The Deadpost Initiative - Week 43 - Share your most undervalued work ($15 SBD rewards last week)

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlooked during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also by engagement to generate discussion.

Last week

Another week of great posts which less than great engagement, not too many people participated this week, which made it easier to choose winners, but is a shame, I hope we can get more readers for each post on this deadpost initiative! All resteems are greatly appreciated and it's amazing that we have substantial prizes to give out now, thanks to @tribesteemup! :-D

Last Week's Winners

@eoj - $4 SBD prize

@eoj takes us to a stop off the beaten track in Nepal, a place which was once a tourist destination but has since taken a hit due to natural disaster. It seems like a place worth visiting.

Well Off the Beaten Path (Episode One) - Restoration of Saat Tale Royal Palace - Nuwakot, Nepal

—-

@metametheus - $4 SBD prize

I love these articles by @metametheus who knows a lot about Chinese medicine. I learned a lot from this one, although I am still learning about what exactly shamanism is, this certainly reinforces my belief that ancient Chinese traditions were much deeper than the way they are expressed today. I really need to read more posts by this steemian!

Shamanic Origins Of Medicine In Ancient China

—-

@fjmb86 - $4 SBD prize

@fjmb86 looks into the importance of stories as a written tradition. It reminds me of the time my professor in university brought to my attention the importance of the printing press in the development of culture, how it is likely that the very concept of a country was able to overtake our local-based thinking thanks to the development of the printing press. Interesting topic!

The Books Have The Word

—-

@cheekah - $3.5 SBD prize

@cheekah looks at the idea of chivalry and re-examines it in a modern context. I think this is a conversation worth having because most of us like the idea of equality but what does equality look like?

Chivalry...for men alone?


@inuke - $3.5 SBD prize

@inuke is a fighter! This guy is constantly seeking to improve himself, and I can see him getting back up whenever he gets knocked off his horse. The title is self explanatory. I just hope he hasn't wanted to punch me or @vincentnijman in the face before :-)

Be Bad-Ass - Episode 2 : Getting help is not a sign of weakness...


Week 43

pexels-photo-460617.jpeg
(From pexels)

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!

The best posts will be rewarded with the fluid payout from this post (split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

•Please only submit 1 post.
•Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
•Posts must be at least one month old.
•I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
•Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
•Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments. I will use the quality of comments as the main factor in judging who wins.
•There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or join just for fun and to share their old work.
•There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
•There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.

Please upvote generously on your favorite post in the comments below, we'd like to generate a sense much support as possible for all participants and the prize pool is still growing.
Upvote and resteem to help us raise our reward pool! And remember to comment and upvote on comments in this post please to show support for deadposts! :-)
The prize pool will be the fluid rewards from the post plus any donation to the initiative.
Thanks to @krnel for his delegation and @tribesteemup for their trail support.

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.

—-

If you like what I do, check out my work at Patreon and consider becoming a Patron (or helping me find more Patrons by sharing this link on social media) so I can put more time and energy into fiction, music and community building. Some extra fiction and music will be over at Patreon and it's all pay-what-you-want. Thanks for any and all support!
If you want to chat, come join us to talk about deep shit in the Be awesome discord (no post promo!)
Sort:  

I won? Awesome @whatamidoing, thanks so much! Big congrats to @metametheus, @fjmb86, @cheekah, and @inuke as well - this is a great idea to bring some attention and value to long forgotten or unseenposts.

My entry for this week is Cox's Bazar Surf Report and the Father of Bangladeshi Surfing

jafaralam.jpg
Source

This is one of my favorite posts, written when I was in Bangladesh during a work trip looking at the Rohingya issue. Even though this post only made .60 cents, I really enjoyed sharing Jafar Alam's journey as the first surfer in Bangladesh and how he gave back to at-risk youth in his community. This post joins my professional humanitarian life with my preference for off-the-beaten-track travel and my love of surfing.

Great story. Thanks for reviving it.

Very interesting and well written post, I really enjoyed reading this! :) That one chance meeting turned Jafar into the founder of Surfing in Bangladesh is great, and you do an awesome job telling the story! :)

Thank you @paradigm42, I really enjoyed your post as well!

I love the story, and how something trivial (and maybe ridiculous) as going the extra mile to get a surfboard could impart a country's way of life positively.

I'm inspired by how one man could put smiles on people's faces through what he loves.

Will the water actually make their skin darker?

Thanks @getencored! I agree, I loved telling this man's story, especially how he gave back to the community!

The water itself doesn't make the skin darker, but being out in the hot sun all day would! :)

I really love this post. I am so surprised it had such a low payout. It was written well, humorous, and your formatting! Even though this is a "deadpost" I am telling my discord group about it. Such a great story. Thanks so much for sharing it. We have followed you and look forward to seeing more.
Ren

Thanks so much @xcountytravelers, I appreciate the support and kind words! It was only my third post on my @eoj account, so that's probably why :)

Hey @eoj, Thanks man. I must say that the story about that Bangladeshi surfer is very unique. I think the people of the sub-Indian continent are not very fond of surfing. Take my case, Even though I am from the Islands, I haven't touched the Board yet, Let alone try surfing. But one can only hope to see such man trying to attract more to enjoy the waves.

And congratulation on winning the previous Dead post :-)

Thanks so much @inuke, I appreciate the comment! There are great waves in India, you never know, you might be a surfing pioneer in your country! :)

What a pleasant way to be back. Congrats to the previous winners and kudos to @whatamidoing for keeping this up.
My entry for this week is https://steemit.com/steemstem/@getencored/a-rekindled-hope-to-reduce-maternal-death. It is a post to help create awareness about a relatively new drug that can help reduce death of women during childbirth.

First, I am stunned by these statistics! Thats a lot of deaths for one issue. What a shame for this to be happening. I am glad to see there is a medication out there and there is a group that is able to help.

Second, I wasn't going to read the post when i saw the subject, but I am so glad I did. Being in the US, i fear I am not as aware of these issues. I should be, but because of the political three-ring-circus here we have shut off the news. It is platforms like SteemIt that have enabled me to learn about issues such as this. Thank you for writting about it.

Finally, I am stunned at the low payout you had! Just stunned. Your post was well written and you presented some amazing information. Thank you for a very good read and an educational opportunity. You are being followed and i look forward to seeing more.
Ren

Thank you @xcountytravelers for reading my post and for your kind words.

Maternal mortality is still a serious issue. We only hope it would get better.

About the payout, this is steemit after all. The post could have been better I guess.

Thanks for following me!

Well, hopefully, now that I have found you, we can help to spread your posts for future help.
Ren

Thank you very much.

Congratulations to all the winners from last time! :) Here is my entry for this weeks contest.
https://steemit.com/education/@paradigm42/not-your-typical-landscapephoto-large-scale-diorama-of-an-iroquois-village

I've never heard the word 'diorama', I kept skipping until I got towards the end of the post and noticed those miniature human figures. I thought they were real at first. I checked up what dioramas are and I learnt something new.

Iroquois sound like the name of a Nigerian tree we call Iroko. I was confused a bit.

The images are amazing.

Great post! You're right, those dioramas are done so well it looks like an outside scene. Very cool!

Thank you very much! I love the detail you can find in these types of dioramas. This one in particular was a childhood favorite and I still find it fascinating.

Very realistic. I used to love dioramas when I was a kid. Of course the ones I made in grade school never looken quite like that. :)

Yes the museum did an excellent job portraying what an Iroquois village and everyday life must have looked like. I also liked dioramas as a kid and still do as an adult! :)

Ok, THAT was so awesome. I really like learning about new things and I learned a lot from this post. Being from Oklahoma i understand the importance of keeping the history alive fore the Native Americans. It is such a huge part of our and your state. Thank you so much for sharing this post. We have followed you and can't wait to see more!
Ren

What a wonderful initiative. I present to you my first 'Tale From The Toilet'

https://steemit.com/comedyopenmic/@steemonkey/tales-from-the-toilet-disaster-in-debenhams-comedy-open-mic-round-23

That toilet story was an emotional roller coaster, and very well written. You got a new follower out of that.

Cheers madman. There are other 'Toilet Tales' to get your teeth into. Nice to have you on board. I reckon you will enjoy this one from a while ago if you aint already read it :)
https://steemit.com/adventure/@steemonkey/adventures-of-a-hitchhiker-the-mad-monk

Wow, that is one epic toilet story! What an awful experience, I'm glad you got out of there in ine piece and not covered in filth lol!

I admit that I am not a big fan of the toilet humor, But one cannot help but laugh at the story. Like they say

one man's tragedy is another man comedy

LOL

I read this post and it wasn't funny (maybe it's called dark comedy cos I could always laugh at how people were) and I felt a great pity for those who abuse drugs. None ended well (maybe except for the naked butt man lol). There is an important message in your post.

Thanks for sharing.

I understand that my brand of dark humor isn’t for everyone. Thanks for having an open mind and reading anyway. This post was a companion piece to a few others about famous people in history who you might not realize were drug addicts like Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson. I decided to do this one, showing famous evil people who were addicts, which was surprisingly harder to find examples of than good guys. Go figure.

Posted using Partiko iOS

congratulations @themadgoat, you just gained a new follower :) this story was a bit vulgar but from the other way very funny :D
may I ask how the hell General Butt Naked managed to stay free after massacre on 20.000 people ?

He lives out in the middle of nowhere in a failed state with no real government, military, or police. Basically whoever has the most guns makes the rules, and that’s him.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Okay, so this was the post that was going to make me famous on Steemit. People were going to want to up vote this multiple times. I could retire, live a life of luxury. I was naive. ;)

Seriously though, I thought it was better than 3 votes. :)

https://steemit.com/photography/@oldmans/alder-springs-hike

Thank you to @whatamidoing for running this initiative.

I was hoping for some surprise dick pics. like, Where's Waldo, nature edition. But here's the upvote you missed the first time.

Lol. Thanks, I think. :)

hahahahahahah what!

Too bad you got little upvotes for those amazing pictures. Where I come from hiking is hardly a thing. The best kind of hiking we do is when we are short of transportation fees or in one form of protest. But its all good. One day we would love to hike for what it really is.

Your pictures were amazing.

Awesome photos of some fantastic scenery! I have always wanted to do a cross country trip to see places like that. It is indeed amazing how much life you can find in the desert!

Thank you! I'm lucky I moved not to long ago so I have a lot of new areas to explore.

Way better than 3 votes! I enjoyed your post, thanks for sharing. I don't think I've seen too many hiking reports on Steemit - you've gained a follower, keep it up :)

Thank you! I might try another one now that I am a little more "seasoned". :)

I love this, I love travel and nature and landscape and the freaking wild. Saw it all here. Cools, man 👍

Thank you!

It just amazes me that you only received three votes on that post. The photos are clear and you explain your hike well. Scott and I are trying to visit all the counties in the US and i will be putting this hike down for Oregan. Do you know what county it is in?

Thanks for sharing this one. We are following you and hope to see more of your travels
Ren.

Thank you! I've been following you guys a little on here and your website. I even found a county map online that I am going to try and back fill with all the counties I've visited. Luckily I have a lot of family pictures to help jog my memory. :)

The hike was in Jefferson county right near Deschutes county. You would actually access it through Deschutes.

If you are interested here is another one I did from a couple weeks ago in Neveda.
https://steemit.com/photography/@oldmans/north-shore-road-neveda

Wow! Small universe. I have seen quite a few of your posts and really enjoy them. I was happy to see you on here. It's funny how some stuff just takes off and others don't.

Thank you for the county information. I have put it in my spreadsheet and we will see it when we get in that area.

Thanks for the link to your other post and I look forward to your new stuff as well as the older.
Ren

Namaste @whatamidoing san, and Thank you for the kind words.
I must admit that I this event does provide an opportunity or second chance to the dead post. Really appreciate it.

Here is my entry for this week...

Be Bad-Ass - Episode 3 : Forgive Yourself and Move on
10.jpg
Image Source

Very wise and encouraging words. I'm glad I got a chance to read this. Thanks for re-sharing. :)

Thanks, mate. Appreciate those nice words.
Only 'Oldmen' will get this post ;-)

WOOHOO!!!
Thanks mate, much appreciate the appreciation of my work.

Hello! Thanks for running such an initiative. I would like to submit my entry! However I can't vote for anything as there is no comments there yet :/ Everything the best for you ! :)

https://steemit.com/photography/@witkowskipawel/simple-agency-tests-i-made-with-karolina-this-sunday

You had come so far in such a short while on steemit. That is more than impressive! You pictures are lovely, and I must confess I'm in love with your model's eyes. The way you put emotion into the pictures and the write-up is commendable and I wish I could do the same.

Your pictures are clean and pretty. Then I love the whole narration and explanation about how the whole photo shoot went down. And finally I admire your effort to use the English language, I saw you struggling there, but great effort in the end.

@nevies

Scott and I are travelers, but we have a very specific type of travel; we are trying to visit every county in the United States. Right, I said county. We want to visit every 3,144 of them. The post I present to you was one of our first ones; it talks about what we do. We are only 56 days into our SteemIt adventure and are loving the community here. I really feel this post will show you who we are and, hopefully, encourage you to read more. Enjoy!

https://steemit.com/counties/@xcountytravelers/we-drive

And thanks for offering this opportunity.
Ren

It's exciting to know that travelling could be fun. Here we don't travel for fun, we do it majorly out of obligation. Knowing such things makes people happy gives those who don't (or can't) do it an opportunity to key into a kind of happiness we can only derive from our imaginations.

You've got some interesting pictures especially the one with Scott sleeping...lol. You should try using the steemit world map. It may bring the magic your post needed.

Maybe one day you'll learn someone toured all 774 local governments in Nigeria. I may be just that person!

Funny you should mention SteemIt World Map. We were told about it a few posts after this one. Now most of the Oklahoma adventures on it are us!

Oh, that would be amazing to read a out! 774 in Nigeria . I hadnt realized it was that large of a country. Looking at the map, Nigeria and Texas look about the same size!
Ren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77