Let’s Play a GamesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest5 years ago

Alright Sherlock, what can you deduce about me using one image? Now’s your chance to show off your powers of reason.

Rules of Entry

  • Must upvote this post
  • Post a single comment with as much as you can reason out about me below.
  • Host your own Sherlock challenge (rewards up to your discretion)
  • Thats it!

Prize

3 STEEM

Here’s the image.

EAAD1F37CD9A4D2F8586D7DE288D4086.jpeg

Good luck and have fun!

~ Mako

Sort:  

Like @mimismartypants said, you're driving slowly, but 40 mph isn't quite as slow as 40 kph ;) so you did not write this post while driving. Because you're on the right hand side of the road, your wheel is on the left side of the car, and your dash is in mph, you're almost certainly in the US, I'd say California, because this looks like a typical low traffic highway in CA. You are outside any city, but on your way back to civilization, probably after a walk or hike. It is evening, probably between 4:52pm and 5:19, judging by the time of year and the blockage of sunlight due to the hills. Your car's year is from the 90s or 2000s and is probably a small SUV type if you're returning from the outdoors. It either needs servicing or you were driving quite a bit faster immediately before snapping this photo or driving for a long time, judging by the temperature gauge. You drive a lot, mostly for work, but also love your road trips, accompanied by good music. You're listening to music now, but most likely have just turned the volume down temporarily to concentrate on taking the photo. You are most likely alone in the car or your passengers are busy or sleeping.
Your slow pace either means you're being careful for the photo or not from this area originally, I'd say both :) also, you stopped at gas station within the last 30 minutes, which means you may still be munching on some tasty snacks if this is a road trip. If this is a common/daily route for you, no snacks ;)

I'll work on my post later, @suitcasemama and I are contending with a newborn who is running the schedule/house these days ;)

This is the kind of reply I was hoping for! Very in depth and thought out. I won’t tell you what’s right and wrong yet, but you’re in both categories ;)

Can’t wait to see yours!

~ Mako

I'll try to come up with a photo, I really like the idea for a post! I'm struggling to come up with a prize though, as I'm busy saving up for a huge 20 Steem prize for an ongoing Steemit Survivor Contest I'm running :) I'll think of something though!

Woweee!! Yoh went really deep there!!

Posted using Partiko Android

@eoj your comment was by far the most detailed and the winning comment. Here are the points you got correct:

  • I'm in the US
  • I'm in California
  • The car is from the 2000s
  • The car is a small SUV type
  • The car probably needs servicing (I've got to look into why it constantly runs at that heat.)
  • I drive a lot.
  • I love road trips accompanied by good music.
  • I was listening to music at the time of the photo.
  • I had turned down the volume to take the photo.
  • I was alone at the time of the photo.
  • I stopped at a gas station within the last 30 minutes.

You should be receiving your 3 STEEM shortly! Thanks for playing :)

~ Mako

Great, thanks so much @makowrites!!! Great idea for a game, it was fun running my own too. Which reminds me, I think I need to crown a winner for my post as well!

You are driving slowly, about 40km/h. Took the image and created tge post while driving. So you made it short and sweet. Also its getting dark abd you need to get to your destination!

Posted using Partiko Android

2/3, not bad for the first person! Thanks for participating 🙂

~ Mako

I'll take it!! Lookw like im in the lead as well!! Lol!! Will resteem now so you can maybe get some more traction!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Make sure to post your own at some point too!

~ Mako

Oh shit!! I will get on that tomorrow!! I totally forgot about it!! Thanks for the reminder!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I did in fact take the image and make the post while driving, and I was driving slowly to do so.

Thanks for playing!

~ Mako

I knew it!! I am slightly clairvoyant!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay - I haven't looked at any of the other answers... I'm just looking at the picture...

Oldish car (200k miles on it) with a full tank of gas. Windshield might need cleaning, though that's less likely if the driver just left a gas station.

40 mph, low revs, so a lowish gear, probably 3rd gear, dropped a bit for the curve ahead. Radio on, but not too much volume. Not likely to be a traffic report though.

Driving on the right, American lane markings... in the countryside somewhere, steep bank on the right, lower on the left, perhaps a river to that side. This is made more likely by the possible swarm of moths coming from that direction. (or is that dust on the windshield?)

Of particular interest is the glowing object up ahead. I think it's just a reflector on a post to show the direction of the curve ahead (which bends softly enough to be completely manageable at 40, even if you're unfamiliar with the road.) However, the glow could also be a deer ready to jump across the road - and they are rarely alone, so I would consider slowing down a bit further due to the possibility of there being deer - at least until I could be certain what that object was.

We are at twilight (or early dawn), so if there are deer in the area, they are of greatest risk about now.

The sky is clear.
The woods are deciduous and some trees are not fully-leaved, so it's late spring, I think. I would suggest this photo is likely to have been taken somewhere in the midwest of the US - south of the line of the pines and evergreens, but north enough to have a distinct set of seasons.

Oh, there's also some sort of pull off to the left, perfect for a weary driver or a carsick child... (or someone who can't make it to the rest area!!)

I think that's all I'm going to give you this time.

Fun challenge - maybe I should see what others have said now.

Thanks for participating! Can’t wait to have a go at yours! Let me know when it’s up :)

~ Mako

I will aim for my afternoon post for tomorrow... Now to figure out what and where to feature...

Hello @viking-ventures!

Here's the points you nailed:

  • Oldish car
  • Windshield needs cleaning
  • 3rd gear
  • American countryside
  • Early dawn (we'll count that)

Creative guesses on a few other things but unfortunately @eoj had you beat on details. Thanks for playing!

~ Mako

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mako from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31