VDux Haiku Contest and Tangooooo!

in #contest6 years ago


Source

Welcome to the VDUX Haiku Contest -- Let's Tango!!!

Tango is not necessary to win 2 SBD, author rewards, and some free publicity. All you need to do is write a haiku!

Applause for @felixgarciap who supported the contest with a very generous donation of SBDs.


Source

If you also want to donate, I use ALL donations to support the prize winner(s), none for me. When you transfer SBDs, include memo "for the contest."

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner. I'll announce Previous Contest Winner soon.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about worms. Real or gummy or imaginary or a German city.

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Hot and sunny day.

Worm got lost on the sidewalk.

Didn't make it home.

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply so I can upvote each one.

This contest's theme comes from @tygertyger -- thank her for the suggestion! She's getting .005 SBDs from me just for the idea!

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, August 17, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, August 17, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 2.0 SBD
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • 0.2 SBD
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests:

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @millennialnow, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13, @snowyknight

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Sort:  

Little tiny worm
Traveled through the tiny grass
Eaten by the bird

Aw poor worm...

Wiggly, wiggly worm.
Don’t give your heart to a grub
Buried in the earth.

Breakfast

So fat and juicy
How they pop between the teeth
Tasty tasty worms

Immediately made me think of the children's song about eating worms lol

here is mine
IMG_2525.JPG

Making dirt all day
Earth worms work they do not play
Now we go fishing

https://steemit.com/haiku/@four20/vdux-haiku-contest-and-tango-worms-by-four20

Cool! What's in the picture? Are those real worms?

I make and sell miniatures for collectors, photographers, game developers, dollhouse enthusiasts, action figure sceneries, dioramas and room boxes.
The can is a capacitor cut down and the worms are polymer clay. They go nicely with my jars of flies or a 6" fishing pole!
IMG_4029 (2).JPG

No legs arms feet hands
And yet you meet and tango
In your own crude way

OOOH that's brilliant. Nice, nice!

Who Tends Your Flowerbed?

Unseen gardeners
Tireless turning the black earth
Always thank the worms

Same shape head and tail
The leading side is chosen
By flavor alone

(The last few times I've had gummy worms they were kind that have two flavors, but one half is always better.)

Oh the orange half
Left severed in the sugar
Can you grow back too?

(I always get this same thing with gummy worms, and end up leaving half eaten rejects in the bag)

Don't sweat the colors
They're only dyes and treatments
Sugar tastes the same

what do you so this THIS one?

Relax. Take a seat.
Escape this reality.
Written words take me.


image source

Bookworm! Brilliant!

Ants, earwigs, squirmy worms
full of life my compost be
recycling turns

squirmy is one syllable if you say it like I do
lol
Ants, bugs, squirmy worms
full of life my compost be
recycling turns

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Thank you so kindly,
I certainly will do that
appreciated

Hello @vdux, my entry


My soul wanders!
by @felixgarciap

Life away from you
I am a worm without hope
And my soul wanders

https://steemit.com/esteem/@felixgarciap/my-soul-wanders-a-haiku-poem-a683d31b8c48est

Very creative! Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25