24 Hour Contest: What You Reading?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest5 years ago

Hey people of steem,

Go books!

For this contest let me know what the last thing you read is? I am looking for books here not magazines :p. If you add a photo of the book you get bonus points. If you have a book you want to read but haven't gotten around to it you can take a photo and post that as well.

Three winners :)

book-1296590_640.png

Sort:  

I am reading "The Hobbit", I like medieval stories very much and I am a big fan of "The Lord of the Rings".El Hobbit.jpg

Here are the last 5

But ... as a true geek, if you haven't "read" this, do it

The book is 100X better than the movie.

WINNER for have a list.
And I remember reading that years ago.

Cool!!!

Thanks again. I've been enjoying your posts/contests. Keep up the good work!!

Last thing I read is Big Sur, by Jack Kerouac. His incredible, depressing but truly beautiful last book, when he reached the bottom of his alcoholism and was affected with delirium tremens.

IMG_20181108_175823224.jpg

WINNER because I used to read a lot of older lit and that author was one of the ones I missed. When I get back into it will have to pick up that one or On The Road

Nice, thanks! What do I win?
Also I very much recommend Dharmma Bums by Jack Kerouac.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am still reading this book by Adrian J. Walker set in Scotland. I am following the trails of Ed(main character) in which is his looking for his family which was brought to the south of Ediburgh in the middle of an attack which killed thousands of people in the world.

1541703004714172293046.jpg

Hello @whatageek, thank you for this contest where you give us the opportunity to share our literary tastes, I am currently reading the sacred scriptures, because recently I went through a moment where I almost lost my life, which pushed me to look for more Our Lord Jehovah and his son Jesus Christ, I know that many people do not believe in an omnipotent being, but human beings need something or someone to believe because, given the circumstances of the world especially in my native country VENEZUELA, where we can see, the loss of so many human values ​​that has led us to an almost total disappearance of consideration and respect for the lives of our fellow human beings, driven by selfishness and the desire for power.BIBLIA.jpg

I am sorry to hear you almost lost your life but glad you to hear you made it.

The last full on book I've been reading is David Hume's An Enquiry Concerning Human Understanding. It's a great piece on epistemology or the way human beings gather and verify information in a rigorous and systemic way.
image

But if you count technical papers the last thing I read was the BAT whitepaper. If you're not familiar with BAT it's a token built off of the Brave browser which was designed to increase data and battery efficiency by blocking ads and trackers and rewarding users for their attention to advertisements with the BAT token. I can't get into too much detail but I think it has HUGE potential; it's built by industry experts that helped build Firefox; and it's at a pretty low price of about $0.30 which means there's potential for a huge ROI.

Interesting read.

The thirty nine steps, written by John Buchan in 1938 it's pretty an old prose really, but I don't know if you're interested in old books like I am but I saw it iny grand father's old things he must have read it in school, Lol not everyone is fan

IMG_20181108_154214.jpg

I like classics but that is one I have yet to read

I'm reading the book Developing the Leader Within You by John C Maxwell, but the spanish version

If you are struggling with your life then you must read this book. You definitely find the solution after reading this book, in practical way.

20181109_120118.jpg

looks interesting

Book of Mythicality.jpg

thumbnail.jpg

The Book of Mythicality

Currently, I am finishing up my degree in Nursing, and that has not left me a lot of time for leisurely reading. I am a huge fan of Good Mythical Morning (on YouTube), and was excited to get their book once it came out. This is a very entertaining, non-fictional book. The way it is laid out, I am able to pick up right where I left off, even if its been days since I have read it last. I am about half way in and cannot wait to finish it!

Congrats on the degree :). Such a noble profession.
I watched a video on how much content they make a week, its crazy.

Thank you so much @whatageek. Yes, it amazes me what all they do! I really enjoy all their work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17