Cook with Us #14: My Comforting Fajita Chicken Roulade

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

A muffled clap. Another one. And one more. They can finally let go of their sweaty gloves. The air was still saturated with coal dust, the result of the last boring in the shaft. My dad’s ears were still buzzing from a prior explosion when the siren sounded. It was the end of another big shifts. Summer tends to make life underground worst. Most men would wear the bear minimum while excavating. The mining cage has been working overtime. There was a soft murmur in the queue as they await their turn to come out of the mine shaft. Kopalnia Morcinek has been home to hundreds of Polish miners for years now. My dad joined at the prime age of 27 after an earlier career as a blacksmith. His skills at the forge made him a required man in the mines. 

As he awaits his turn to climb into the cage he couldn’t help but think of his family. He has barely seen us most week. He has been at the mine 12hrs a day and returning when my brothers and I were already in bed. At the time we lived in a one bedroom apartment in Ustron, in Poland South East, close to the Czech border. The communist regime was at the verge of collapse. But mining was still booming with coal miners. The money is not great but is good. And most miners who started in their 20’s had the promise of being able to retire in their 40’s with a hefty pension. This was a good reason to keep everyone going. As my dad emerge from the mine, he removed the hard hat cocked back on his head. He took a deep breath and rush to the showers to prepare for the trip home.

Back in Ustron, my mum was busy in the kitchen. It was Sunday, she didn’t have to go back to work for another day. The last few days have been demanding at the Foster Care where she worked as a cook. One of the drawbacks of communism was that many families could not afford to care for all of the children. As a result some will be placed into Foster Care. There will be fed, cared for and taught. It was not ideal but at least they had a roof on their head and caring people. My mum was one of them. Away from her culinary duties, every weekend, she will ask for permission to take one of the foster kids home. It was always the same girl. Her name was Kasia. She was a skinny and blonde, as tall I was, roughly 4 yrs old. We would generally play the weekend away at “pretend” and with our dolls.

It was tradition in my family to prepare a chicken roast on Sunday. The smells emanating from the kitchen would be the prompt that my dad would be home soon. Although I grew tired of the chicken roast over the years, I cherish these memories as they were synonym of laughter, and joy. A time of togetherness and sharing. On Sundays, my family was one again. And for the few hours we got to play and run around with my dad they were precious time. My mum would run back into the kitchen to prepare her famous chicken soup while the chicken will be roasting in the oven. For dessert she would prepare some homemade blueberry polish dumpling. Shortly before 6pm we would all gather and share this meal together and talk and laugh again. I can’t remember the specifics of these times, but I have bright visions that these were happy times for every little girl growing up in a country on the verge of major socio-economic changes.

For this week’s contest I intended on making the blueberry polish dumpling. But then I saw this article about mining in the local newspapers and this took me back to the 80’s and my Sunday afternoons in Ustron with my family. With other contestants having showcased a dumpling dish, I set my mind on making something out of chicken. My own version of Sunday roast without it having to specifically a roast. And I thought of this chicken roulade. It is an earthy, and comforting dish that brings along this spirit of togetherness that I’m reminiscing in this post. Since the theme was wrap, I’ve made my own puff pastry from scratch with the left overs used for some chocolate plots. I hope you enjoy it. Bon appétit!

As this is the end of the current “season” of the contest before the long break, I would like to take this opportunity to thank to @chefsteve, @offoodandart and @pandamama from the @cookwithus team for hosting and organising this contest. They’ve gone over and beyond to grow this contest on various levels and platforms. Whilst I will miss the family spirit that have grown amongst the various contestants, I must admit that the break would be good to recharge and prepare the new season. Good luck to everyone and see you guys for the next season.

Ingredients:

Roulade

  • 6 medium size chicken breasts
  • 3 capsicum (red, green and yellow)
  • 6 Swiss cheese
  • Fajita seasoning


Puff Pastry

  • 250g butter
  • 250g flour
  • 100ml cold water


Fajita Seasoning

  • 1/4 cup chilli powder
  • 2 tbsp salt
  • 2 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp cumin


Alfalfa Salad

  • 2 large beetroot
  • 2 large carrots
  • Handful  alfalfa sprouts
  • 4 tbsp mixed toasted seed
  • 100 g feta cheese
  • Salt and Pepper

Dressing

  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tbsp orange juice
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger
  • 4 tbsp olive oile

Methods:

To make the fajita seasoning:

  1. Combine all spices in a jar and shake to mix.

To make the salad:

  1. Make the dressing by mixing all the ingredients together an seasoning with salt and pepper.
  2. Thinly sliced the beetroot and carrot, then cut them into match sticks.
  3. Arrange on a serving plate and sprinkle over the alfalfa sprouts and toasted seeds. Drizzle the dressing over and crumble the feta cheeses. 


    To make the roulade:

  1. On a cooking board, mix the flour and butter into a dough. Make a well in the centre and add the water and combine well to have a firm rough dough.


  2. Roll out on a lightly floured board into a rectangle. Fold a third of the pastry into the centre, then fold the bottom third up over that. Give dough a quarter turn and roll out again. Repeat folding and rolling four times. Chill pastry for 30 minutes before using.


  3. On a pan drizzle a little of oil and cook the capsicum until they are nice and soft.

  4. Place the chicken breast on a cling wrap and tap with a kitchen hammer to flatten.


  5. Coat the chicken breast in the fajita seasoning and place all six pieces (2 by 2) on another cling wrap. 


  6. Add the Swiss cheese on top followed by the cooked capsicums.

  7. Roll the chicken into a roulade by carefully moving the cling wrap forward.

  8. Chill the chicken for half an hour in the fridge.

  9. Place the chilled roulade on the puff pastry with one side brushed with egg wash and rolled.

  10. Put egg wash on top and sprinkle with sesame seed and the fajita seasoning. Bake in the oven for 1hr at 180 degrees Celsius.






Sort:  

Looks delicious! I love your fajita spices. As well as your feline helper. I wonder how easily I could make this for a gluten-free pastry? Have you tried @foodforsoul

Thank you for taking the time to go through my post. I think you should be able to replace the current flour with gluten free flour. It would be the same dosage but just gluten free flour. I hope you enjoy it.

I always enjoy your stories @foodforsoul. You write them so well that I can picture the scenes in my head.

What a wonderful roulade! The homemade puff pastry turned out beautiful and baked perfectly. Look at that color! There must be a nice crunch slicing into your roulade. Love the fajita seasoning too for the chicken filling. Works well with that golden crush.

The salad looks delicious as well and a perfect side dish for the roulade.

Thanks for the step-by-step photos. They're beautiful. I'd like to thank you for all the work you went through to put this entry together. I know stopping to take photos adds to the already busy day but know that it's very much appreciated.

Many thanks for all your creative dishes and the work tied to them. I (and the Cook with Us team of course) am very lucky to have you and your co-contestants in this community. Get some much-needed rest and looking forward to seeing you in Season 2!

Thank you @offoodandart. At the start I’ve tried to write more about the food and it was very hard to come up with things to say that other contestants haven’t said. Then I realised that somehow that most steps I’ve taken in life was in a way or another associated with a dish. I’ve then tried to associate those stories with the week’s theme and it helped in a way to create a living album of memories and experiences I’ve had throughout my life. Maybe in a few years time it will be the other way around the food become the memory and the life experience the trigger. Season 1 has been a great experience and an excellent learning curve. The contestants level have gone crescendo and that just push us to better ourself.

I agree with everything you said above.

Maybe you can compile your stories in a book (or ebook). I wish Steemit has a way to organize our posts. That would be awesome.

Looking forward to more of your stories and creations in Season 2!

Thank you.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @tomekkk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Great post. Once thing I've learned in life is "Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs."

Hello msp3k!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Love this different take on fajitas - looks really tasty @foodforsoul Haha and I'm loving that your cat got involved in the action too! I've given you a follow! I'm a fellow foodie and have just posted a new recipe this morning :)

We'd love to see some of your recipes on our competition next season @elsheardentblog

Aww thanks @pandamama I'll certainly look into it, would love to get involved a bit more! :)

Thank you for your kind message. Buddy, my cat, has taken a habit of making a cameo appearance in my post lately. I will go have a read at your newest post. You should join the contest it’s a good way to meet new people.

You're welcome. Aww cute, well tell Buddy he's a star! Thank you very much, I would really appreciate that. Oh okay, thanks, I'll look into it - any tips?

After this week they are on a break until early July after which we should restart with a theme each week. I think the best tip would be to give life to the dish and also try to interact with the other contestants as they always have great advice. I’ve received great advice on how to better present my dishes and hopefully I’m improving with each post.

Okay fab, that sounds great! Thank you very much for that @foodforsoul - I'll look out for it!

Ah @foodforsoul what an amazing story - and what wonderful photographs - looks like your cat nearly got away with it. Would love to have some of that right now

Thank you @pandamana it was really good and spicy too. The fajita takes the dish to another level flavour-wise and the fact that I’ve made the puff pastry from scratch give the wrap layer a fresher crispier taste.

Very cool and original dish! This one is so satisfying and delicious. I love all of those fajita spices and having the peppers, onions and cheese inside. When you wrap it in the pastry the dish really takes on a "roast" appearance. To me the alfalfa salad is equally as impressive as your roulade. It is simple beautiful and looks so fresh and tasty. Thanks for a great entry and for sharing so many dishes with us this first season!

Thank you @chefsteve for taking the time to read through my posts and all the other contestants. The contest has been going upwards since the very first one. May I suggest a few ideas for season 2: for example have a week where Cwu provides strict precise ingredients from which contestants mush make a dish; contrasting ingredients to come up with an edible dessert; an cream or sorbet week; and maybe a 3 dish week (entrée, main and dessert) etc. Thank you.

And I forgot your best fried chicken!!

Thanks for giving your ideas. We are working out the new calendar and these ideas will definitely make there way onto the schedule. We are trying to change things up a bit to make it fun and challenging. Building on the ideas that were successful and learning what does not work so well. I love the fried chicken idea too! People from all around the world love fried chicken and make it so differently. I really appreciate your feedback and I'll share your ideas with the team. Thanks!

Hey! 🥂🍾 Congratulations on your prize! Thats an amazing and very creative dish! Very well done!

Thank you for your kind comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11