New Slow Cooker with BBQ Ribs and Bonus Pulled Pork (NSFV)

in #cooking6 years ago

After excessive drooling and coveting the food I've seen on Steemit, I decided to buy a slow cooker and see if I could produce something edible.

This is a quickie including a recipe(ish), robbed from inspired by UNDIE'S KITCHEN.

bella unboxing.JPG

I ordered a Bella Multi-Function Cooker. It's a slow cooker and pressure cooker in one. Yay. What's not to love about superfast stews and sloooow meat? It is really easy to use. I looked at the instructions a little bit but they're hardly even necessary coz all you need to know is written by the buttons on the front :D

bbq recipe ingredients.JPG

The first thing I decided to make was BBQ pork ribs. Here are the ingredients but I also added a good slug of shop-bought BBQ Sauce to the mix too.

ribs marinade.JPG

I mixed the ingredients together into a thick paste. Sorry, I don't measure or weigh. Things are done by eye at my age :P

ribs marinade2.JPG

I smushed the marinade/sauce all over the ribs and let them sit around in it for an hour or so before getting the Bella involved.

All I had to do was line the ribs, standing up like soldiers, around the rim of the Bella, stick the lid on and set the timer to 7 hours.

bella cooking.JPG

When the time was up, I took them out, slapped them on the grill pan (or 'broiler' for US people) and brushed some more sauce across. They took a few minutes each side to bubble up and get a bit charred.

RESULT

The meat literally fell off the bones. They were juicy, full of flavour, and the marrow was totally suckable. They were heavenly, even though I say so myself.

But, I made 3 main mistakes:

  1. I didn't cook enough of them. They all vanished in minutes!
  2. I think they'd have been okay after 5-6 hours slow cooking rather than the 7!
  3. Unfortunately, because of the long cooking time, I completely forgot I was going to write a blog for Steemit and didn't take any 'after' pics. Oops. :P

To compensate for this, here's a picture of the pulled pork I made the next day, slathered on a white bread butty :D

pulled pork.JPG

Needless to say, I'm thrilled with my new Bella and think we're going to be on good terms for a very long time.

Thanks for popping by.

Love, Anj xx

If you love to crochet, checkout the latest

ULTIMATE CROCHET CONTEST

There are opportunities to showcase your work, make new friends and win SBD Prizes! Yay!

SIGNATURE.png

akdivider celtic.png

Other eclectic articles

anjkaracarve banner.jpeg

RED FLAGS! Narcissistic Personality Disorder

Honest. It's not a scam. I Forgive YOU!

I have a sad and tragic story... or do I?

Tutorial (fail) shawl pin/ hair thing

Crochet Bichon Frieze

Crochet colourful blanket

Crochet frog tutorial

Crochet for beginners Part 2

Crochet for beginners. Part 1

akdivider celtic.png

SMARTSTEEM

Crypto Empire

Unless otherwise stated, all pics in my blog are either mine or freely available online, labelled for reuse and doctored by me.

SIGNATURE.png

Sort:  

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

I was drooling while reading this! :) I love ribs, it's my favorite part and the way you cook it sounds like am gonna love it! So am going to see you on video while cooking anj?!

Miss you xxx

Hiya Dawn. It's been ages hasn't it. Haven't been as active on here lately (except in crochet stuff). I'm getting low on VP but I'll come and visit your blog very soon xxx

:) Take your time Anj! I'm on and off as well. I'm happy to see you doing everything yah love. ^^ xxx

thanks Dawn :)

Welcome Anj xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25