best" is exactly, is where it can become difficult to make a good or well-thought out choice when you're relatively new to the platform, as the economy can become rather complex if you think about all facets that make up the economy, like the users, the bots, the fake accounts, curation, reward pool, SBD vs STEEM vs SP, bandwidth and voting-power... It can become too much rather quickly for starters. And I'm still a starter:-)

So in my choice I weigh the latter part more, because engagement is something I can actually experience through my own interactions and the interactions from others I interact with. And that's where @helpie comes into the picture: through them I've come to learn a lot about the platform and some of the witnesses. Without @meno inviting me there I don't think I would have voted at all at this stage...

So here's my top 5 in no particular order (I vote for 30, but that would make too long a post):

  • @curie because they are the best curation group I know of on Steemit; everything gets curated manually, which is hard work, and they curate quality posts that are underrated and preferably target beginners on the platform. I owe them a lot personally and regularly see other deserving contributers being nicely surprised, rewarded and encouraged by being "curied" :-)
  • @followbtcnews because @followbtcnews = @crimsonclad. Need I say more? ;-) @crimsonclad will be visiting Steemfest, now if that's not a sure sign of dedication to interacting, I don't know what is ;-)
  • @aggroed because of his long term relationship with @meno, @helpie, PAL and the Minnow support group. Also his Steem Monsters could well prove to be a ginormous boost to the platform if it manages to lure in "outsiders". In any case, @aggroed cannot be omitted in this shortlist.
  • @ausbitbank because I owe @ausbitbank so much, and that's because he backs several curation communities I get regularly upvoted by. Most remarkable is #informationwar, that manually curates posts from steemians that try to write about the truth behind political nonsense and media lies; this is one of the most active groups / communities I've seen and I'm ashamed to have to admit I haven't even visited their Discord yet...
  • @yabapmatt because he is the other mind behind Steem Monsters and the creator of Steembot Tracker.

But you know what? There are so much good people active on Steemit that it's almost impossible to choose between them; that's why my voting list is full already. For me, as someone who himself can't be active every day besides producing one post per day, it eventually comes down to what you read and what you hear on Discord from the people you trust, so here are some others:

@c0ff33a
@therealwolf
@themarkymark
@pfunk
@utopian-io
@ocd-witness

And when / if @helpie decides to start as witness, I'll just have to make room for that one ;-)

Thanks for detailed response...

I think @helpie just started a witness...@meno can you confirm ?

@zyx066
Please resteem as well to enter the contest..

done :-)
sry for the oversight...

it's all good man..

Here are my list of witnesses that you might consider following:

  • @c0ff33a because i am able to reach him in discord and in the platform. He is very active that he cares a lot for the small fishes. He may be a busy man, but he aint busy joining in the comments in most of engagements and posts. And lastly, he widely supports a lot of communities here especially the @welcomewagon

  • @steemgigs because #ULOG was the first tag I used and still using up to now, they support users by upvoting & resteeming their post. now their community have gotten bigger & bigger.

  • @good-karma because he developed the first app i mostly used, the esteem app. He constantly supports its user and provide apps both in mobile and desktop for better usage.

  • @yabapmatt because im a steemmonster addict! 😁

This is just my opinion, i’m basing it with my experience with these people. Hehe ✌🏻

Thank you for your entry. .

"winners from the last contest :
@rodneysreviews"

It was a great fun contest. Just wanted to say thank you.

Thank you. :)

I invite you to participate in this one as well...this one is actually more imp for STEEMians...

My witness vote is for @surpassinggoogle who is the creator of ulogs.org. He helps people who creates post on ulogs.org and vpvote them. He is a mentor to all of us. His guidelines and inspiration is really helpful for us lie minnow. Anyway thanks for your contest.

Is that the only witness you vote for..you can vote for multiple people..

My vote is for @yabapmatt who is the progenitor of STEEM monsters. He is also a post promoter of those with original contents.

Vote for @timcliff 'cos he is ready to assist the the whole community
Thanks very much for the contest

Are these the only 2 witnesses you vote for..you can vote for multiple people..

I won't list them all, because i vote for 30 of them, but I'll start with the first ones I voted for.

@aggroed & @ausbitbank - because they started minnow support group palnet, and PAL has been crucial not just for my personal development. But for finding people who today I call friends.

The radio shows, the hangouts, the fun is second to none. This whole thing would not mean as much as it does without PAL.

@pfunk - because he has been the longest supporter of the #openmic competition - which needless to say is the most successful contest on steem to date.


Those were my first three votes, but it was a good start, I think.

Thank for your entry Meano...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17