"Tell My Story" Contest Winners! + Post Mortem on my first contest

in #contest6 years ago

garageTitle.jpg

Well the time has come and the votes are in. Overall I'm pretty happy with the turnout. I really enjoyed reading everyone's stories and appreciate everyone that participated and voted. So without further ado,

First Place: @oma25 Wins 10 SBD!

@oma25's story revolved around a man with a debilitating disease trapped in his own body. A bit of a loose connection from the image, but an interesting read nonetheless. Congrats @oma25!

Second Place: @bashadow Wins 5 SBD!

@bashadow was the first story submitted and one I really enjoyed. It has a strong connection to the image and feels like the start of something epic. Congrats @bashadow!

Third Place: @pyemoney Wins 3 SBD!

@pyemoney's story was s treat to read, it reminds me of the early days of sci-fi, like the original Star Trek, or things made around that time. She even made an awesome trailer!

Honorable Mentions

My personal favorite story was by @cyemela. It had me hooked from the first paragraph and I can tell instantly that @cyemela knows a lot about storytelling. Check out his story here.

After that my second favorite was @mudcat36's story "Captive". @mudcat36 managed to quickly craft an entire world that we're dropped into, and instantly feel like we're a part of. A really engaging bit of storytelling. I hope you'll check out their awesome work here.

So as a surprise and a thank you for the effort to my two favs I'll be sending you guys each .5 STEEM for the awesome work! Congrats! :)

Final Thoughts

So as I mentioned I'm happy with the turnout of stories, but after the contest started I realized there's not much of an incentive to get the public to come and read all these stories and judge. So on the next go around, I'll either be the judge or enlist a panel of judges.

Also, I didn't realize how little SBD we're getting these days, next time I'll make the prizes in STEEM instead.

Other than that I hope you all had fun. I'm definitely going to do this again, so be sure to follow @midlet to stay tuned. Not 100% sure when the next one will be, but won't be too long. That's about it, CONGRATS to the winners! I'll see you all on the next go round!

Sort:  

Congratulations to all the winners and thank you for the opportunity @midlet. Good to see the rule changes for future contest.

I want to thank you. I had a blast, had that little story just pop in after reading your post, so I had to run with it. Funn that, cause I am not much of a writer, steemit is some of my very first writing I have done outside of High School book reports and the odd write a story for english class. So a lot of fun is being had by me on steemit, thanks for the opportunity.

Congratulations to all winners. Your stories were a great read! Thanks @midlet for this opportunity! Definitely looking forward to other art to write a story about.

Your article is very good, my game is very fun. https://goo.gl/Dd9394

Congrats to the winners!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86