Chicken Noodle Soup is good for the soul they say.......so I made some.

in #cooking5 years ago

Do you ever scratch your head and wonder what to cook for dinner? That was me yesterday, no idea until I saw a photo of chicken noodle soup in an advert. Right, forget the tin stuff I could give a go at making this soup. A much healthier and yummier option, right?

It can't be that hard, I have some memories of my mum making it so I knew the steps and what ingredients to buy. A dash into the local supermarket to buy what I did not have in the pantry like chicken thighs, egg noodles, organic chicken stock and beans. This recipe is a busy one, there are lots of ingredients to put in. What I like about this soup is that it is very versatile, one can throw in whatever vegetable one likes, zucchini, sweet potato, potato etc.

Also, it is individual to how much soup to cook up. This time I chose to make a big stock pot full, I wanted to freeze some and to share with family.

My Chicken Noodle Soup

  • I chopped big brown onion, minced 4 large garlic gloves, 2 chopped celery stalks, a large chopped carrot, big handful of chopped beans, 2 handfuls of chopped chopped pumpkin.
  • I skinned 6 organic chicken thighs
  • Olive oil
  • 2 litres of chicken stock,* {I like the natural organic stock}*
  • 200 gram packet of egg noodles or Vermicelli
  • Put 1 cup of frozen peas and 2 cups of spinach leaves to one
  • Get the rock salt and pepper

  • First, cook onion for a minutes add the celery, carrots and garlic, cook for a minute or so. Next pour in the stock, put in the chicken thighs, simmer for 5 minutes, add the beans and pumpkin and any vegetable you choose.

  • Cook until the chicken cooked, take out the thighs, cut up and remove bones if you have any. Then place back into the broth with the egg noodles or vermicelli. Taste and add salt and pepper if you want.

  • Cook for 5 minutes before adding the peas.

  • Remove the stock pot from the heat and add the spinach leaves.

The soup was very yummy.

Another trick to make this soup tastier is to add Bouillon Powder when cooking the onion, garlic, celery and carrots. Bouillon powder in supermarkets can be salty etc. I did not put this in the soup this time but have since found a recipe online that seems easy enough to make. I am certainly going to give it a try for my .next chicken noodle soup

https://thathealthykitchen.com/bouillon-powder/


Cheers


Sort:  

howdy there angiemitchell! oh how yummy does that look anyway? Extremely! lol. Yes it's so healthy for you..those photos are great too.

Thank you janton, you are always so nice complimenting my cooking attempts. Shame you can't get to do the taste test! The downside of being across the world!

hahaha..hey angiemitchell...your cooking attempts? It seems to me that you are a pretty accomplished cook! it looked like a smashing success.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Judging from the ingredients, it must have been a great and healthy soup!!! ;-)

You are not wrong, it was all that with a lot of flavour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70