Making pastirma part 2 of 3, post009

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)


This is the second video of three showing the production of pastirma. In the first video I trimmed the meat and prepared it for salt curing. In this video I take you through the process of salt curing, drying, and creating the spiced coating for the exterior of the meat.

To summarize, the meat is heavily salted and pressed using 16 pounds of weight to force the water and blood from it. After around three days, fluid no longer seeps from the meat. I then soak the meat in clean water for two hours to reduce the salt from the surface. After soaking, I poke a hole in it, thread a string through the hole, and hang it to air dry. The room I use for drying is around 50-60 degrees F and well ventilated. After three days, I prepare a spice coating and apply it to the surface. After drying, but before adding the spices, the meat weighs is 3.1 pounds, down from the original 6.2 pounds.

The spice coating is prepared by blending

0.5 c sweet paprika
0.5 c ground fenugreek
1 t cumin
1/8 c ground cayenne pepper
½ c whole garlic cloves

in a food processor with ¾ c water. A coating of around 2 mm is applied and the meat is hung to dry. The aroma is extremely strong; I suggest that the drying be preformed somewhere that is very well ventilated.

You can find part 1 of this video series here: https://steemit.com/cooking/@spbeckman/hpmem030
You can find part 3 of this video series here: https://steemit.com/cooking/@spbeckman/vwx6ua2j

In case DTube isn’t playing nicely with my video, I am posting a link to the YouTube version here.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

very good. My family are very much into making preserved foods from scratch too. Part of the European culture. thanks for sharing

Thanks! Last summer I made salt brined pickles from fresh produce. I'm just finishing these now so I'm ready for new vegetables this summer.

Hola spbeckman
Genial...... me alegra ver la segunda parte de la preparación.
Me gustaría animarme, prepararla y luego degustarla con un vino.
Bueno... esperaré la tercera parte.
Ahi si me tomaré el vino.
Saludos y Gracias

Wait for part 3, coming soon...

The final product, is mostly good, but needs some minor improvements. I have a good idea how to do so. Because it takes over a month to complete, it means that testing my recipe changes takes time. I hope that by 2019 I've completed 1-2 more batches and have the process perfected.

Okey. Estaré pendiente. Gracias y buena suerte

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05