VDUX HAIKU CONTEST -- 1.5 SBD and More!

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

Another Haiku Contest!!!

Out of appreciation for Australian Rules Football, I dedicate this haiku contest to all who are enjoying the march to the Grand Final. Happy September!

@felixgarciap graciously donated 0.20 SBDs to this contest, which will go to the runner-up. Yep, TWO chances to pick up some easy SBDs. Life's good!

Read below for more about the contest instructions, theme, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about rain. Anything relating to rain.

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Rain, rain, go away,

Come again another day.

Sunshine feels better!

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

This theme comes from @four20, who's getting .005 SBDs from me just for the idea. If you have any suggestions, post them on your blog, tag me, and reply below with the link to that post! Just might snag the idea for my next contest!

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, September 15, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, September 15, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 1.5 SBD
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • 0.2 SBD
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests:

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @millennialnow, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13, @snowyknight, @alom8, @rentmoney, @sidequest, @oclinton, @sarez

Special appreciation to: @mermaidvampire for goodvibes, @liverussian for her awesomeness, @firepower for keeping it real, @jayna for her great writing prompts, @felt.buzz for the #zappfic zappl microstories.

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Sort:  

GIF180827_121314.gif

Quenching nature's thirst
Building a cities culture
This is Seattle

One moment...

::reaches into filing cabinet, rifles through a few folders, and pulls out a large glossy::

Ah, here we go:


Source

That's her all right!!

I really dig this; succinct and we'll crafted.

Although it doesn't really rain does it?
Just mists a lot. Average rainfall is not very much.

I don't think that's a haiku.
;-)

No, just an observation

Does it really rain?
Average rainfall is not much
It just mists a lot

it is now! Good job

I'm from the north Oregon coast... second-cloudiest city in the country (after Quilliute.)
Then, I lived in south Wales... never saw the sun hardly during the year I lived there!
I think we all know something about rain... :p

Times are tough enough
When you’re hungry and homeless,
But wet and cold too?

source
239284C2-A7FC-47C4-B604-A8E99C8C9AE5.jpeg

So sad. Too common.

Tears fall like the rain
there is no hiding the pain
rainbows upside down

Drops form on petals
Skies open Thunder clashes
Earth is replenished

Terrestrial rejuvination!

Phew I made it!
Here we go

Drip splash tink blip drip
Rain falls down on my tin roof
No rest for wicked

The wicked have tin roofs and umbrellas.

Awesome, I love this. And I really love the rain. I hope that I win.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Such a funny one. Love it. 😎

dry, dead, cracked earth!
who can enliven the dead
but the living rain

Nice, nice. Really liked the personification. Great!

Rain falling softly
Thunder rolls in the distance
Good day for sleeping
;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! Agree!

Welcome back to the contest!!!

Thanks, I appreciate it!

I hope all is well with you! ;-)

As for me, I really am sleepy, and I think I'll crash soon. Take care!

Oh Beautiful rain. The sound you make on my roof. When I am inside.

Posted using Partiko iOS

69d1b8d0e3ac0f73496a88afb982-1426449.jpg
https://steemit.com/haiku/@viking-ventures/fall-clatsop-rainstorm-vdux-haiku-contest-entry-20180913t195008601z-post

Here's my take (@shawnsporter) from my years on the North Oregon Coast. Strangely, while snow starts most people thinking about Christmas, these fall rainstorms were what would start me thinking about the holidays!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17