What does New Zealand mean to you? Win a Lyanna Natura card!

in #contestkings5 years ago (edited)

For many people that I have come across online, my homeland of New Zealand is only remarkable for two things: sheep and hobbits. Being so far away at the bottom of the world, only very few people who I have met online have ever travelled here and seen what New Zealand has to offer, so these common stereotypes prevail and much of the beauty of my homeland gets overlooked a lot of the time. But we are more than just sheep and hobbits here! I really wish that more people would come to see and appreciate New Zealand as I do.

To that end, I am running a bit of a contest here. I invite you to do a bit of research about New Zealand and write a little something from what you learn about my country. It may be a fact about a place or famous person, or about our culture or heritage, flora and fauna, politics, sports, anything that you find which is uniquely New Zealand. You don't need to write a lot, just a few sentences or a paragraph. Keep it simple. Please do also provide a link to the source of your information, if you can.

🎯 Action(s) Required

  • To enter this contest, simply post a reply to this post, with a few sentences (or up to a paragraph) about something you have just learned about New Zealand that you didn't know before. Include a link to the source of this information.
  • All entries must be unique, so do not copy anybody else's entry.

⚖ Judging

  • This contest is subjective, and will be judged by myself based on whatever criteria I feel is applicable at the time. I may decide that an entry which moves me with sentimentality and national pride is the winner; or I may choose something that makes me laugh at how differently we New Zealanders are being perceived by the rest of the world; or I might value an opportunity to learn something new about my own country from one of the entries here. Whatever it is, the winning entry will be the one that I think shows best that the contestant has put in some effort for this contest.

🎁 The Prizes

I have one eta Edition Lyverian Rare  Lyanna Natura Summoner  card to give away as a prize for this competition. This card is verifiable on the Steem blockchain, to make sure that I have it in my collection at present. It is being held in my alt account, @davtomsis, for safe keeping. Here is the list of prizes for this contest...

Lyanna Natura Level 1 (ID: C1-27-0RDX1E9R1S)
NOTE: Clicking the links for the card id's will take you to the SteemMonsters API, where you can verify that I currently own these cards as @davtomsis. Once the prizewinners have been announced and the prizes sent out, these links will show the new owners of the cards, instead.

📅 The Due Date

  • Entries for this contest 𝗺𝘂𝘀𝘁 be received within 7 days precisely of the post timestamp on the Steem blockchain. Entries received after that time 𝗺𝗮𝘆 𝗻𝗼𝘁 be eligible for prizes, at the judge's discretion.
  • All things being equal, prizes should be sent out to the prizewinners within 2 days of the closing of entries. See also the ⛔ Cancellation Policy below.

📋 The Rules

The rules for all contests run by #ContestKings 🦁 guild members are always kept as simple as possible, so that everybody has an equal chance of entering and winning our contests. Please note that the rules below are my own interpretation of the common contest rules used by the #ContestKings 🦁 guild, and therefore do not represent official policy of the guild.

  1. 👊 𝑵𝒐 𝑼𝒑𝒗𝒐𝒕𝒆, 𝑵𝒐 𝑹𝒆𝒔𝒕𝒆𝒆𝒎, 𝑵𝒐 𝑭𝒐𝒍𝒍𝒐𝒘 𝑹𝒆𝒒𝒖𝒊𝒓𝒆𝒅!
  2. Only one entry per person please.
  3. The judge's decision is final, and no correspondence shall be entered into.
  4. All prizes are as stated, and are not redeemable for $ˢᵗᵐ, $ˢᵇᵈ, nor any other crypto or fiat currency, nor will any request for substitution of prizes be entertained.

⛔ Cancellation Policy

  • Contests run by #ContestKings 🦁 guild members should always have guaranteed prizes, and are not dependent on post payout or levels of activity on the contest post. This contest 𝘄𝗶𝗹𝗹 𝗻𝗼𝘁 𝗯𝗲 𝗰𝗮𝗻𝗰𝗲𝗹𝗲𝗱 except for unforeseen circumstances, including but not limited to force majeure events, such as outages of the Steem blockchain. Even then, in such circumstances, every effort will be made to complete the contest and send out prizes, well after the fact if need be.

ℹ Additional Information


(NOTE: This post is best viewed using SteemPeak.com)

Sort:  

Aye bro I absolutely love the forests although it's riddle with 1080 man and greed have lost ways and is slowly destroying our mother in your land you call home. #sorrynotsorry #soilistainted #whatforest #1080monsantobayerownus

Posted using Partiko Android

Unfortunately, you're not wrong there. I try to put on a brave face, echoing the NZ Tourism slogans of yesteryear, of "100% Pure NZ", but it just isn't so any more. Greed and corruption have reached us even here in this little slice of paradise.

I have mates in nz who hunt wild boar for a feast for the family. They carry the boar on their back up the mountain providing for the family. Just like our ancestors did in the past some still inherit these ways of living. It's not until you loose your best mate when the 1080 kicks in! ... Everything Monsanto/Bayer create is just another chemical shit storm. In your food bro glyphosate it's tainted every where. See the power that controls the central world of the Monsanto cartel. Yaal got anymore of that agent Orange

Posted using Partiko Android

When I think about New Zealand the first thing that pops to my mind is: "Looks great but it so damn far!".

Well yeah, that's true. But then again, whose bright idea was it to orient the map with North facing up? I mean, when we finally get invaded by aliens from outer space, do you think they will know which way is "up" from their perspective? The Earth is just a globe floating in space, it has no "top" or "bottom".

I can tell you right away what New Zealand means to me without any research: an awesome travel destination! My main focus when I travel are wildlife and nature, and the diversity of diving spots, and the different landscapes (and yes, I'm a LOTR fan!), are more than enough reasons for wanting to get a backpack and explore!

In my (much) younger days, I did a stint as a deckhand on a big game fishing vessel in the Bay of Islands, and there were some excellent dive spots up there. Thanks for your entry in this contest!

Thank you for organizing it!

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87