Cook with us #10 - Master of the Microwave - Pepper Corn Bread

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

So guys and dolls, if you love seeing amazing food, enjoy cooking, baking and meeting awesome talented people, #cookwithus is just the contest for you!
A massive thank you to The Cook with Us team - @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart for producing #cookwithus and for the inspiration and encouragement week after week!
I cannot believe we're into Week #10, how time flies!

I have a confession, feel like a naughty school kid for missing week #9!
You see, when I was a kid, my brothers and I were given Mom's remedy if she suspected we were playing truant, Castor Oil in Orange juice!
I tried to be sick once and never ever swallowed that oil floating on top of orange juice again, so had an excellent attendance record throughout school days and even my entire working life.
No wonder this old gal feels guilty for missing one week of #cookwithus :)

But onto week #10 - I will try to be Master of the Microwave - my recipe includes Eggs, but that is not my theme!

I made Corn Bread a while back for a fun sandwich contest here on steemit, but have improved it and innovated by making a Pepper Corn Bread with a great topping, to be eaten with loads of butter and cheese.

IMG_20180510_170832.jpg

When I got married yonks ago, yes that's a very long time ago, microwaves were not used in household kitchens! It was something one read about in scientific research journals!

Making corn bread was a lengthy process - steamed for an hour and a half to two hours, whereas nowadays it only takes 7 minutes in the Microwave!
My granny who lovingly made corn bread from scratch - growing and picking her own corn, husking it, grating the kernels off the cob before adding all the other ingredients, and then putting the mixture into a steam pot for nearly two hours, would have seen the microwave method as a miracle :)

So back in the day when I bought my very first microwave oven, the manufacturers offered free microwave cooking lessons, and this was one of the recipes we were given, but I tweaked it a tad ;)

IMG_20180510_170735_1.jpg

The dark bits is lovely Smoked Paprika and Chopped Parsley, Red Bell Peppers peeping out on the sides & Yellow Peppers in the centre.
Note to self, green Bell Pepper would have looked much better in the centre!

The ingredients
IMG_20180510_143215.jpg

Firstly prepare a microwavable ring mold pan - spray well with non stick cooking spray.
Arrange Pepper slices along sides and in centre, finely diced parsley in base.

IMG_20180510_162356.jpg

Sprinkle grated cheese on top of parsley in base, then smoked Paprika and a little Cayenne Pepper.

IMG_20180510_162636.jpg

The Recipe
So simple, it's almost unbelievable, but simply place all the following into a mixing bowl and mix:

2 Eggs
80ml Milk
1 can Creamstyle Sweetcorn
1 cup (250ml) Maize Meal
1 cup Cake Wheat Flour
1 teaspoon Salt
4 teaspoons (20ml) Baking Powder - not Baking Soda

IMG_20180510_163012.jpg

Carefully pour into ring mold.

IMG_20180510_163514.jpg

Cover with a paper towel and cook on high in Microwave for only 7 minutes.

IMG_20180510_164333_1.jpg

Leave to stand for 4 minutes before turning out; warning though, the smell is divine!

IMG_20180510_165439.jpg

Sprinkle extra cheese all over.

IMG_20180510_170753.jpg

Slice and serve immediately with butter.
IMG_20180510_171348.jpg

Add some more cheese...just because you can ;)

IMG_20180510_171445.jpg

Finally a quick look at the how-to, super easy but super delicious!

20180510_184426-ANIMATION.gif


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by, please comment, upvote and resteem if you enjoyed my post.
All images property of @lizelle
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS!
Your post is featured in my Saturday Recipes/Food The Kitchen Table curation post!

Oh wow, thank you so very much @goldendawne, really honoured to be featured in your Saturday Recipes :):)

YOU are the QUEEN of making some of the most delicious treats in a Bundt pan!!

Wow thank you @goldendawne, that's a huge compliment coming from you! Had to google a Bundt pan...now I know, never too old to learn something new hey :):)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #134 (5/14/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so very much @thesteemengine, really appreciate you featuring my post :)

Oh Lizelle, you don't know how happy I am that you're back. Missed you and your amazing story and recipe. Well, you're back so we're all good again =D!

So incredible ... the cornbread turned out nicely in and out. It looks so moist and the texture looks great. I'd also like mine with more butter and cheese. Beautiful, colorful and delicious!

Thank you for your entry and see you in CwU #11!

Ah thank you @offoodandart, I am so glad I managed to make this one. It certainly did not last long and I will be making it more regularly now, had forgotten this old favourite. And it really must only be cooked for 7 minutes, was so moist inside, absolutely delicious! Thanks for the contest!

7 minutes is incredible for something that comes out delicious and moist!

A lovely entry @lizelle! We always appreciate the dishes that you share with our community! Don't feel bad about missing a week of CwU. We designed the contest so that people can come and go as they please.

Your Pepper Corn Bread is so nice and It shows how a microwave can speed up the process of making this bread. If only your Granny could of used this method! She would of been happy to have some more free time! I like how you inlayed the bread with strips of peppers, parsley and paprika. I also like the heavy hand with the cheese! Yum! Your bread is beautiful and I'm sure it is very delicious! Thanks for your entry!

Ah thank you for the encouragement @chefsteve, that cheesy topping is a must with the smoked paprika giving it an almost oven baked look! It disappeared so fast :):)

Really delicious looking and sounding bread, great as usual @lizelle. I would love to try this one, I love cornbread.

It's super easy and very yummy @leighleigh :)

This looks absolutely delicious! And easy peasy too! Just my kind of recipe! Thanks for posting.

Super easy peasy @cecicastor, just make sure you use baking powder not soda, it's so delicious :)

Oh my goodness!!! I can't resist a warm slice of buttered mielie-brood. I can't believe how beautiful that crumb texture came out! Definitely on the menu when the weather sorts itself out and we can have a braai!

It's the smoked paprika, herbs and cheese that gives it such a nice almost crusty look, taste is divine, like real mealie bread! And this one disappeared so fast, not even a crumb left!

Wow Lizelle I havn't had corn bread fir yonks . going to try this one this week end. straight after msking my challah bread. just love your food @lizelle , so privileged to have you as a friend.

I still want some of your Challah bread @artywink! This recipe is so nice, tastes like real mealie bread ;)

Oh my @lizelle - you have made me so hungry now. This reminds me of a good old South African braai (barbecue). This is a definite must try for me

Perfect for a braai @pandamama, super easy, quick and delicious too, tastes like genuine steamed South African mealie bread!
Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85