Fox Tales WK#41 : Announcing contest winners and a new story image!

in #contest5 years ago


If you love writing stories then this contest is for you! Write a short story about the image pictured above. Be creative, think outside of the box and follow the listed rules!


Hello writers and fellow art lovers! It’s a beautiful day here in Minneapolis and the perfect day to be outside. If any of you saw my comic from earlier then you’ll know how my morning was. My nap after that post could’ve been better but I kept getting phone calls from my parents. It’s like they know I’m trying to sleep!! I somehow made it work. While getting ready to pick @guthrie up from school, I noticed how nice it was outside. I packed us food for a picnic and we played at the park. The day has been good to us. :)


I was in a happy mood when I sketched and it seemed like a great idea for this weeks theme. I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with!


The progress...

All my drawings are original sketches drawn digitally by me on the Procreate App using the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil.


I started the drawing with thin lines using the carpenters pencil.

The rest of the face and hair magically followed.

The interesting thing about this pencils is how the colors deepen when you go over it. Kind of how it would normally look when layering but this is obviously digital so it’s something I had to get used to.

I played around with poses until something fit with the expression.

Then I did the same with the outfit. Hoodies are really fun to draw.

I darkened the pencils and did some cleanup.

Some color to the cheeks, eyes and tongue. ✌🏼 Done!


Prizes:


1st // 5 STEEM
2nd // 3 STEEM
3rd // 1 STEEM


Contest Rules:


  • Upvote & Resteem this post.
  • Create a separate post with your short stories.
  • Maximum length 300 words. (I’ll be monitoring this closely!)
  • Use the #foxtales tag.
  • Usage of the current story image in your post is optional.
  • Submit your post in the comment section below. (I’ll sharing links to the stories submitted this way in the following Fox Tales announcement post!)
  • Maximum of 3 entries (only one story per person will qualify for a portion of the prize pool each week.)
  • Deadline is this post’s payout.

WEEK #40 WINNERS & STORIES!


1st place // @calluna “Connection”
Jake faltered on his way down the street. The two woman beyond the glass washed in the soft lamp light had been entranced in each other. They were carefully programmed to lavish each other in unbridled affection, as one looked at him, it stopped him in his tracks. The deep tones of her artificial eyes were supposed to hold an invitation, a promise - “This could be you.” Yet for the fifth time this week, Jake saw something else in that constructed iris. A lonely plea. It called to him on a deeper level, churning in his gut. Shaking his head, he turned to walk away. They were robots, it wasn’t real, probably just the latest corporate ploy to draw in the punters. He’d told himself that every day, and it still sounded hollow. He couldn’t bring himself to continue down the street again. Pushing his hands into his pockets, he ducked impulsively into the doorway. A squat, grey, elderly woman sat behind a grubby desk in the lobby. “Can I get an hour with the two in the window?” Jake fumbled in his coat, looking for his creditchip. “Ex-floor models them two, not for private hire, I got a lovely pair in booth 32 who’d be just your thing though, let me hook you up.” “No! I mean, no thank you, I was more interested in those two… Ex-floor models? Would you consider selling them?” The woman gave Jake a long, hard look, taking in his suit. “Come back tomorrow, ask for Petey.” Making his way out into the street, Jake glanced back at the two girls. One of them still looked at him. There was something different in her strong, swirling eyes, something he couldn’t even pretend to deny.
2nd place // @seesladen “Intertwined...”
It was one look, one look was all it took as Cheryl kissed my cheek. For four long years it had brewed, and I'd simply ignored it, like it wasn't truly there. For Cheryl wasn't just my sister, she was my best friend, my partner, my muse. I couldn't, I just couldn't, not to Cheryl.. but then I did... We were born together, we shared not just physical features, we also shared a similar voice, and we almost shared the same thoughts, almost... I loved her no doubt. I loved her without truly realizing I loved her, that genuine kind of love. Or then maybe I didn't. I can't tell the difference no more... Perhaps we had too many sames, and then it was one too many, for when she had fell in love, so had I... And for him too. With the blue eyes, and broad shoulders. Suddenly we shared too much that there was something we didn't share, something which brought us both closer, yet apart. Something which she tasted, and I had to.. something which I pushed away for four long years, until I couldn't... Oh it was one look, one look was all it took, and as those eyes stared back at me, with that same longing, I knew... That even though I had blue eyes, I didn't just want him. I wanted them both... Blue eyes and Cheryl...
3rd place // @wems “Happy soul”
Mama was the sun, she radiates with love. Mama was the rain,she flushes with warmth. Mama was beauty; a single mother at 55 getting advances from men my age. Mama works,cooks and tells the best stories. She wanted to be a scriptwriter but she's a cook. She insists they are both great.At 27,Mama gave me her golden bracelet, it was from her father who died before I was born. Mama's got a wild knowledge on all topics, so we talk about everything save my father; I was a child born of rape. Mama didn't tell me that. Mama was happy with our life. We're not rich. We're not poor either.Mama got cancer. She hid it from me. She did it well. I was a surgical intern preparing for my final exams to be a resident. Mama had begged the Dr. Not to say.I found out, the drugs , the files, the chemo. Every morning she places a kiss on my head and my cheeks, keeping her secret to myself hurts my soul,it wasn't the first secret i had found out, but this was taking Mama away from me. Mama was happy. Mama liked 'happy'. It had to stay that way until she was ready.

Thanks so much to all the writers who participated!

⬇️ Please take the time to visit the links to their stories below!⬇️

Writers listed in alphabetical order.


“A Belated Kiss” “Connection” 

@calluna

“Sin” 

@chinyerevivian

”A Mother’s Blessing” 

@chrisbarth

”MISJUDGED” 

@feebie

”Intertwined...” 

”Remedy...” 

@seesladen

“First kiss” “Wedding Day” “Day? Not tragic” 

@theironfelix

“Happy soul” 

@wems



Thanks for stopping by and good luck to those who decide to participate!
Do you have any questions? 🦊



Check out some of the previous #foxtales posts!


Fox Tales #40 

Fox Tales #39 

Fox Tales #38 

Fox Tales #37 

Fox Tales #36 

Sort:  

Here be me entry for this contest!~
Nurse Spooky.gif

Congratulations to all the winners and entryists!!!!~
Bcuz this gif be too cute to nae save.gif



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

👏👏👏 to the winners...... Good luck to the next entries

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats to the winners...my last entry came in late as i just got back to steemit yesterday.expect my entry.cheers

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30