Asking for advice from my chefs and home cooks: Slow Cook vs Bake Lasagna?

in #cooking6 years ago

Looks good doesn't it?

picszNISn.jpg

Photo Credit: CROCK POT LASAGNA SharonChen 10/22/2013

I have always made lasagna the way we mostly think to, grab a pan, layers, etc. I came across a really neat recipe for Super Easy Crock Pot Lasagna which uses a jarred sauce and this one here Cock Pot Lasagna which uses tomato sauce and paste and you season yourself.

I have a few questions and would love any feedback at all.

Here are my questions:

  1. Baked (conventional) or Slow Cook ("Crock Pot") method?
  2. Is cottage cheese really better than ricotta? what about both?
  3. Which recipe would you follow?

I plan to make the Slow Cook method at least once this week and see first hand, but feedback and input would be greatly appreciated!

Sort:  

My dad made some crock pot spaghetti once that was bomb as fuck. I still remember it ten years later as some of the best shit I've ever eaten. Wife tried it with some premade sauce and it wasn't the same.

Season yourself with a ton of oregano. Let us know how it goes!

Yeah that makes a lot of sense actually. It hit me, premade sauce is ALREADY cooked, so cooking it again kind of destroys it, whereas making it from scratch, the tomatoes still need to be cooked down and therefor the sauce gets just perfect by the time the meal is finished, not overly cooked and thus loosing some of the great taste it originally had.

Exaaaactly.

Now crock pot ziti would pronbably be better than lasagna. Cause you can stir it better than lasagna.

No need to stir it if you cook it on super low. I'm going to try making it this week, we shall see how it comes out!

If the blockchain is super nice and good and sweet and polite, could you post a pic? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15