Spirit of the Forest mask for Steemmonster Art Contest

in #contest6 years ago

mask1aa.jpg

mask4aa.jpg
Here is what you need to make Spirit of the Forest Mask.

Half face plastic mask ( I used my old thin plastic mask)
Masking tape
Wax paper
Cooking spray
Glue gun Black, green,yellw and gold acrylic paints.

I reinforced my thin plastic mask with masking tape , then I attached pieces of wax paper to the mask using the same masking tame.
mask process2.jpg

mask process3.jpg
Last think you need to do is to apply thin coat of oil from cooking spray on the wax paper and wipe it of a little bit . Oil would not give glue to stick to the wax paper and you will have easy time to pill it off. Now will be a good time to start playing with glue gun.
mask process4.jpg

mask process5.jpg

mask process6.jpg

When glue is dried out you can pill of you mask from the wax paper and it will be ready to paint.
mask process7.jpg

Paint your mask with black acrylic paint first. ( You can use spay paint but it will have very strong odor for indoor craft)
mask process8.jpg

mask process9.jpg

Now you will be ready to ad more colors
mask process10.jpg

mask process11.jpg

and here it is all painted and ready for the party. Do not forget to attach the string to the mask!
mask process12.jpg

mask process1.jpg

mask1a.jpg

Thank you for reading and have fun with your steemmonsters craft ideas !

Here is the link for contest.
https://steemit.com/contest/@steemmonsters/steem-monsters-kickstarter-boss-fight-art-contest-week-14-15-booster-pack-prize

Sort:  

That's pretty impressive. There's a lot you can do with some glue and acrylic paint (and sometimes craft foam or cardboard). Did you use varnish afterwards?

You really got all those nice hues and tones in there with the paint ;) I like it.

I love to do experiments like this, it gives me a lot of positive energy and joy. I do not use any varnish on the mask because of smell and I did everything indoor .

That makes sense. I have a fan that I keep handy when I varnish crafts. In the Winter, I'll still open the patio door to let air from outside in and I try to let things air out on the balcony otherwise. The fan comes in handy for the smell for smaller crafts, even if I buy odorless varnish. Smell or no smell, it's still a chemical that we're breathing in.

I over did varnishing my project one time and burn my throat and nose with varnish vapors. After this unfortunate event I am avoiding spray varnishes

I understand. I had a reaction to varithane varnish that I put on wood last year. I put it if it'S necessary now.

Thank you very much!

This was neat, making a custom mask is a cool home project thanks for sharing.

You are welcome. I am glad you like it

You made it look like anyone could create one but I know it would probably take me hours (days?) if I tackled this project. It’s really cool!

Thanks ! It just looks like it very hard to make. Only hard part is to press trigger on glue gun and do not burn yourself with hot glue.

Congratulations @marinaart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @marinaart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations @marinaart! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @marinaart! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71