Engine Rebranding + 80 STEEM Contest!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

Recently I found out that a fairly large (not announced yet) project by some key players in Steem has a very similar project name to Engine. I've talked to the devs and I've agreed to rebrand Engine to fix the naming conflict.

___.png

I've agreed to rebrand Engine to fix the naming conflict.

I'm now taking this opportunity to create some engagement and allow you to participate even more in Engine (soon to be renamed)'s future.

I'll be giving away a total of 80 STEEM to anyone who can come up with a good name for the currently named project Engine.


Some quick rules about the naming:

  • Must not include D, Steem, or coin in the name.
  • Must not have the same (or similar) name to a preexisting website, product, project, etc. (e.g. nothing like DTube or Steemit)
  • You don't have to integrate the name directly into the project (like Tron doesn't represent a smart contract social media network), but maybe have some relationship (e.g. Ethereum, Engine).

Some names that are great -- what I might accept if they didn't already exist:

  • Ethereum
  • Engine
  • Enigma
  • Amber
  • Stellar
  • Tezos
  • Augur
  • etc. (this are some names that already exist, I just remembered them off the top of my head).

And some background information:

Engine adds multiple features such as Non-Fungible Tokens to Steem by creating a semi-sidechain/semi-shard that handles transactions on top of, but also independently of the Steem blockchain. Here are some more links to details about Engine: https://steemit.com/steem/@shredz7/how-engine-works https://steemit.com/steem/@shredz7/announcing-engine-bring-agility-to-steem-development

How to Participate


You can submit as many names as you want -- in fact you are encouraged to submit a large amount. Having more will just increase your chances of winning so feel free to give me 100 different names (though I think that's enough :)).

To submit your names, just write them out in a reply to this post before payout and you will be eligible for winning the 60 STEEM name prize!

Write a comment with a list of names you can think of and if one of your ideas is chosen you will receive 60 STEEM as the prize.


There's also a sub-prize for resteeming! If you resteem this post and write a reply saying that you did, you will be entered into a random pick for one resteemer to earn 20 STEEM!

Resteem this post and write that you resteemed in a comment and you will be entered into a raffle for 20 STEEM!


Note: If no name is actually used -- no name wins -- the 60 STEEM name prize will not be distributed BUT the 20 STEEM resteem prize will still be distributed.

Join the Discord to talk about all things Engine, steem-state, etc. and receive notifications about the latest updates to Engine!

Sort:  

How about the name Bryeum , Embreum, Pyreum , Einstellar, Feuratreum, Estratr, Eincizer, Caeleo, Worbr, Seraphael

I think should go for non-existing words type Names

Hmm... seem to be modeled after Ethereum and Stellar. I’m trying not to echo any other existing technologies or projects but I think these could be good. I do agree that non-existent words (modeled after real words) work well, such as Ethereum, and maybe even Steem.

Avxism, Wakadomr

爱冰 IceLovr

Succezz , hyprbus

Oh okay, well, the reason a lot of mine have the -eum suffix is because the dApp performs layer 2 Ethereum-like functions for Steem, so you might not like most of my ideas. But you can take Caboose to the bank! That's a definite winner...

I definitely like caboose... but still not sure. I don't like the -eum suffix; that's what a lot of people have been doing, because it's reminiscent of Ethereum and in the rules it says:

Must not have the same (or similar) name to a preexisting website, product, project, etc. (e.g. nothing like DTube or Steemit)

Oh wow, we had some similar ideas, I was thinking of "emblem" and put down Embleum

I’ve always thought Pneumatic made sense for something Steem driven and sounds kind of cool. It could be intentionally misspelled or spelled phonetically for ease or style.

I just discovered that an informal alternate definition is apparently, “ having large breasts” so that’s a bonus! Perfect marketing campaign material... 😆

Ha, I think the large bust thing is from Brave New World (or at least why people still say it). The female characters are incredibly one-dimensional and the word gets thrown out there enough times for any reader to be like... wtf?

That’s great! I wasn’t aware of the origin. I just saw a post recently on “other” social media about the craziness of etymology. It mentioned how Nimrod (a biblical hunter) became synonymous with idiot... because Bugs Bunny sarcastically called Elmer Fudd a Nimrod in a cartoon. I thought that was fascinating too!

Your poor poor voting power.

https://steemd.com/@shredz7

28% like a boss.

A lot of these 1 cent votes you're giving out are going to get dusted.
Everything under 2 cents gets rounded down to zero.

I dodn’t even realize... well glad to see I’m voting so much... a lot of it’s from this post’s comments. I’ll stop upvoting some of the bigger creators I follow and focus on posts with lower rewards

@shredz7 your followers can use @dustsweeper to collect the dust :)

A couple of my thoughts: S-chain (or any letter), speedchain, prime, xteem, liquid, and infochain.

I obviously like the concept of chain in the name but sure if consistent with your visualization.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hmm... I'm interested in the 'prime', 'xteem', and 'liquid', those are quite creative and interesting, but not really in the chain ones as I think that the 'chain' is kinda overused in the space, and doesn't represent Engine as well since it primarily runs on top of another blockchain Steem.

Nice job! This could be the one; we'll see! Also: make sure to edit your comment to add that you resteemed this post so that you can be eligible for the resteem reward.

Liquid is taken, I'm actually fairly confident its a cryptocurrency already. Pretty soon the word "the" will be a token.

Chainsaw
Unchained

I actually really like the "Chainsaw" one, that's kind of cool.

Thanks! Excited to see this project! Wish you the best of success!

Posted using Partiko iOS

FYI:
Liquid is already taken by Blockstream

Those are some good naming conventions and they should be adopted by this platform at large.

How about Teem? lol.

Nova (taken)
Valhalla (also taken)
Shredder (Winner)

Teem is way too easy :p

Posted using Partiko Android

  • Vibratron
  • Flair
  • Qubit
  • Flare
  • Decoy
  • Recon
  • Cipher
  • Animus
  • Dusk
  • Automata
  • Machinarium
  • Ignition
  • Resonantia
  • Ingenium
  • Essentia
  • Janus
  • Synergia
  • Luna
  • Kaleid-o-scope
  • Omniscope

How about

Bullean
Momentz
ChooChoo
cyberist
Railsteam
Perovskite
A perovskite is any material with the same type of crystal structure as calcium titanium oxide (CaTiO3), known as the perovskite structure, or XIIA2+VIB4+X2−3 with the oxygen in the edge centers

Why not just use
CATIO3

Resteemed
"Moisture" is a cool name, because "steam generates moisture" ;)
"Chamber" or "vapor chamber" would also be cool

I’m liking these ideas — they’re in a similar vein to Engine was (Steem Engine).

I used the word moist this Christmas in the UK. they were dead silent afterwards. Its a word that is very sexual, and worse than shit. so I rolled over with laughter. If you want I accessible to a wide consumer base the word should not be to sci-fi, like Steem.

Yeah I wasn't really thinking of moisture as one I would choose... But I do agree that a wide userbase shouldn't have a too sci-fi name. In my opinion, some of the best names for crypto projects already exist and are fairly simple, e.g. Aurora, Engine, Steem, etc.

This is a fun contest @shredz7.

My entires:
kryon
quantum
fusion
celestine
azimuth
eclectic
ion
neutrino
omega
prism
pulsar
monad
aurora

Lots of interesting sci-fi esque entries! Some of those are already taken but I’m liking quite a few, such as Aurora.

Hmm... I see. And it's in the top 100 cryptos. Thanks for the tip!

If "monad" is already taken just replace the m with a g, problem solved...

Blue Steel
Velvet Thunder
ChronoLedger
Moonseed (this is a real plant lol)
Moonsail
Sailor Moon (JK)
Quakewalk
Beefcake
Obsidian
Lamina
Sclayer

Stratus Fear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83