The Old Dog Presents: The What in The World is That Contest!

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

There it was hanging on the wall but what in the world was it? It was just Item X to me!

I asked the proprietor and so I have the answer but do you?

This Will be a Fun Community Building Contest!


Last week @lellabird60 and I visited her elderly aunt in the Veneto on our way back from Abano Italy. We took her to a lovely old restaurant/tavern that was decorated with all types of antique tools. Some of them were fairly easy to recognize but  to me, one stood out!


I looked and pondered but I had no ideas as to what it was for. Do you know? I call it Item X



here you can see item x in context with many other items


Several Fun Ways to Win


I'm not just look for the correct answer regarding what it is and what it is used for but there are several ways to win a prize.

  •  2 Steem to the first to correctly identify what item x is used for
  •  2 Steem to the best plausible fake use 
  •  2 Steem to a funny fake use
  •  Nice upvotes for any good reply from over 57,000 Steem power!
  • The contest closes once the post pays out!


Thanks for following me on my travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you. 

Until next time,  

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)     

Let's Succeed Together!


Sort:  

It is like a device for sealing sleeves or hunting cartridges.

You got this right and I didn't see it. I already sent 2 Steem to @sliviabeneforti so what I'll do is give you a 100% upvote which is worth even more! OK?

Thank you very much @kus-knee!

A sequential beer bottle opener!

If it's for beer I would be excited!

Ho pensato lo stesso XD

è un vecchio carica cartucce!!! It's an ancient tool to close the cartridges for shotgun! ^_^

How did you know that? Very good you got it! You're the winner of 2 Steem. Hold onto them because they'll be worth $10 each in a year or so! :)

The others still have chance to win with a funny answer and a fake answer!

Watching the pic I tried to image how to use it and I understand that it was for a little cylindrical object. The first thing I thought that people use in Italy in the ancient time that had a similar form were the cartridges and so I remember a similar tool I watched in the village where I was born ;) Thans so much, dear Old Dog, it was funny to partecipate and to remind the old tools I saw in my childhood! ^_^

Reasoned out like an artist, detective and a historian!

Brava mamma XD IO e vanni si pensava ad un apri bottiglie :P @Kus-knee my mum is smarter than me and my bf we look at it and we think about something to open bottles XD We are too young maybe :P

During the Inquisition, the victims were first shown the "Iron Maiden" and told "look, even if you survive this, just look what you will face next:"
Torture instrument46aP2QbqUqBqwQ9YUnw4kSYp4ZTDkhdYB7pxPxkRCyNogZuEfPGVRhLYjsYWtbnYTqyju7oTYoscQKH8vEafrMdHALBG.png

then they were shown that thing on the wall (above) and told: "so you better 'fess up now and we will just hang you without any further "inquiries".

Good use of imagination. Well played!

Do I use my imagination? Or does my imagination use me? Therein lies the rub :-)

I sense an internal struggle.

Imagination makes a wonderful servant, but a dangerous master :-)

That's a spy item used in the wold war 2 used to spy the Russians and detect airplanes and submarines. You can see the parabolic antenna at the top.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good one. Interesting and funny!

It seems to me that this tool:
Option 1 - for unlocking walnuts.
Option 2 - for husbands who have committed cheating.

Good guess and funny guess!

Your 2nd answer is mind blowing

Posted using Partiko Android

The advantage of being delayed ... I read some responses but I stopped after that of @onceuponatime. I understand that I will not know the true purpose of Item X.
I also stopped myself from being influenced by the opinions of others ... so I apologize if anyone else found the same use.
I believe the device, which resembles a detonator, was used in ammunition factories. It checks if the projectiles work!

Hold the vise by a support, place the projectile in the holder and then pull the lever with power.

This reminds me of a joke: A man was walking through a village and shouting that he castrated horses. A villager, interested in this, asked him how he did.
The man tells him: Put the "objects" between two bricks and hit one another with power!
Oh, says the villager ... but does not hurt?
The man answers: Yes, only when I catch my fingers!

Good submissions thanks!

It is a kitchen device.

It is of the type peeler/corer.
You put the item in between, and then turn the crank (shown on the right) while pushing the cutter in from the left.

I believe @ammonite is correct, that it is for dekernalizing corn.
I can think of any other long skinny vegetables.

Maybe it was to core zucchini, but i don't know what use that would be.

Yes they would have to be very skinny. Nice try and thanks for playing along!

I would say that this is a coffee grinder, but I doubt it. In any case, this is an old thing that costs a lot of money

Can you come up with something?

Is it used for patients who are tying to regain their dexterity in opening knobs and twisting things?

That's a good one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77