Cookwithus #29 the Mauritian dholl pita+chutney tomato 🍅

in #cookwithus5 years ago (edited)

2BF861E7-FA13-4A32-BFCF-FCE120AFC0F0.jpeg


Hello my dearest friends of steemit! Today I would share with you my first entry in this round in this beautiful contest cookwithus.
Yesterday I was not well because my pregnancy am still suffering from it, and not any food I can eat it, that’s why I decided to cook something Vegan without meat, chicken, fish, to avoid vomiting, I didn’t find better than this Mauritian recipe to enjoy it in this period, and the thing which encouraged me , it’s this contest, I founded the ingredients approximately the same , and I said why I will not participate on it.
So I will share with you the ingredients which i used :

INGREDIENTS:


04990BE2-ED8E-4589-AF45-94C9D8C0F712.jpeg


  • 1 bowl of yellow split peas
  • 1/2 bowl of black lentils
  • 3 grated tomatoes
  • 3 cloves of garlic grated
  • coriander
  • thyme
  • oil
  • 1 big onion grated
  • 1 tablespoon of ginger paste
  • 3 tablespoon of ghee of salted butter
  • salt, cumin powder, turmeric

DIRECTION:

  • put in pressure cooker the onion +grated tomatoes + garlic + thyme +coriander + oil+ginger + cumin + salt+ turmeric and let all cook little.
  • put the lentils + yellow split peas in water.
  • add them to the mixture and stir them well.
  • add the water and let all cook.

5DEB4EC3-925C-44E8-96AB-AA1A0BAE70F7.jpeg


AE44D358-D647-45AD-95EA-1554E9396DD2.jpeg


46A2BD34-96AD-47F9-99E9-187DF703031D.jpeg


preparation of the dough:

  • flour
  • salt
  • water
    In a large bowl put the flour + salt and collect them with warm water and you get a soft dough .
  • spread the dough with little flour and roller spin , and cut it like you see in the picture.

95781F28-CE23-4584-B5CB-8ED9C683BA14.jpeg


7B5496D9-E6C9-474B-918B-66212394E7FE.jpeg


746A2AFB-EA33-4CC1-9E87-C8DEB148296D.jpeg


  • add the ghee to the lentils soup and add little by little the small pieces of dough and mix well the mixture, let all cook.
  • add the water when you see the mixture dry.
  • check with the fork the dough if cooked .
  • then turn off the oven.

402819FD-466B-4E3F-9E2C-DC4D4A1D5937.jpeg


Preparation of chutney tomato:

  • 5 tomatoes 🍅
  • 2 green chilli
  • 1 Small onion cut finely
  • coriander
  • little salt

DIRECTION:

  • put the tomatoes in oven for 6 min, let them cool down , then peel them, and crush it with the fork , add the coriander + onion + green chili cut finely, little salt.
  • mix all well, and bon appetit!

6FA64333-E47E-4C38-A520-4E0E0E0C6CEE.jpeg


2411FC39-B287-4203-A9A8-28F0D3A6BC5F.jpeg


5C7F5A7E-05C4-4331-B612-0E1766BD6F73.jpeg


This recipe is old one in Mauritius, it’s a traditional dish , and me us everyone know that am Moroccan, and not any food I can eat , and I can cook, it must be nutritious, healthy, tasty , I used the lentils because so rich of iron
And the dough replace the bread , chutney for give my dish spicy 🌶 taste .

Thanks @offoodandart, @chefsteve, and @pandamama for another great theme. A big thank you @curie and @sneaky-ninja for the support.

I hope you will like my entry for this round !

I hope you give it try to taste it.
All photos are mine and original!

An upvote will be most welcomed!

Do resteem it if you think more people need to see it.

Thank you very much!

@creativewoman.

Sort:  

Great entry @creativewoman. My husband told me that dholl pita is a very popular dish during cyclone seasons in Mauritius. His grandma used to make them when he was growing up. He had had the dish for over 20 yrs now and was quite happy when I showed it to him. Welcome to Cwu and good luck.

Thank you very much dear @foodforsoul, exactly this is a popular dish , and old recipe, I learned it from my mother in law, we prepare during cyclone or in the winter, I think your are married with Mauritian same like me.

Thanks for joining Cook with Us @creativewoman and welcome!

Could you please resteem this post? Once completed, your entry will be valid. Thanks so much!

Thank you very much dear @cookwithus for welcoming me in this contest, I resteemed the post, I hope you will like my entry.

Wonderful! Thank you! Oh yeah, we like your entry! Looks delicious!

Welcome to @cookwithus - This looks wonderful @creativewoman - I really hope your pregnancy goes well going forward and that you feel better

Thank you very much dear @pandamama for welcoming me in this contest, really am so happy to participate on it, my pregnancy is going well.

Welcome to Cook with Us @creativewoman! You're starting things off with a beautiful and delicious dish. Thank so much and good luck!

Thank you very much dear @offoodandart for your kind words, I appreciate them.

Hello Friend how are you? It looks delicious, I hope you win in the contest, the photos with the steps look very beautiful, I send you a big hug

Hi friend! Am fine thanks! Am glad that you like it.

Welcome to Cook with Us @creativewoman! It is great to have you here with the community. I'm glad that you found a dish that you can eat during your pregnancy! You are lucky as this dish also looks so delicious!

I also like to use a pressure cooker to speed up the cooking of beans, lentils and stews! I actually learned about using the pressure cooker when I was working with a chef in Morocco!

I really like the pasta that you made to go with your dal. I have never see this dish before and just reading it I can see how soothing and nourishing it would be to eat. The chutney adds a nice bit of heat and freshness from the chili, raw onion and cilantro.

This is a wonderful dish and I am glad that you shared it with us!

Hi my friend @chefsteve, thank you very much for your warm welcome, really am very proud of your encouraging comment, really I appreciate it especially you are a chef and you worked with the Moroccan chef, am sure that you took the Moroccan gastronomy, but this dish is Mauritian, I learned it from my mother in law.
Thank you very much for your kind words!

It looks so yummy!! I must give a try....

Hi dear! I think in India also they prepare this dish, because I saw them here in Mauritius, they cook it.

This looks like something I'd love to try any day 😋

Thank you for stopping by dear @celestialcow, I hope you give it try one day.

Looks really a delicious food! Thanks to share the process and I ope today everything is better for you cause your pregnancy ^_^

Thank you very much my dear friend Silvia, am feeling better, just sometimes I get like vomiting, and I can’t eat everything.

Oh yum @creativewoman, looks delicious, I just love dhol! A Gujerati friend taught me how to make Moongh Dhol, made with green mung beans.
Good luck with the contest :)

Thank you very much dear @ lizelle for your comment, I hope you give it try , if you want to cook just dholl you can cook it without putting the dough , it’s the same recipe.

I'm keen to try it with the dough, looks delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97