Kaiserschmarrn - Quick Dessert From Omelet Pan

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

Kaiserschmarrn or czar's (emperor's) crumbs is a dessert simple and easy to make which is not a cake either not a pancake although it has some characteristics of both.

However, if you run out of ideas for dessert as I did yesterday, and want to make something quick and sweet, Kaiserschmarrn might be the solution for you, especially because you probably already have all the needed ingredients.

Kaiserschmarrn

Kaiserschmarrn is a German word and the original name of the dish that arrived in my country from Austria during Austrian-Hungarian monarchy.

It is also known as czar's or emperor's crumbs, just Schmarrn (as well a German word) or even as crumbled or crushed cake.

Although you may prepare it in the oven too, I like it because I can do it as well in the omelet pan which I find as easier and quicker.

Czar crumbs

There are many different variations on how this dessert can be prepared, but I will share with you my basic recipe (which I, BTW used yesterday too). The only thing is that I didn't have sparkling mineral water at home, so I used another sparkling beverage. It was some grapefruit sparkling juice.
(The importance of this sparkling liquid is to make the pastry more spongy.)

Just keep in mind that the quantities in my recipe are for at least four (4) people if not more. In case you want to prepare it only for yourself or for two (2) persons you should do it with only one (1) egg, and just 1/3 of the quantity of the other ingredients.

My Kaiserschmarrn (Emperor's Crumbs) Recipe

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 l of milk
  • 35 dkg (about 3 cups of) flour
  • 125 ml sparkling mineral water
  • 2 teaspoons (or 10 g) of vanilla sugar (sugar flavored with vanilla) - not mandatory
  • 1 teaspoon (or 5 g) of sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 dkg butter

Instructions

Separate egg yolks from egg whites.
Beat egg whites until a stiff foam.
Mix egg yolks with sugar, salt, and vanilla sugar. Then add milk and while still mixing, slowly pour in the flour to avoid clumps.

Continue to mix and add sparkling mineral water.
Finally, add to the mixture, slowly mixing again, the foam of egg whites (previously made).
(The obtained mass should be foamy and denser than your regular pancake mass.)

Melt butter in the omelet pan and when it's hot pour in the above mixture. Start baking it as you would cook the omelet. When the bottom side becomes firm and just a bit brownish, turn it on the other side and start chopping it with a fork.

When done, serve it with your preferable jam or marmalade.
(Yesterday, I used apricot jam and marmalade of mixed forest fruits.)

Bon appetite!

Emperor Crumbs


Posted on Friday, May 11, 2018


Photos source:
All photos in this article are my own, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S9 mobile phone. ~ © 2018 steemit.com/@ana-maria ~ All rights reserved!


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges

Sort:  

Looks very delicious the way you make it. I eat it often, too. It's a pretty common dish in Europe. Would you know why it's called with Prefix "Kaiser"? Did Kaiser like to eat Schmarrn? :)

hahaha - What a good question! 🙂
Well, I don't know the answer on that one, but must be something related to Kaiser when it has the name like that. It would be interesting to dig out that.

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 2.09$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

I'm curious to find out, too.

Great post @ana-maria, I never heard of this but this really looks delicious.

While I was reading the post I was so laughing all the way because of that name Kaiserschmarrn.. It's so funny to me hahaha uff.. Anyway... :D

You should ask your mom about it. 😉 I'm sure she would know. 🙂 Maybe under some other name (like just: Šmarn, Carske mrvice or Carski drobljenac).

Never the less, at least I gave you some good laugh! 😉🙂

It is incredible that such simple ingredients prepare an exquisite dessert, I will copy your recipe and try to imitate your preparation..I love it and I congratulate you ..

I invite you to visit my profile ..

Thank you! 🙂
I would really like to hear how it turns out for you!

AJ picked your post @ana-maria for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Wow - thank you very much!

Wow... looking for yummy. outstanding photography of food. I like Kaiserschmarrn Dessert . thank you so much for sharing.....@ana-maria

Thank you! 🙂 Glad to hear that!

Cakes I've never eaten, from where this cake comes from @ana-maria

Hmmm...???!!! - Did you even read the post, as I think I said that in the third sentence of the article?!

Looks very nice and delicious for a perfect breakfast :)

Thank you! 🙂
Yeah, I'm sure some would like it for a breakfast. I prefer something salty rather than sweet in the morning, so I would take this as some afternoon sweet with a tea.

That look really exciting @ana-maria i will try that!
Please follow me, best regards @mrandreas

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.89$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87