Winner announcement: Puzzle me this, puzzle me that. Can you catch up or not?

in #contest6 years ago

Puzzle me this, puzzle me that. Did you catch up or not? 😛

Before announcing the winner, we certainly need to know the answer and understand how it is derived.

Recall the puzzle to be finding the missing number on the lower right corner of the middle pentagon. Let us call each pentagon A, B and C respectively.

image.png

If you noticed, the numbers in pentagon B are end-results of a formula for numbers in pentagons A and C. Here is how it worked with samples.

  1. Multiply the numbers on the same corners of pentagon A and C. (8 x 3 = 24)
  2. From the product, subtract the number on pentagon A. (24 – 8 = 16)
  3. From the difference, add the number on pentagon C. (16 + 3 = 19)
    The resulting sum is the number on the same corner of pentagon B. (19)

Basically, the formula is;
B = A x C - A + C

So to find the value of X;
X (B) = 7 x 2 - 7 + 2
          = 9

Thus 9 is the missing value.
riddle answered.jpg

@softwaricho and @romeliagarcia got the correct answer with logical explanations as to how they derived their respective answer. Since there are two of them, drawing of lots is not necessary. I just tossed the coin - head for @softwaricho and tail for @romeliagarcia.

And my magic peso says...

Tail!

The first prize of 1 SBI share goes to @romeliagarcia! Congratulations! Very well done! 👏

Just for reference, here is the head of the coin.

But @softwaricho's effort will not go unnoticed. Here is 0.5 SBD for the second prize! Congratulations too! Good job! 👏

And for the bounty? It was a miss on my part. I was waiting until near the payout closing so I can upvote even if there are last-minute catchup but I was the one who eventually missed the cutoff. A lesson learned... 🙃 Anyway, the bounty less 10% was returned (1.8 SBD) so I will equally distribute to the following four folks who I think have contributed good engagement through their comments.

@softwaricho, @romeliagarcia, @iamthegray, @freedomshift

Great engagement and participation, everyone! Thank you and see you on the next posts... 😃

Now, it's party time!
🎉 🎈 🎊 🎆 🔆 🤡


Unless different source is cited, all photos and graphics I post are mine. Either I took the photo or I created the graphics through photo editing tools.


Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

howdy there macoolette! hey I must have missed this contest thing because I have no idea what this is or what it's about! haha but that's cool, good to see you here!

Try to join next time...😊

Thanx. It was really fun.

You did a good job. You're welcome. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62