Sweet Rice Vermicelli

in #cooking5 years ago (edited)

I used to have a neighbour from Pakistan. We used to exchange dishes from our cultures. I brought her German dishes (I am originally from Germany), and she brought me various Pakistani dishes. She was the person who first introduced me to a sweet pudding-like dessert made with vermicelli rice noodles. Although my neighbour never shared her recipe with me, over the years I have created my own.

I hope you will enjoy this recipe as much as my family does.


image0 15.jpg
image0.jpg
You will need sliced almonds. This is the type I used today. The package looks cold because I keep my almonds in the freezer.
image0 1.jpg
You will need 1 1/2 cups.
image0 2.jpg
and 2 tablespoons of butter, margarine or equal substitute. If you use something unsalted, you may need to adjust your salt later on.
image0 3.jpg
The success of this dish really is how well you roast the almonds. They should be golden, but not burnt. I use the lowest setting on my burner to ensure I don't burn the almonds. If you don't have almonds you can use pistachios or cashews instead.
image0 4.jpg
You will need one package or rice vermicelli noodles. Put them in a large pot.
image0 5.jpg
You will need 1 liter of Coconut Milk or alternative (unsweetened or you will have to adjust your Stevia). Put the milk in the pot with the noodles.
image0 6.jpg
You will need 1 Tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon cardamom.
image0 7.jpg
You will need 2 Tablespoons Vanilla.
image0 8.jpg
You will also need Stevia (or alternative) to taste. You want it to be sweet, but not overwhelmingly sweet that it drowns out the other flavours. Add all of these to the pot.
image0 9.jpg
You may wish to add 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon although it is not absolutely necessary. Add this to the pot.
image0 10.jpg
You can also add some raisins. This is the type I used.
image0 11.jpg
You will need 1/2 cup. Add them to the pot.
image0 12.jpg
Add 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the pote. I like to add salt to counter the sweetness and add a bit of interest.
image0 13.jpg
Now that the noodles have had a chance to soften a bit, you can cut them smaller using kitchen scissors. Note: This pot has not been heated yet.
image0 14.jpg
Add the almonds to the pot. Transfer the pot to low heat. Carefully stirring so that the milk doesn't set, allow the noodles to cook and the flavours to blend. It does not take very long for the noodles to cook. Just a few minutes.
image0 15.jpg
The noodles are done.
image0 16.jpg
It's time to eat!
Buen Proveche!

This recipe makes enough for a small treat for 2 families (if you keep the portion sizes small). Following tradition, I gave half of what I made to my neighbours to enjoy.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups sliced almonds (or pistachios, or cashews)
2 Tablespoons margarine/butter/or alternative
Rice Vermicelli Noodles 170grams or 6 ounces.
1 liter of Coconut milk or alternative.
1 Tablespoon plus one teaspoon Cardamom
2 Tablespoons Vanilla
Stevia or alternative to taste
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 teaspoon salt

Equipment:
Frying pan
Large pot
measuring cups and spoons
kitchen scissors
a single burner will do just fine

Serves 8-10.

-Akiroq

Please upvote.

Sort:  

Sewaiya....this is how it called

Cool thanks!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @steemflow.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you so much.

I used to make that too but the simpler version, just vermicelli and coconut milk. I'll try adding raisins next time.

It's nice with a few roasted/salted pistachios on top too. This is one of my favourite comfort foods.

You got a 14.51% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @akiroq!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM. Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84