A Contest for Artists, Poets, Writers and Creative Types - 50 STEEM+ in Prizes

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

In the hopes of drawing more attention to the universe I am in the process of creating, I have decided to run a contest for artists, poets, writers and any other creative types who would like to enter.

The goal of the contest is simple;

Create something, anything, to do with the world of Manaia.



It could be a piece of art; from a castle to a church or temple, a landmark to a mountain range or river from in Manaia, or even a person or a weapon. It could be a piece of writing; from a poem about a location or an event in history, to a short story or opening chapter of a novel. It could even be song lyrics or a piece of music, as long as it is inspired by and has some sort of basis in the world of Manaia. Essentially, anything goes.

Do not allow my imagination to limit yours.


Rules


  • You can make no more than three entries per account.
  • All entries must utilise #manaia as the primary tag.
  • Share a link to your entries in the comment section of this post.
  • Though I will not be checking, I ask that you resteem this post.
  • All entries must be posted by 11PM UTC on July 1st 2019.
  • Enjoy yourself, and be friendly with other participants.

Prizes


  • My favourite entry will receive 25 STEEM.
  • My second favourite entry will receive 15 STEEM.
  • My third favourite entry will receive 10 STEEM.
  • If there are a lot of entries, and if I find more deserving, I will try to offer smaller prizes to a number of runner ups.
  • There is almost a month of time to participate offered, so if I am able to acquire more funds in that time period, the prizes may increase.

What is Manaia?

Manaia is a free-to-use universe for authors and creators, and the set of the upcoming fantasy series, Sons of Gods.




Manaia is a fictional world which I am in the process of creating and enriching. My intention is for this world, as it evolves, to serve as a free-to-use universe for authors and creative types who are looking for inspiration, but who lack the time or even the will to go the lengths of creating an entire world.

Any are permitted to use Manaia as a springboard for their creative projects, short stories or novels, and needn't worry about me tracking them down to sue them for it. While it would be great if any who did make use of the world directed their readers back to this blog, it is not by any means mandatory and I will take enough pleasure knowing that my creation was able to spark the imagination of any fellow authors.

Above is the current version of the map, but I do intend to add a lot more to it as I progress. I also intend to write more about the cities, religions, key-characters and landmarks, and also to create a proto-language for the world and derive from it several distinct and entirely unique languages for the different cultures to be found in Manaia.

You can familiarise yourself with the world by making use of the following links;



Explore Manaia

Euchao, Wetlands, Aneyes, Shevarah, Kafa, Primeria, Karadam, Zarakash, Agamar, The Alochian Kingdoms, Kazemi, Sobanism, Decideism, Gavaho, Shipeva, The Switchery, Sin Tax, Keepership, Amanism, Peresi, Anakai, Firee, Zeerah, Beerah, Dayre, Merkh, Devil's Pit, Keren, Sherishemi, Navasa, Knash, Echrem, Methusa and Mangho, Shamah, Gramar, Heir, Orzo, Chao, Yazira, Siya, Forks, Encoded Message, Darago, Sofar, Zanach, Kaum, Slaekin - The Destroyer.



If you have any questions about the contest or Manaia, please feel free to ask. Also, though the contest will end on the 1st of next month, I do not yet know how many entries there will be, or what form those entries will manifest themselves in, so please allow me some time after the closing of the contest to review all entries and select the winners. Hopefully by that point, the price of STEEM will also be considerably higher too.


Thanks for reading, and good luck to all participants.



DIGITAL PAINTBRUSH RESOURCES
https://www.deviantart.com/morraey/art/Map-Brushes-449750567
https://www.deviantart.com/captscott/art/Fantasy-Brush-Pack-01-191047320
https://www.deviantart.com/charfade/art/The-Ultimate-Grass-Brush-Set-108728221
https://www.deviantart.com/larrydnjr/art/larrydnjr-Tree-Brush-Set-24927418
https://www.brusheezy.com/brushes/1312-complete-tree-brush-pack
https://www.cartographersguild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=49


Follow @lordless.exile to keep up with the evolution of the world of Manaia

Sort:  

Cool, I had an idea similar to this, to start a crowd-sourced campaign world.

No reason you cannot still do it! Would likely turn out very different from Manaia.

That's really great. It looks like the beginning of a TV show about Manaia. It even appears that you used the very same font that I searched for some time to find.

Thanks for your entry.

Yes, it's the same font used in the map if you look.

=). For your information: It is not resteemble after 1 week post published.

Very good point. Thanks for reminding me.

Cool idea! I'm not sure if it would be appropriate for me to try to enter or not? But at the very least I'll give it a resteem and I shared it on the IFC discord as well. :) Hope it goes well!

Why would it not be?

And thanks a lot for that. It seems to have helped as received an entry soon after.

Sorry for the super delayed response.
To answer your question I thought it may not be appropriate because I've been talking with you behind the scenes on discord in regards to how we could work together in regards to the IFC and your virtual world and just thought it might be kind of weird if I was playing in the contest because of that, but then I thought you're playing in the IFC, so... What's the problem or conflict of interest? We should be able to play in each others worlds. Why not?
Anyways.. Sorry I missed the contest, I got super overwhelmed and I was hoping to submit something but just checked and I missed the deadline by a bit. If you do another contest in the future I'll try my best to enter!
Oh and I also wanted to mention that you tied in an IFC round, here's the link to the tiebreaker round if you have the time and desire to play.
https://steemit.com/contest/@ifc/ifc-s2r7-results

PS You're welcome for the resteem. I hope it did help!

Am I too late to enter the tiebreaker?

No. You're not too late. I made the deadline 3 weeks and it's been a little over a week since it started I think? So you probably have around a week and a half left.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.

You should get in contact with contestkings- get some marketing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was not familiar with the blog. Thanks for the suggestion. I will do that now -

Hello @lordless.exile, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16