Win 1.5 SBDs in VDux's Haiku Contest About Pets

in #contest5 years ago


Source: Giphy

Welcome to the VDUX Haiku Contest!!!

Do you have a pet?

I don't! Hard enough for me to keep humans alive, much less an animal. Nonetheless I love critters of all sorts. Our non-human family members deserve a haiku now and then, right?

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner. As always, every haiku you write could get you the 1.5 SBD winner's prize. I will reveal the winner of my most recent contest SOON.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about pets (bonus points for mentioning an animal that has some personal or cultural significance).

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Cats seem very nice.

Tidy, quiet, and friendly.

But I'm allergic!

You may submit multiple haikus, but PLEASE make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, March 16, 2019.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, March 16, 2019.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it helps all of us.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

Also drop by my friends who also run contests: @jayna, @firepower, @mermaidvampire, @olivia08, @bananafish and the gang, @zephalexia, @calluna, @dbooster, @d-vine, @felixgarciap, @rentmoney . . . who'm I missing?

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 1.5 SBD
  • One resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests -- the list keeps growing!

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13, @snowyknight, @alom8, @sidequest, @oclinton, @sarez, @f3nix, @jurich60, @artofwisdom, @zephalexia, @letalis-laetitia, @rentmoney, @olivia08, @myd77, @moofang, @dirge, @cinderz, @moncia90, @rdsmas, @theironfelix, @manoldonchev, @iamthegray, @tiempoyesp, @ccaallvviinn, @alecreed, @lahvista, @binkyprod, @jayna, @mfunbee, @alrahman, @agmoore, @blueeyes8960, @deadmoonwrites, @katrina-ariel, @owasco, @pyemoney, @ifoundnoel, @thaishps, @imagen, @yomismosoy, @adncabrera, @braaiboy, @reinaldoverdu, @naylet, @oscarina, @darthgexe, @vida-blanca, @jacobtothe, @erh.germany, @darrenfj, @corte, @sayury, @bluengel, @lecumberre, @yujomar, @sumatranate

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Screen Shot 20190112 at 10.43.46 PM.png

--- --- --- --- ---

See who I'm delegating to: https://steembottracker.com/delegation.html

Sort:  

little fuzz muffin
leaves a trail of destruction
hopping through my heart

(and look, she kindly stripped the wallpaper under the plug socket behind her lol)

Your own version on Curious George?

Here be me entry for this contest here

Four?

Dog
Wiggle machine's
snuggles beyond love
Cleopatra

Cat
Westside house
purring on the couch
and scratching

Park
Noisy soup
of animal calls
normal day

Sphinx
Desert bound
with paws extended
Egypt's best

Indeed, no more no less.

why stop at four!!!!

Because I can :*3

Also: the rule of 4s needs to be a thing on the internet~

love seemingly bought
yet must be patiently earnt
to last a life time

Welcome back! Beautiful as always.

so Moko bunny stole this toy pudding @gaby-crb got me for christmas, and her love has got her a new nickname

harley and puddin
a love that's a little rough
bursting at the seams

current photo of pudding thanks to @gaby-crb

It was totally mums idea. She knew you would love it. We didn't realise Moko would love it more!

Looks like some tough love...!

Scratches on my hands
Marked by the love of my cat
The smell on my shoes

Hey there! Good to see you here again. That's a nice haiku, too

Head butting to wake
Cats demand my attention
Where no mice are safe.

Neither in the field nor the forest nor the kitchen!

The pre-agree price
for her mucky garden fun
~ shower and cuddles

I have cared for mice
Once found a cat at roadside
What critter comes next?

I have a problem saying no :)

cats, mice...next a bird?

:))
Been there. Done that.

I raised two children who would bring anything home that was orphaned. It's a family flaw.

Big hearts for little creatures!

  • Title : No Cats

Cats I do not have
Scratch, meow and piss that stinks
Cats I do not miss

Same here, rent. Same here!

An elephant walks
Swings its trunk with majesty
Who dares to challenge?

I've had pets all my life. Right now, though just my wife :)

It's enough!

Do elephants make good pets?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87