Cook with us #16: Gluten-Free Banting Aubergine Three Cheese Pizza

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

It does not take much persuasion to get me to make Pizza - and even less to eat it for that matter!

I just love a super thin crispy crunchy base loaded with delicious toppings - heavy thick based pizzas really are not my thing!

A Pizza party with friends is the best - all you need is a couple of prepared bases with a variety of toppings, a hot hot oven and everyone designs their own pizza. Of course if it's a big group, they can form teams; it is loads of fun!

So when I saw the theme of Pizza for Cook with us #16, I was more than happy to get cooking as we all love Pizza.

So a big thank you to the fabulous Cook with Us team, @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart, for this week's theme, my family...and I... were more than happy with the results!

I was visiting my son last week and he goes on a Banting diet every so often, and he encouraged me to make a cauliflower pizza base - excellent for those with gluten intolerance plus perfect for those following the Banting diet; my Gluten-Free Banting Aubergine Three Cheese Pizza is Vegetarian as well - unfortunately not Vegan as it contains Eggs and Cheese.
Apologies to my Vegan friends, but sure you can adapt it with Vegan substitutes.

IMG_20180712_162430.jpg

Ingredients required for 2 medium pizzas:

BASE

  • 1 Cauliflower
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Mozzarella Cheese - grated
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan - grated
  • 1/4 teaspoon Oregano

TOPPINGS:

  • 1-2 Aubergines/ Eggplant/ Brinjal - cubed
  • 1/2 Red Bell Pepper - sliced
  • 1/2 Yellow Bell Pepper - sliced
  • 1 punnet Mushrooms - sliced
  • Italian Tomatoes - halved and deseeded
  • Garlic Powder to taste
  • 1 cup Mozzarella - grated
  • 1 cup Feta Cheese - cubed
  • 1/2 cup Cheddar Cheese - grated
  • 1 Avocado - sliced
  • Sriracha mayonnaise - as much or as little as you wish

IMG_20180712_133047.jpg

IMG_20180712_142501.jpg

METHOD

Place cauliflower in food processor and process till super fine to resemble rice.

IMG_20180712_134651.jpg

Steam cauliflower for a couple of minutes, drain and stir-fry till totally dry, leave to cool.

IMG_20180712_134938.jpg

Add eggs, herbs and season to taste.

IMG_20180712_150236.jpg

Press into 2 Pizza Pans - I used a deep pan as the son did not have much in the way of baking equipment ;)
Bake for 15 minutes at 190 C fan oven.

IMG_20180712_153445.jpg

Stir fry Aubergine and Mushrooms separately in a little Olive Oil and season to taste.

Cook Tomatoes on both sides, sprinkle with herbs and Garlic Powder.

IMG_20180712_153234.jpg

First onto base is Aubergines and Mushrooms.

IMG_20180712_153847.jpg

Next in line is Feta Cheese and Tomatoes.

IMG_20180712_154211.jpg

Arrange Peppers on top, drizzle with the mayo and top with grated Mozzarella and Cheddar Cheese.

IMG_20180712_154725.jpg

Bake a further 20-25 minutes at 190 C fan oven.

IMG_20180712_161239_1.jpg

Sliced Avocado on top just before serving.

IMG_20180712_162430.jpg

Crispy Cauli Base peeping out.

IMG_20180712_165058.jpg

Guaranteed no bloating after eating this healthy wheat free pizza.

Super excited to hear that the awesome @jaybird of my favourite #steemitsandwichcontest is here this week as a guest judge!

Guys and dolls, I encourage you to enter this super contest with an amazing team working hard behind the scenes, as well as the silent partners - the sponsors, thank you one and all.

A quick look at the making of my Gluten-Free Banting Aubergine Three Cheese Pizza.

IMG_20180712_133047-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

That right there is the reason I order pepperoni and sausage, pizza was never meant to be healthy, it was meant to be tasty. Gluten free... you're killing me Lizelle, you're killing me.

Ah mr Papper, you've crushed my ego, that base & veg toppings really made a tasty pizza. I bet if one of your womenfolk bake this, you would enjoy it ;) Thanks for your support!

You would lose that bet for sure, the only thing even close to a veggie on a pizza I eat is mushrooms, and I know, they're not veggies.
I also know I didn't crush your ego, you are to strong for a comment from an old codger like me to crush you.

Ok I know when I'm beaten, will have to do some meaty posts soon...but guess what my next challenge is...use a vegetable to make a dessert!

Cucumber, and ice cream is what Shortie said when I called and asked her, she said you could add the rest... but she likes it with just those two, vanilla ice cream.

Say thank you to Shorty for the inspiration - I've made Beetroot Choc Brownies...very nice... and will be making a white choc beetroot mousse so now am thinking my third component will be beetroot & vanilla ice cream ... not so sure about the cucumber ;)

She just loves cucumbers and ice cream, she makes smoothies with them which is more like a milkshake using a blender to whip it all together with some milk.

My word, never combined those two, I'm sure it tastes great though, I forgot all about smoothies, would have made a great entry!

Definitely one I have to try! Though I've no idea what a Banting diet is or Sriracha mayo... and even though I'm a veggie lover, I've never been a huge fan of cauliflower, but if it's ground up small and made into "dough" I might enjoy it. I LOVE aubergines though – this is making my mouth water!

Thanks for stopping by @natubat! Ok, so people who go on a Banting diet do nor let any form of carbs pass their lips, they do eat a lot of cream though! Sriracha is a hot chilli sauce, not as hot in this mayonnaise though. And that cauliflower base is delicious, the cheeses in the base overpower the cauli taste. Hope you make it one day soon ;)

Interesting - thanks for the info!

I just love a super thin crispy crunchy base loaded with delicious toppings - heavy thick based pizzas really are not my thing!

Not mine either. Thin crust, extra sauce -- after that, anything goes.

I'll be back to upvote you in a few hours. I'm waiting for my VP to reload.

Ah thank you @enchantedspirit, my vp is right down, have to give it a break as well!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 198 (7/17/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so much, truly chuffed for the shout out!

Great concept @lizelle. I've learnt to enjoy aubergine (or egg plant as we call it here). I like your pictures too. What app do you use for them?

Thank you @foodforsoul, I really enjoy Aubergine (we mostly call it Brinjal here). I use Google photos for filtering, cropping & the animation.

How strange it is quite similar to what it is called in Mauritius too: brinjel!

Amiga I love this pizza in the lizelle style, the ingredients you use give a different view to the traditional pizza, I love your recipes

Thank you dear Jenni, it was a much lighter pizza than with a wheat base, hope you're keeping well!

Beautiful pizza @lizelle! I have wanted to try the cauliflower crust for a long time...this just motivates me! Well done, I'm sure your family was very happy! Healthy!!

You will not be sorry @birdsinparadise, just make sure all the liquid is out of the cauliflower before adding the base ingredients. Thanks for stopping by :)

Great pizza @lizelle! Like your family, I would also be happy with the results, judging from the ingredients you put on your pizza. True, no bloating after eating your pizza. Bloating is definitely something I would not miss.

By the way, @jaybird won't be our guest judge until Week #21. We are excited about him joining us.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments @offoodandart! Looking forward to seeing @jaybird here later on :)

It will be fun!

Great pizza @lizelle! I have had a few of the cauliflower pizzas and they are delicious. The true is once you load up your pizza with so many delicious toppings you don't even miss the traditional crust! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us!

You're so right @chefsteve, and this one is loaded for sure! Thanks for your great comments :)

Ummmmms this one is for my mouth and my taste ...👌 looks delicious and am starving to have abite of it...👍 @lizelle....wish i could get in right away to have a slice of it...😉

Haha wish I could have given you a slice @steemflow, it was very tasty with that base ;) Thanks for stopping by!

Someday...oneday....👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80