Yorkshire Puddings with Lancashire Hotpot

in #cooking6 years ago

40260959601_b0e47c12b9_b.jpg

Tried my hand at Lancashire Hotpot yesterday and my wife and family were very impressed.

While searching for information on the preparation I happened upon an image of mini-yorkshire puddings and thought that would make a good combo.

Well the family polished everything off in about 20 minutes and I wished I had made double the quantities as I realized there could not be a better leftover than this Hotpot.

I follow it up with Pecan Nut Pie with whipped cream , which was purchased.

So here's the info should anyone like to give it a whirl.

Lancashire Hotpot

Served 6 adults

3.5 hours total time
2.25 - 2.5 hours total cooking time

Ingredients

1 kg of A grade lamb, chopped into cubes
2 Lamb kidneys, chopped into small pieces
2 medium sized red onions or 1 large, chopped
1 kg of potatoes, peeled and sliced
1 table spoon of Thyme
1 teaspoon of Rosemary
2-3 large Carrots, as seems like a good ratio, sliced (chunky)
3 tablespoons of sifted flour
500 ml of mutton stock
2 table spoons of Worcestershire Sauce
3 A bay leaf or three, depending on the size
3 Tablespoons of oil - I prefer coconut oil (Better for the brain)

Preparation :

Brown the lamb in a skittle with the oil, then place in a separate bowl
Brown the kidneys in the oil left by the lamb and remove to another bowl
Brown the onions slightly in the skittle in the remaining oil
Add the herbs and flour after lowering the heat and stir until well mixed, then remove

Place a layer of potatoes on the bottom of the suitably sized oven proof bowl with lid
Add the lamb and kidneys and then the onion, flour and herb mixture
Add the stock and Worcestershire Sauce
Cover with the sliced carrots
Top it off with the remainder of the potatoes
Cook for 2 hours at 170 c with lid on
Remove the lid and coat the top layer of potatoes with a little oil and then put it back for 15 min to brown, depending on your oven(Fan or not, etc)

Serve Hot ( Its called Hot Post after all)

6162890646_36d8b2ecc1_b.jpg

Yorkshire Puddings

These are awesome

Ingredients

200 gm of sifted flour
4 eggs
1/4 teaspoon of salt
200 ml of milk

Preparation

Whisk the eggs
Add the flour and whisk some more
Add the milk and whisk till really smooth

Add a centimeter of oil to each bay of a twelve bay muffin tray or 2 six bay trays
Heat the oil to 190 degrees, no less.
Remove tray carefully and pour the mixture into the oil in each bay, being careful not to spill
Replace tray in oven and do not open for 20 minutes, depending on your oven.

Remove and serve with the whatever your main dish is.

In my case it went perfectly with the Lancashire Hotpot.

Yorkshire and Lancashire are two counties in England and the origins of these dishes date back at least as far as the 18th centurey, I believe.

Delicious though, as my family will testify.
Pecan_pie,_November_2010.jpg
By Joe Hakim - Flickr: Pecan Pie, CC BY 2.0,

Attribution :
Lancashire hotpot
Yorkshire pudding
Pecan pie

I modified a recipe I found online for the Hotpot, posted by one Titly Nihaan.
The Yorkshire Puddings recipe I followed roughly was by Jamie Oliver.

Images from Wikipedia and Google images (labelled for reuse) as I did not photograph my results, silly me.

Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Thanks for the recipe @graviton. Hmm looks super delicious!

great work.Keep doing what you know how to do best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82