The Old Dog Demonstrates: Sometimes Details Matter!

in #contest5 years ago

As I travel about I love to stop and ponder the details that surround me because there is always more than one way to do something. Sometimes cheap, utilitarian and short term is chosen and other times long lasting beauty is preferred.

Is a Road Just To Be Driven or Walked On?


Sometimes a road is just a road while at other times it's a feature, something that gives pleasure to the eyes. It can also be art!

Here Are a Few Recent Examples That I've Seen



Take a look at this road which graces the entrance to the town of Tremona in Ticino Switzerland




Check out the attention to detail here:

  • First we have the new stone wall which encloses a parking garage that is ingeniously hidden and  harmonizes with this ancient town.
  • Next there is  granite border which contains the raised shrubbery.
  • The "roughness" of the cobblestone road is then broken up by the smooth granite paving slabs which offer a quieter drive for passing cars.
  • In the far right corner you can see that the round service access panel  is barley seen as it is also covered in cobblestone paving.


There is no doubt that asphalt and cement would do the same job at a much lower cost but is cheaper always the better solution? Can you see how the detailed approach here is in perfect harmony with this quaint old village?


In this example in the town of Desenzano di Garda again there is a lot of attention to detail.



Check out these details:

  • In the top right we see a ring of pink marble around the sewer grate
  • That ring is then bordered by another ring of stones in various colors
  • Next comes a semi-circle of fan shaped pink marble
  • The fanned marble is then bordered with a double row of stones and surrounded by various pink granite paving stones.


What Beautiful Details Have You Seen Lately?


Details add interest and spice to life.  A road isn't always just a road but it can also be art. What details have caught your attention recently? I'll reward the best one(s) with some Steem but please show me YOUR original photos!


If you like contests and would like to see more of them here on the Steem Blockchain please consider upvoting my post. 


Thanks for following me on my travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you.  



Until next time,           


@kus-knee (The Old Dog) 

Lets' Succeed Together! 

Sort:  

While visiting Mundesley on the south-west coast of England i've come across some wavebreakers (if that's the right word); and that's the place/object:
DSC03299.jpg

And that's the detail:

DSC03282.jpg

And more detailed:

DSC03280.jpg

Looks almost like an art installation!

That's a great example of observing details! I love it!

These are cool close-ups! I usually go for insects or flowers when it comes to macro photography but let me show you something I snapped in the Guel Park, Barcelona :)

IMG_20160414_083454.jpg

Fabulously interesting!

Attention to detail made me think of this photo. You can't tell what is three dimensional, and what is painted to look like it. austria-1.jpg

So much to take in!

I do hope they have a more practical entrance to their town. LOL I totally love the artwork of stone and may even be afraid to walk on it, I have seen a little bit of that here but wish it were done more. Money stops them. So does a lack of pride in our community in that way. We do however have decorated walks in certain areas. I suppose also folks may be afraid of falling if you are a senior or limited. You should have another art contest on photos like this. Thanks @kus-knee.

I enjoyed your comment. After spending my first 35 years in Canada I do see a big difference regarding the attention to road details here in Europe.

If you like beautiful art like this, you should visit Mexico and theirs amazing piramides of Maya. Everything there is just WOW. I can't even imagine how people could make something like this in such time.

IMG_20190307_233420.jpg

Great example. Thanks!

Where's the graffitti?

I'm glad to report that I didn't see any. Not even any gum which can be a BIG problem!

What's the secret then? Graffiti is rampant world wide. It is even appearing on the sides of churches and historic monuments these days, and in what were once gorgeous aesthetically pleasing neighborhoods. Does Switzerland have the death penalty for graffiti barbarians?

18160892_649710248557093_8752383754216931328_n.jpg
Great contest! Here is my entry: it is a close-up of a bench on the main square in Valladolid, Mexico, with the Valladolid Cathedral in the background.

Lots of details there!

Oh yes @kus-knee, the roads in my country are different from what I saw on your photos and this is real road art!

Yes I agree!

I love your invitation to pay attention to details, @kus-knee: I will treasure your example!

A huge hug!
@amico

Hi @amico!

  • you have 137 units and 510 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 2565629001088 or 1.567 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.313 $


    Did you know Steem Basic Income has a Quality Policy?

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75