Win SBDs and More in the VDUX Haiku Contest. Let's Mambo Baby!!!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)


Source: Giphy

No dancing necessary to win 2 SBD, author rewards, and some free publicity. All you need to do is write a haiku.

(BTW join the SBD Giveway (Grand Experiment))

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about artificial intelligence. You don't have to include the words "artificial intelligence" as long as it's clear that you're writing something related to AI.

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Vdux loves AI

He adores algorithms

They don't love him back

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

Thank you to @shawnsporter for the theme suggestion. I'll transfer .005 SBDs to you for the suggestion!

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, June 9, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, June 9, 2018.


That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 2 SBD
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within a few days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Thank You to All Who've Participated in Previous Contests

Here you are:

@jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @millennialnow, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft

Write you haiku below and Feel the Haiku!!!

Sort:  

AI does MAMBO!!!
No? You say he cannot dance?
AI's SUCH a liar!
;-)

In the spirit of the contest, you might get a kick out of this song, which my parents used to play when my sisters and I were little. ;-)


Automation, by Allan Sherman

No dance? AI lies...
He just downloads the program
Now, he has the moves!

(Thanks for replying to me, so I knew I should write another one.)

Woo hoo!!! Great response - love it! ;-)

Smiles all around!

I'm not obsolete!

Never! Who could even think such a thought! ;-)

Awesome song!

Thanks so much for sharing this... I recall listening to Alan Sherman a lot when I was a kid. Like this:

Thanks again! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Any time. ;-)

The Sentry



No intelligence
Add artificial flavors
Spices and assault


image.png

Marvel Sentry 459 Source

AI in cooking
Automated but no tongue
Takes out all the fun!

(I'll do my own entry later... but another haiku for you, @vdux)

Nice @viking-ventures... AI is a cool topic for Haiku writing.

@vdux needs haiku
AI is a great topic
Haikus in comments...

(Can't seem to stop now...)

Keep going!

...Spices and ah - "salt"? Did you mean to do that?

Nice entry as always. Where'd you find that picture??

You know how writing Haiku's go... You start out with an idea and then it doesn't fit the syllables so you find something even more delicious... a spicy assault AI robot. It looks like I'm not the only one with the munchies here.

My main entry (accept any of the others if you like them...)

electronic_brain.jpg
https://steemit.com/haiku/@viking-ventures/electronic-brain-haiku-for-vdux

Or are WE the tragic beings?

Your balance is below $0.25. This is your first notification that your account is running low and should be replenished.

We can but should we?
Creating synthetic life
That could be like us

Synthetic lifeforms
Perhaps get out of control.
Possible? Scary!

Good question.

::turns to the cylinder on the shelf::

"Alexa, should we create synthetic life?"

Here's one from a few months ago:

Your television
Has married your telephone
And they reproduce

This one gives me creeps
The thought of AI in love!
Procreating bots!!!

Check out the Allan Sherman song below.
Same idea, nothing creepy, just very funny. ;-)

But it's true! Except for the love part.

AI knows no love?
The most tragic part of all..
If all this be true...

Ah, I see you found the YouTube app for your iPhone!

Hola, mi entrada:
Se necesitan
se retroalimentan
sin humanos, no existen la IA

¡Gracias! ¿Puedes usar el formato 5-7-5?

Humanos tener
conciencia de la IA
llego a mandar

ok gracias amiga!

Today. Who’s to say?
We may be simulated.
Just like the Matrix.

One of my favorite topics <3

'Artificial' Intelligence
Created or born
I think and therefore I am
Artificial how?

Whoa. Just...whoa. And what happens when the robots create robots???

Yellowww my dear @vdux!

now my toaster thinks
come on! you're not an AI
do not burn my bread!

Spiteful AI, innit?

Thanks for the contest, @vdux!
Here's my entry:

Siri, here to help
Wait, what is that? Beep Beep Boop
Alexa has won

https://steemit.com/haikucontest/@onefatindian/vdux-haiku-contest-artificial-intelligence

Brilliant!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79