Frying potato salad and sausages in coconut oilsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cooking5 years ago

Frying may be high in fat, but you can still use healthy ingredients. I use alot of coconut oil with my cooking and a little every morning in my coffee. Though I have not done much frying with it.

I made some potato salad and want to bring it alot on adventures I go on outdoors. When I'm outside potato salad is not easily cared for so Lovely Logic had the idea that I should fry the mash into fritters.

To make my potato salad. It started with boiled potatoes, then chopped up and put in a food processor. I made my mayonnaise and used a few cups of it as I chopped up the potatoes in the processor.

Once the mayo and potatoes are well blended I add a few pickles. And have those processed too.

It's ready, now to chill it and then get to frying. You chill it so the scoops you use to fry that solid salad mix better.

Once chilled I made my batter, using almond milk, egg, almond flour and coconut flour. The coconut oil was brought up to temp and tested by dropping a flake of flour in to see if it boils.

Once scooped and dipped in the almond milk and flour mixture they are placed carefully in the oil. I let them sit for about four minutes on each side and then scoop out with a slotted spoon.

They came out real good, cant wait to enjoy them out in the woods somewhere. A great calorie dense snack when I need to replenish some energy.

I cut up sausages and dip them in the batter and place them in the oil.. and a few minutes later Luci shows up, smelling the delicious meat cooking in the pan.

They came our as pigs in a blanket I guess. Well whatever they are, they are real tasty. For my first time frying this all came out real good.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Ooohhhh, I'll eat anything potato! :D I'm a great potato fan! And those both look real good - great idea... I gotta try that! Thanks!! :))

@ackhoo I love potateos too, yeah give it a try and maybe you will like it alot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very good way to make the potato. Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

@daysiselena thanks alot yeah I like them too. And no problem glad to share my recipe.

Posted using Partiko Android

Never thought about frying this particular side dish, great idea! I have had fried mac and cheese balls, they are quite yummy.

@jamethiel yeah frying opens the doors to all kinds of ideas, oh I have not tried fried mac and cheese. I may give that a try.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

I have a food processor and most of the ingredients except almond milk.
I could make that myself. I should give this right. Looks really crispy outside and soft inside.
Saved this on partiko to come back to it. Ty for sharing on pypt

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi blind-spot the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

@blind-spot oh sweet, best of luck making some.. if you dont have almond milk normal milk is fine too.

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17