Grandpa Gotta Cook—Pad Thai

in #cooking6 years ago

You Finally Did It

Yes, folks, I did. I'd been threatening for a few weeks now to do this, and I finally managed to do it. Pad Thai. However, I did back off from doing it on the grill after I saw the task before me. It was compounded by the fact that I couldn't find any peanut sauce in the store I went to, which meant I would making it from scratch.

So, gear up people, it's Food Fight Friday, and we're going full on Thai for this installment of Grandpa Gotta Cook.

Cue Theme Music.

What Theme Music?

We live in a small rural area, a few miles away from a larger town. Thai food is hard to come by, surprisingly enough. There is one place that I know who serves it there, and I like it a lot. It's pretty much the place that has given me an appreciation for Pad Thai.

IMG_1876.JPG

Unfortunately, it takes a boatload of ingredients. I've got most of them pictured here, though I seem to be lacking a few. And, I actually ended up not using the green onion, but it was a part of the recipe. So, as you can see, starting from the left: crushed red pepper, ground ginger, peanut butter, soy sauce, fish sauce, coconut milk, lemon juice, minced garlic, rice vinegar, the actual rice noodles, and in front, bean sprouts and peanuts to crush. Not pictured is the salad shrimp I mistakenly thawed, eggs, and some brown sugar.

IMG_1878.JPG

I actually followed a recipe from a website this time (I know!), which instructed me to start with the sauce. Most everything came out in tablespoon or teaspoon measurements, other than the coconut milk, which required a cup measure. After dumping in the dry, wet and gooey ingredients, I ended up stirring the resulting sauce to try to get it as smooth as possible. You can see here that there was still a few things that didn't quite break down.

IMG_1879.JPG

I then took some roasted peanuts, put them in a plastic bag and pounded them into submission for a minute or so. This is an image of their pre-crushed state.

IMG_1881.JPG

Once that was done, I was instructed to set all of it aside and start boiling noodles. I didn't think that an 8 ounce package was going to be enough, so I had a couple other packages of already cooked rice noodles (just microwave and serve!) at the ready. I ended up tossing it all in.

After the noodles were sufficiently softened, I poured them out into a strainer and then rinsed the noodles off with tap water.

IMG_1882.JPG

While the noodles sat, it was time to warm up the pre-cooked shrimp. About a couple minutes into that, I started cooking three eggs which would then be scrambled. As you can see, the larger pan I was using was already filling up with just these two ingredients, and I still needed to add the noodles and bean sprouts.

IMG_1883.JPG

After the egg had cooked sufficiently, I rescued the noodles and plopped them into the pan. Literally. They'd been cooling off and ended up sticking together, so I had to separate them. Don't worry. I washed my hands. Probably four times throughout this process.

IMG_1884.JPG

With all of that mixed together and continuing to warm, it was time to add the peanut sauce. I probably should have made more, but it seemed to cover all of the ingredients already in the pan. The bean sprouts were added last, and the entire thing was left to cook for another four to five minutes.

IMG_1885.JPG

Once that was all done, I filled my plate, added some crushed nuts, and after a quick blessing, proceeded to scarf mine down.

The Verdict

Well, I would say it's mixed, even from me. There were parts of the Pad Thai where it was really good. The peanut sauce was happening and there was a little kick from the pepper flakes, but then there were other parts where that just kind of faded a bit. Not bland, just not reaching the point of excellence of some of the other bites. Over all, the heat wasn't quite what I wanted, either. I doubled the crushed red pepper just like I did for the rest of the recipe, but apparently it didn't come through enough.

The rest of the polling went thusly:

  • Youngest Son: Really good, Dad. It's a keeper.

  • Daughter-in-law: Doesn't like Pad Thai. Tried it. Didn't finish it.

  • Wife: Said it was good, but that Pad Thai is not her favorite, and she missed the heat, too.

Conclusion

I think if I make this again, I'm going to make sure to add in the onions, as well as up the crushed pepper quotient, and maybe have the Rooster sauce (that's what we call it) sitting on the table so my wife will use it. Then I'll get a burger for the daughter-in-law.

Anyone interested in using the recipe I followed (and deviated from only slightly), you can find it by clicking here.


About This Post

This installment of Grandpa Gotta Cook is published in conjunction with the good folks behind Food Fight Friday. All participants are welcome. The only prerequisite is that you love food and that you post on Friday.

Sort:  

Honestly you had me at peanut sauce.

Honestly, I think if I just set up an IV and a pump, I could probably just stick with the peanut sauce. :) I'm not so much into Pad Thai for any of the other ingredients. It would just need some more of the spice. That said, I guess I could just whip up some peanut sauce anytime I want. I wonder how well it would go on other foods, like oatmeal, or a bagel. Something like that. :)

Good with spring rolls. Probably good with apple slices..........note to self make sauce and get apples.

Oh, yeah! Completely forgot apples. Now, I haven't tried them with spring rolls. They usually just hand me a sweet and sour sauce at Panda Express. I'll need to keep that in mind, even though the spring rolls usually don't make it all the way home. :) I guess I could buy some spring rolls at the store couldn't I? :)

I’m not a fan of pad thai myself but now and then I will order it. It’s too sweet for me. At least you tried it out. I’ve never tried making it at home. Asian food have a bunch of ingredients. I usually have them lined up when I cook. 🙂

Hey, @beeyou.

Too sweet? Hunh. I must have made mine wrong, then. :) I mean it did have quite a bit of brown sugar in it, but that's not what I tasted really. I probably could have cut that part in half and it would have more or less tasted the same. I didn't check to see if the coconut milk was sweetened. I guess there would be sugar in peanut butter, too. Probably could have just left the brown sugar out.

So, I guess you like sour tastes better? Or something else?

Yeah, I thought Mexican food had a lot of ingredients. Holy cow. :)

@sivehead's verdict: never tried Pad Thai, looks interesting tasty, not a fan of shrimp, but love all other ingredients. might have to swap shrimp for chicken or something.

Still haven't managed to get a scratch'n'sniff phone yet! 😢

Hey, @sivehead.

Well, thanks for the verdict.

Aside from peanuts, I'm not sure there was much to smell this time around, so I don't know how much the scratch 'n' sniff phone would have assisted in this case. Especially if shrimp is not to your fancy. Chicken totally goes with it and so does beef, and I'm sure there's folks who throw in tofu (though I wouldn't). So, you've got a variety of options there as far as the protein part goes. Shrimp was the quickest part of this, so I was more than happy to use it. :)

This is insane and so awesome that you took on a pad Thai making challenge. Great job @glenalbrethsen, I couldn’t be prouder of a triple F contestant then I am righ now. My husband and I are currently on a Thai food kick and I just ate pad Thai (minus the fish sauce and egg) last week. I always think of these foods as something you order when you go out to eat because you wouldn’t make it at home. Well you crushed that notion and may have even inspired me to try my hand at a pad Thai challenge. I’ll keep you apprised of the Pad Thai developments in our house. Haha

Fantastic job @glenalbrethsen, can’t wait to see what you cook up next week.

Well, I'm sure you'll crush it and fling it into the stratosphere with your version because you know what you're doing. :)

You and some others have been upping the game here with the FFF tag, so I figured I probably should at least aspire to something greater, even if I failed. Really only trying to have fun and get through my evening of cooking without burning down the house or poisoning everyone in it. :)

That said, we've been tending to eat things made at home that we would normally eat out for. Not sure if it's intentional, or what, but it happens with increasing frequency. So, maybe I'm a part of that trend now. Maybe not. Not sure what I'm doing tomorrow, but I hope it's fast and easy. :)

I think ‘you really know what you’re doing’ and I look forward to your dishes now. Yes, these food fighters did not come to play and so many of the dishes just look fantastic. Did you happen to catch @creationofcare s post with the blueberry tapenade over salmon dish?!? Just incredible! I’m honored to be amongst such a talented group of chefs. You, my friend, are not to be wrenkoned with either. Until next FFF @glenabrethsen.

Oh, I definitely saw creationofcare's entry. Holy cow. It's like ripped from the pages of a cooking magazine. Presentation. Great food. Great explanation.

You're kind to say all of that, but I'm still very much winging it. :)

I couldn’t tell by looking at your food and nobody else could either. Pura Vida ✌️

This is a great post sir, very descriptive too!

My wife and I just had Pad Thai last night actually! A little Thai joint near us (we’re in LA, probably just a teency weency bit easier to find Thai food) last night, my wife had the Pad Thai and I had the Veggie curry, both of us minus the egg and it was delicious sir! It was great! Took the leftovers home and now they’re gone too. But what I’m trying to say is yours looks better! With a homemade peanut sauce even?! Yum!

Great contender @glenalbrethsen.

hey, @dandays.

Well, I'll take your word for it that mine looked better. I'm sure yours tasted better, though, especially from beginning to end.

And, yeah, just a teency bit more Thai down there. In fact, there's a teency bit more of everything down there. Great place to eat all kinds of different types of food if you ever want it.

I couldn't find the peanut sauce at the store, so yeah, couldn't have Pad Thai without it, so from scratch it came.

I was feeling the heat from everyone else now associating with the Food Fight Friday tag so I figured I'd better amp it up over my failed omelette last week, see. :)

Oh amped it up for sure! I heard you smash the gas pedal from way over here. I’m admittedly biased toward Pad Thai, I love it, but to see it made from scratch like this, with pictures, I can assure you one of these days we’ll base a meal off your steps. Thanks again for sharing.

Hey can you get ahold of House Of Tsang peanut sauce? I’m sure you’re aware of it, ya? I’m pretty sure it’s a readily available product. Oh my goodness gracious... de-lish! When I think of peanut sauce, that’s where my mind goes.

It does look like it's available to buy online. I couldn't find any sort at the Safeway I went to, but I didn't really try anywhere else. It was waste time doing that, or waste time making it, so I opted for what was supposed to be a 10 minute deal (turned into 25 for me :), instead of what could have been another 20 minutes or more while still failing to find it, which meant I would still have to make it. However, now that you've suggested this brand, I can see about ordering it, or maybe getting it at Walmart, since that's what shows up. Thanks for the suggestion.

My pleasure! I’d be surprised if Walmart didn’t stock it. Should you find yourself picking up a bottle, let me know what you think of it. It’s my favorite.

haven't really had see food before but this made me go for it. Those shrimps looked like something I could finally say yes to :D Plus, do not forget the onions next time you cook as those are the compulsory ingredient for most of the people with whatever they cook :D Good day @glenalbrethsen

Hey, at @hananali.

I'm not a fan of onions myself, and neither is my daughter-in-law, so they're easy to leave out.

I like seafood a lot, and if it weren't more expensive than most other meats, we'd probably eat more of it. In this case, you can also serve Pad Thai with beef or chicken, so it doesn't have to be shrimp. And I should have used larger shrimp, but I opened up the wrong bag. My wife probably wanted to make shrimp cocktail out of those. Oh, well. She can probably use the larger ones, too. :)

I have never really tried seafood yet, only once I had that mix soup and I kind of had mixed reactions, may be because I wasn't used to the taste or it was a new thing for me. Didn't really get to try it again as its not such a trend here.

That's some good team work going on in between both you guys :D cute as usual :) Glad you guys are together

Very ambitious! I'm with you, I would definitely add a bit of rooster sauce.

Hey, @lizzyib.

I think I was thrown a bit by the cooking and prep time. It didn't seem to be that long, but then when I saw all the ingredients I would need, many of which we didn't already have, that meant a run to the store, and then a game plan of just how to get started. I didn't want to dirty a bunch of dishes, too, so that took some thinking. Probably should have had all of that worked out in my head before I started, but then I didn't.

Yeah. I relied way too much on the red crushed pepper. In the past, when I've added it to Zuppa Toscana, it brought the heat real quick. Almost too much. So, I didn't want to repeat that, but apparently I needed to quadruple what the recipe asked for instead of just double. That would have resulted in a 1/2 teaspoon instead of the 1/4 I threw in.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-10T23:33:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 187.85/200.00
Total Photos: 30
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.78 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hey, @photocontests4.

Just thought I'd show some appreciation for having all of these different photo contests in the first place. There's always some great photos entering and it's good to have an outlet for them. In my case, I just like to try, but there are some others here who are definitely good and deserving of anything they win. Keep up the good work. :)

what the??? you actually eat that kind of stuff? lol, just teasing, no it looks really good, I've never heard of Pad Thai before so I guess I'm missing out!

I really like it when it's done right. Mine kind of missed the mark. I meant to make some pineapple rice, too, but after I got into this, I decided to forget it. There was already enough going on. I guess if I do it again I'll able to shave off some cooking time and maybe consider the rice.

It does sound like you might need to widen out your culinary palate a little. It's not like we're in the middle of cultural diversity here, but we do eat quite a bit of other ethic dishes. Of course, you eat what you know and what you like, so no worries. :)

oh no, I agree. it's just that it's hard to get people to cook for me sometimes! haha! no but I would really like to and plan to but at the moment being on the Keto diet is very limiting.

Well, that's true. I guess there are some vegetable based noodle substitutes, but I don't know how appetizing they really are to me. At any rate, aside from the noodles, it is pretty keto friendly, but really the peanut sauce is what makes or breaks it, I think, and that you could pretty much put on anything.

sir Glen..I love peanut sauce but don't have any, I would put it on anything.
the shrimp though, yuck, I thought the Mormons wouldn't eat shrimp or shelfish. that's disappointing. lol.

Well, unless I've been missing something all this time, we definitely do eat seafood, and as much as we can get our hands on. :) Lobster, prawns, clams, oysters—even the occasional squid and octopus—all pretty tasty. I'd probably like crab more if you didn't have to work so hard to get to the meat.

I had to make my own peanut sauce. It wasn't that hard, really. Took about 10 minutes, more or less. Probably less the next time around.

so how do you make that peanut sauce just add oil to some peanut butter?

Well, this was specific to Pad Thai, so I suppose there's different ways of doing it. This didn't have an oil in the sauce. I would say peanut butter, coconut milk and brown sugar would be the base ingredients. There was soy sauce, fish sauce and rice vinegar, too, along with ginger and garlic. So, again, specific to Thai cuisine. I imagine you could look up peanut sauce recipes that might be more specific to what you'd want to do.

Pad thai is one of my favorite dishes! I love that you made your from scratch. I'm not sure what happened that your DIL doesn't like it, but it must have been something traumatic. Throw some spicy sauce on there for your wife next time and you'll be good to go!

I've come to really like Pad Thai, too. I liked the restaurant's version better, though. Mine definitely needs more heat, but not a whole lot, and more peanut sauce.

I think the DIL is just picky. Which is why she's so skinny. She just doesn't like a whole lot of different foods. Since her oldest sister is like that, too, it's hard to tell if she's actually being healthy or not. She's got some kind of digestive problem she's never fully diagnosed either, that went away while she was pregnant, but now it's coming back I think. I suspect she doesn't like the texture of the rice noodles, either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27